Guides: SEC Capstone Resources: Nonprofits, Grants, and Business Planning

Information about Nonprofit Organizations

This resource will help you identify nonprofit organizations.

If you are asked by the organization to locate similar nonprofits for benchmarking purposes. This a a useful resource.

You will need to register a free account to conduct effective searches.

The 990 forms will provide detailed financial data on nonprofit organizations.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista.com consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources and makes it available on four platforms: German, English, French and Spanish. Pepperdine's subscription includes access to the expert tools and the Global Consumer Survey .

990 Finder
By locating the 990 forms you will be able analyze the size of a nonprofit and learn about the organizations funding sources and expenditures.
Sample Nonprofit Business
The Gale Virtual Reference Database has sample business plans from non-profit organizations.
Charity Navigator
This web site provides rankings and scores for nonprofits based on their transparency and accountability.

Reference USA (now: Data Axle reference solutions) This link opens in a new window
An online directory of 24 million+ businesses in the United States and Canada. Users can search by company name, ticker symbol, executive name, geographic location, sales range, type of business and number of employees.

National Center for Charitable Statistics
Great source for statistical data on charities.

Contains free 990 forms.
ProPublica 990 Explorer

Grants.gov Advanced Search
Search 26 federal agencies for grants.
The Grantsmanship Center Local Funding Sources
Locate Top grant making foundations, Community foundations, Corporate giving programs by state.
Foundation Directory Online
Searchable directory of grantmakers. You will have to register a free account.
MSU Libraries funding guides
These guides from Michigan State University provide funding sources for specific categories such as Education, Health, Homelessness, etc.
Community Foundation Locator
Community foundations are grantmaking public charities that are dedicated to improving the lives of people in a defined local geographic area.
Grants.gov
California Department of Education

Non Profit Times: the leading business publication for non-profit management
The NonProfit Times was launched in April 1987 and quickly became the go-to publications for news, business columns and original research. Each November issue includes The NPT 100, the ranking by revenue of the nation’s largest nonprofits that receive at least 10 percent of income from public sources. The August issue unveils the annual NPT Power & Influence Top 50, a feature of the 50 movers and shakers in the nonprofit world during the previous 12 months. The NonProfit Times commission independent research several times each year, which is published as a special report.
The Nonprofit Quarterly: Promoting an active an engaged democracy
NPQ was launched as a national print journal in the winter of 1999 and was designed to fill a gap by providing credible, research based articles for nonprofits about management and governance. Soon after it began it also started to cover issues related to the operating environment for nonprofits, specifically public policy and philanthropy. NPQ’s quarterly print journal soon became known as The Harvard Business Review for the nonprofit sector.