It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Michael F. Adams Papers contain materials relating to his time as vice president of university affairs at Pepperdine University. The collection is primarily composed of materials relating to the Board of Regents, development and giving campaigns, and scheduling. Materials date from 1965-1989.
This is a comprehensive collection of Dr. Baird's time as the Seaver Dean and the subsequent publishment of his book. The Chronological and Subject Files that compose the first series include many research materials that Dr. Baird used when writing Quest for Distinction. Most of the collection consists of paper documents, and many materials are photocopies. The materials in these files include newspapers, meeting minutes, handbooks, pamphlets, photographs, correspondence, reports, and essays. The collection also contains notes and outlines Dr. Baird created as he was writing Quest for Distinction.
The collection contains professional and personal papers of William S. Banowsky dating from 1926 to 2012. The bulk of the materials range from 1955 to 1990 and document his professional involvement with Pepperdine University, the University of Oklahoma, Gaylord Broadcasting Company, the Texas Superconducting Super Collider Authority, and National Medical Enterprises; political topics and professional services; collected printed and written material (such as poems and articles); and personal documents including speeches, personal and family history, travel, photographs, and book research for The Malibu Miracle.
Ronald W. Batchelder is a Professor of Economics at Pepperdine University, as well as an involved member of Pepperdine faculty organizations. The collection spans from 1986 to 2009 and consists of correspondence, minutes, notes, memorandums, reports, handbooks and calendars related to the University Faculty Council, Seaver Faculty Association, and the Social Sciences Division within Seaver College.
Margaret Martin Brock was a philanthropist who had a long-standing relationship with Pepperdine University, particularly the School of Law. She was also highly involved in fundraising for the Republican Party throughout most of her life. This collection includes correspondence, subject files, photographs, and newspaper clippings about Margaret Brock, her involvement in politics, and her philanthropy.
The collection contains grade books maintained by Fred L. Casmir for his classes in the Department of Speech at George Pepperdine College and the Division of Communications at Pepperdine University. Casmir taught a range of speech classes as well as German language classes. Grade books range in date from 1956 to 1982.
The collection contains publications written by Hubert G. Derrick about his faith and personal history, and a scrapbook gifted to him by Pepperdine College international students in 1953. Materials date from 1953, 1986, and 1994; some materials are undated.
The collection shows an overview of the life of Frances Easley. It includes materials from her time at Pepperdine as well as both before and after her tenure at the school. The types of materials include correspondence, photographs, diplomas, and Pepperdine periodicals.
The collection includes research materials that Joel Fetzer used to write three of his books: Muslims and the State in Britain, France and Germany (2004), Luxembourg as an Immigration Success Story: The Grand Duchy in Pan-European Perspective (2011), and Confucianism, Democratization, and Human Rights in Taiwan (2013). Items include interview notes, audiocassettes and compact discs of interviews, correspondence, and printed reference materials.
This collection contains the papers of Romuald Gantkowski, who held several positions at Pepperdine. The collection includes materials on the Birth of a College Dinner, of which Gantkowski was on the invitation committee, as well as records regarding the Pepperdine Freedom Forums and Great Issues Series. Finally, it includes materials on Russell Kirk's "Roots of American Order" publication, of which Gantkowski was involved in the creation.
Terry and Susan Giboney were Church of Christ missionaries in Omika, Japan from 1963-1966. They both worked primarily with Ibaraki Christian College teaching various classes. The collection includes photographs, correspondence, publications, and financial records from their stay in Japan.
James Kenneth Hahn has served in numerous public office positions including Deputy City Attorney (1975–1979), City Controller (1981–1985), City Attorney (1985–2001), and Mayor of Los Angeles (2001-2005). The collection includes press clippings, press releases, Hahn's mayoral files, budget books, business plans, audio and video recordings, awards and plaques, as well as personal memorabilia. The bulk of the materials date from 1990 to 2006.
Kenneth Hahn was a former Los Angeles County Supervisor and Los Angeles City Councilman who served for over 40 years, making him the longest serving elected official in California's history. The collection contains materials about Hahn's life and passing, including photographs, collected obituaries, and items from a public television program on Hahn produced after his death entitled "A Salute to Kenneth Hahn."
The collection contains materials collected in the office of Larry D. Hornbaker during his time as an administrator at Pepperdine University. Files primarily relate to development (fundraising, donors, and donations), planning and construction of buildings and infrastructure on the Malibu campus, and materials generated from administrative work and activities at Pepperdine. Materials date from 1950 to 2001.
The collection consists of subject files created by Norman Hughes during his time at Pepperdine as a professor of biology and Academic Dean of Seaver College. The collection consists of memorandums, correspondence, reports, and notes on subjects including councils and committees, faculty, student issues, course schedules, and departments within Seaver College. Materials in the collection span from 1972 to 1981.
B. Lamar Johnson was a highly distinguished educator known as the father of the community college due to his extensive contributions to the study and development of community college education. The collection contains correspondence, reports, speeches, administrative papers and publications from Johnson's tenure at Stephens College, UCLA, and Pepperdine University, as well as other educational organizations and activities with which Johnson was involved.
James L. Lovell was a prominent member of the Churches of Christ, prolific author and editor of religious publications, and a member of Pepperdine University's Board of Trustees for 35 years. The papers contain correspondence, articles, minutes, notes, reports, photographs, and slides documenting Lovell's relationship with Pepperdine and its administrators, his involvement in the Churches of Christ and individual churches, and his personal life including his career in the construction industry. Also included in the collection are copies of publications produced by Lovell throughout his life, most notably West Coast Christian and California Christian. Materials in the collection span from 1932 to 1999.
