Guides: SEC Capstone Resources: Industry and Market Research

Conducting Market Research

Mintel
Market research and industry reports with market share, consumer profiles, forecasting, driving forces, and distribution methods. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
Passport (formerly Global Market Information Database)
Market research reports on countries, consumers and industries from Euromonitor International. Historic data from 1997 plus up-to-date forecast models including industry reports and market share data. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
Insider Intelligence (formerly eMarketer)
Includes daily market and media research articles, analyst reports, and a database of e-business and online marketing statistics.

Searching for Articles

It's best to start your industry research with industry profiles and market research reports, but articles will provide additional information that will be helpful. In addition, articles are especially crucial if there aren't any industry profiles or market research reports for your industry. Go to the Tab Rounding Out Your Research for recommended resources to use.

Finding Ratios

Company ratios and industry ratios are available through our library databases. Step-by-step instructions for accessing these ratios are available in the links below.

Obtaining Market Share Data & Calculating Market Share When Data is Unavailable

Market share is often difficult to locate and it is usually easier to find market share data for consumer products (e.g., soft drinks). You might be able to locate market share in the following resources, but market share won't be available for many companies/products.

Mintel
Market research and industry reports with market share, consumer profiles, forecasting, driving forces, and distribution methods. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
Passport (formerly Global Market Information Database)
Market research reports on countries, consumers and industries from Euromonitor International. Historic data from 1997 plus up-to-date forecast models including industry reports and market share data. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
S & P NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage)
Access to research products including Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Mutual Fund Reports, Bond Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives.
Business Source Complete
Articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics, including SWOT analyses and articles from Harvard Business Review.
Nexis Uni
Features news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. For help on how to use Nexis Uni, visit the research guide.This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.

If the above sources do not contain market share, you will have to do your own calculations. Calculating market share is a three-step process.

First obtain the global sales for either the entire industry or the segment that you are focusing on (see Industry Profiles section above).
Next, locate the either your company’s total sales or their sales of a specific product/segment (see Company Financials on Company Research tab).
Finally, divide your company's segment/product sales by the total global sales for the industry to calculate market share. Check your company’s 10-K or 20-F for product sales information.

Please note: The above strategy will not work for every product/company/industry. You may not be able to locate reliable market share data for your topic and instead you may need to list some of the key companies in the industry rather than providing detailed market share data.

Locating Industry Profiles

IBISWorld
Market and industry research reports with key statistics, industry conditions, market share, industry performance, market drivers, key success factors, and revenue forecasts for each US industry. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
Statista
Statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources, includes access to the Global Consumer Survey .
Business Source Complete
Articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics, including SWOT analyses and articles from Harvard Business Review.

Click on the image below to enlarge the image and read tips for locating industry profiles.

S & P NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage)
Access to research products including Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Mutual Fund Reports, Bond Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives.

Passport (formerly Global Market Information Database)
Market research reports on countries, consumers and industries from Euromonitor International. Historic data from 1997 plus up-to-date forecast models including industry reports and market share data. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.

Mergent Online
Business and financial information for U.S. and international companies. SEC filings (real-time and archived to 1993) for NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ exchange companies. Select private company reports available.