Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Pepperdine University Archives Audiovisual Collection
The collection is a catchall for audiovisual materials not already separated into specific collections. The most common types of recordings include VHS, betacam and betamax tapes, audio and video reels, and audiocassettes. Recordings may relate to individuals, workshops, conferences, events, television shows, and other topics. Items range in date from the mid-1900s to the early 2000s.
Pepperdine University Archives Individual Photograph Files
The collection was created by Special Collections and University Archives staff and consists of photographs, slides, and negatives of former faculty, staff, donors, distinguished guests, and other individuals associated with Pepperdine University. Materials are filed alphabetically by individual's last name.
Pepperdine University Archives Photographs, Negatives, and Slides
The collection contains photographs, negatives, and slides taken of people, places, and events related to George Pepperdine College and Pepperdine University, in California and abroad. Items range in date from 1937 to 2008. The bulk of the collection is comprised of 1,744 topical photographic files (approximately 50,000 photographs). Sponsor note: The processing of this collection and the creation of this finding aid was funded by the generous support of the National Historical Publications and Records Commission.
Williams (Hanson A., Jr.) Collection of Photographs and Negatives
The collection contains photographs and negatives taken by Hanson A. Williams, Jr. between 1938 and 1963. Images are primarily of the George Pepperdine College campus, Pepperdine students and faculty, campus events, sororities and fraternities, and other topics. One box of material includes digitized images taken while Williams was a private in the US Army during the Korean War, between 1951 and 1952.
Historic Pepperdine Films
The Historic Pepperdine Films collection features moving image materials produced by and about Pepperdine University throughout the history of the institution. Drawing from the University Archives audiovisual collection and the holdings of Integrated Marketing Communications, films in this collection range from home movies to professionally produced promotional films. The collection also includes films of campus activities, sporting events, television shows, and community service programs.
Historic Sound Recordings
The Historic Sound Recordings collection features streamable recordings of memorable speeches and significant events that chart the history of Pepperdine University and, more broadly, Southern California. Dating back nearly half a century, these archival recordings range from political speeches and debates on morality, to musical performances and lectures on history. Prominent speakers include past Pepperdine presidents, including M. Norvel Young, William S. Banowsky, and Howard White, as well as national figures, such as Ronald Reagan, Milton Friedman, and singer Pat Boone.
Pepperdine's Rose Parade Photo Album
As a part of Pepperdine University's 50th Anniversary celebrations in 1987, the university entered a float into the 98th Tournament of Roses Parade in Pasadena, California. The theme of the float was "The Quest for Atlantis," a Classical theme reflecting Pepperdine's quest for academic excellence. This collection is based on a selection of photographs, both formal and candid, digitized from a photo album provided by Hung Le, one of the eight students chosen to ride on the float as representatives of Pepperdine. Each photo tells a piece of Pepperdine's Rose Parade story, from the genesis of the idea, to the hours of float decorating, to the parade itself. Based on an oral history with Hung Le, now Associate Vice President and University Registrar at Pepperdine, it's a story about our university coming together as a community to celebrate a milestone. This collection also offers a fascinating look behind the scenes at the Rose Parade, an annual 2-hour event that requires months of planni
Pepperdine University Archives Collection This link opens in a new window
The University Archives Photograph Collection presents high-resolution digital renditions of the thousands of photographic prints, slides, and negatives that compose the Special Collections and University Archives collection of Photographs, Negatives, and Slides. These images capture the history of Pepperdine University from its founding in 1937 as George Pepperdine College to the present (bulk dates 1940-1990). The photographs include publicity photos, candids, student work, and official university images, and cover a wide range of subjects from student life to global politics.