Background Notes: Published by the U.S. State Department, these files include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.
CIA World Factbook: Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
globalEDGE: Country Insights is a source for statistical data for 201 countries around the world. In addition to statistics, historical, and economic information, reports on political conditions are available.
World Bank Open Data: free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe.
Economic statistics for 269 countries from the International Monetary Fund.
Business Source Premier (BSP) contains many full text country reports which provide extensive data and analysis for nearly every country in the world. Sometimes finding these reports within the BSP database can present a challenge, and, in many cases, Business Source Premier is the only source for these reports. This handout can help with your research by identifying which reports are included in BSP, previewing their contents, and providing tips on accessing these reports.
Tip: To find a given report, search for its exact title in the SO “Publication Name Field” in the dropdown menu next to each search box.
▪▪▪
Title: Country Profile {Country Name} for example, Country Profile Mexico
Publisher: MarketLine (Annual) 70 country reports in this series.
Content: Includes analysis & background information on the country’s economic. political, social, technological and environmental landscape
▪▪▪
Title: OECD Economic Surveys: {Country Name} for example, OECD Economic Surveys: Russian Federation
Publisher: Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development -OECD (Annual)
Six month delay from Publisher. 39 country reports in this series.
Content: Comprehensive survey covering the main issues and policy challenges in the country. Examines such issues as employment, competition, and innovation, and covers specific industries and sectors. Includes recommendations.
▪▪▪
(Titles of reports in this section all begin with the country name)
Title: {Country Name} Business Forecast Report for example, Brazil Business Forecast Report There are 80 individual country reports in this series. Included in the report is a SWOT analysis on the political, economic and business outlook for the country.
Publisher: Business Monitor International (Quarterly)
Content: Contains analysis and detailed three year forecasts for political risk, economic outlook and industry performance, set against global economic trends.
▪▪▪
Title: {Country Name} Country Monitor for example, Pakistan Country Monitor
Publisher: Global Insight (Monthly) Over 100 country reports in this series.
Content: Provides economic analysis and monthly, quarterly and annual forecasts. Somewhat dated.
▪▪▪
Title: Datamonitor {Country Name} for example, Datamonior: Argentina
Publisher: Datamonitor (Annual) Over 50 country reports in this series
Content: Analysis and background information on a country’s economy and government. Includes factual information, demographics, and macroeconomic data.
Note: Datamonitor also publishes company profiles and industry reports for individual countries which are included in Business Source Premier.
▪▪▪
Title: {Country Name} Country Review for example, Mongolia Country Review
Publisher: CountryWatch (Annual) Some 200 country reports in this series.
Content: These are very detailed reports covering both large and small countries. Contains geographical, political, economic, corporate, and environmental information for the country. Social Overview with cultural dos and taboos is included for each country.
▪▪▪
Articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics, including SWOT analyses and articles from Harvard Business Review.
The library catalog includes many excellent electronic books describing and discussing business etiquette in various countries. Search "etiquette china" for example, to see a range of titles. You may add the word "business" but it does limit the search.
Passport Mexico by 
Korean Business Etiquette by 
Chinese Business Etiquette by Explore. Discover. Create.
24255 Pacific Coast Highway, Malibu, CA 90263 Phone: 310.506.7273Copyright © 2022 Pepperdine University