The collection contains correspondence to and from C. Richard MacNair between 1973 and 1978 during his time as University Director of Teacher Education Programs and Associate Dean of the School of Education at Pepperdine University. The correspondence covers topics including degree programs offered by the School of Education, teacher education, and School of Education administrative duties.
Edwards H. Metcalf was a collector was a Pepperdine University Board member and a T.E. Lawrence enthusiast and collector. He chaired the T.E. Lawrence Symposium in 1988 at Pepperdine University, which gave scholars the chance to discuss the life and words of T.E. Lawrence. The collection contains planning materials and documents from the symposium, as well as book collection records belonging to Metcalf.
The materials in this collection are photocopies of original correspondence, reports, and other items collected by Donald V. Miller, the Chairman of the Board of Trustees at Pepperdine College, related to administrative changes at Pepperdine in 1957 and 1958.
James C. (J.C.) Moore was an administrator for a number of colleges, serving most notably as controller and vice president for Pepperdine University. The papers contain correspondence, subject files, memorandums, articles, photographs, news clippings and programs related to Moore's career in education as well as his personal life.
The collection includes files accumulated by Nicks and document his career in academia with a particular focus on his time at Pepperdine. Nicks held many roles at Pepperdine including professor, dean of the Pepperdine School of Business, vice president of academic affairs, and the vice president of development. Materials found within the collection include correspondence and administrative files, among others.
The collection consists of Dr. Frank Pack's daily planners, grade books, correspondence, notes, and sermons from 1933 to 1990. The lifelong preacher spent the majority of his career at David Lipscomb College, Pepperdine College, and Abilene Christian College. He also preached or was a guest speaker at numerous churches and universities across the country.
The collection includes files collected from James I. Penrod's office between 1970 and 1985 during his time as Vice President for Systems and Planning at Pepperdine University. Materials include correspondence; organization charts; a systems and planning orientation manual; Pepperdine management conference papers; memos; committee meeting minutes and correspondence; an article by Penrod; and other items.
The George Pepperdine family papers are comprised of paper materials (such as correspondence, writings, and newspaper clippings), photographs, films, and memorabilia, dating from 1907 to 2002. Individuals represented in the collection include George Pepperdine, Lena Rose Pepperdine, Helen Louise Pepperdine, George B. Pepperdine, Florence May Pepperdine Crossley, Esther Louise Pepperdine Thurston, Marilyn Pepperdine, George Pepperdine II, and Wendell Pepperdine.
Earl Vivon Pullias was a professor, administrator and scholar of higher education. The collection includes materials that document his positions at Pepperdine College and the University of Southern California, his academic career and research on higher education, and his personal and family life. Materials in the collection range from the 1910s to the early 2000s.
The collection documents the various duties undertaken by Shirley Roper at Pepperdine University during her tenure and range in date from 1963 to 2011. The types of materials include correspondence, administrative documents and forms, policy manuals, committee meeting materials, and official Pepperdine pamphlets and booklets related to special events.
The collection contains the personal and professional papers of Frank R. and Blanche Seaver, philanthropists who greatly contributed to the evolution and success of Pepperdine University. The materials range from 1882 to 1996 and document Blanche's involvement with Pepperdine; Frank's business, the Hydril Company; Blanche's former career as a composer and musician; and their personal lives.
The collection contains materials created by or about Loyd C. Sigmon from 1945 to 2008. Items relate to his interest in radio broadcasting, the creation of SigAlert (a traffic and emergency alert system), and his inventions. Books, plaques, articles, newspaper clippings, biographical materials, blueprints, and notebooks, are found within the collection.
The collection contains materials related to Hugh M. Tiner, first dean and second president of George Pepperdine College and member of Rotary International. Items include subject and correspondence files (biographical materials, certificates of appreciation, ephemera and photographs, speeches and publications, radio program transcripts, and travel ephemera); newspaper clippings; plaques; and memorabilia.
The collection contains materials created by, collected by, and about conductor and composer Joseph Wagner. Materials include music scores; symphony orchestra sheet music; loose music manuscripts; vinyl records; audio and video recordings; subject and correspondence files; photographs; Wagner’s publications; and colorful sheet music covers. Items range in date from approximately the 1910s to the 1970s.
The collection contains professional and personal papers of Howard A. White dating from 1938 to 1991. The bulk of the materials range from 1957 to 1990 and document his professional involvement with Pepperdine University in various administrative roles, and personal documents including speeches, personal and family history, and book research for Crest of a Golden Wave.
The collection contains photographs and negatives taken by Hanson A. Williams, Jr. between 1938 and 1963. Images are primarily of the George Pepperdine College campus, Pepperdine students and faculty, campus events, sororities and fraternities, and other topics. One box of material includes digitized images taken while Williams was a private in the US Army during the Korean War, between 1951 and 1952.
John F. Wilson is a field archaeologist, writer and lecturer on archaeology in the Middle East, and Professor of Religion, Emeritus at Pepperdine University. The collection consists of printed materials related to Wilson's career, including correspondence, date books, and publications authored by Wilson.
The collection contains the personal and professional papers of M. Norvel and Helen Young. The bulk of the materials range from the 1900s to early 2000s and document the Youngs' involvement with Pepperdine University; their families' lives; and their activities while based in Tennessee, Texas, and California.