Guides: BA 355: Principles of Marketing: World Impact (Conlin): World Impact Marketing Plan/SWOT analysis

Research reports on Nonprofit organizations

Mintel This link opens in a new window
Market research and industry reports with market share, consumer profiles, forecasting, driving forces, and distribution methods. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.

Example: I need a market research report exploring attitudes toward supporting nonprofits.

Register an account by clicking the person icon at the top of the screen and then selecting "My Portal"
Select the report "Attitudes toward Nonprofits - US - 2022"
Marketing to Gen Z – US – 2024 could also be relevant

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Market and industry research reports with key statistics, industry conditions, market share, industry performance, market drivers, key success factors, and revenue forecasts for each US industry. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.

Example: I need a comprehensive report on religious organizations that contains revenue forecasts, social trends, regulatory issues and technological innovations.

Select the reports "Religious Organizations in the US" or "Educational Services in the US"

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources, includes access to the Global Consumer Survey .

Example: I need statistics on religion in America and church attendance

Reports like "Religious trends in the United States" or "E-Learning" will be helpful
The Consumer Insights data "Attitudes towards online education services" will help for opportunities

Example: I need data on CPM rates for social media:

Type CPM instagram
Select the report "The Most and Least Valuable Social Media Advertising"

Twenty Years of Congregational Change: The 2020 Faith Communities Today Overview
Detailed survey of American congregations

Locating Similar Organizations

Guidestar
Excellent resource for locating nonprofit organizations.

Example: I need financial information on World Impact.

Register a free account
Search for World Impact
Select the older 2021 990 form since it is more comprehensive

Example: I need to locate Christian organizations that provide education programs

Register a free account
Type online into the box and click search
Click the tab for Organization
- Enter "Education" for the Subject
- Enter "Christians into the Populations Served

Demographic information

Simmons Brand Catalyst (replacing GfK MRI University Reporter) This link opens in a new window
For access, click Brand Catalyst at the top of the Simmons interface. Identifies the unique characteristics of over 8,000 brands to help define brand identity, differentiate against competitors, create unique personas, and drive effective media, creative, and partnership strategies.

Example: I want the demographics of people who are very religious.

Go to Profile>Quick Reports>Composer>Type Religion into the box>Psychographics>General Attitudes>Click Agree Completely>Click Religion Should be the Pillar of our Society>Drag to Target>Click Create>Click Demographics>Click *** to Export

SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
SimplyAnalytics is a mapping, analytics, and data visualization application that makes it easy for anyone to create interactive maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing variables. Mapping, analytics, and data visualization application that makes it easy for anyone to create interactive maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing variables. Please note there is a limit of 5 concurrent users - if busy, try later

Articles

EBSCOhost databases This link opens in a new window
Full-text databases and popular databases ranging from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases.

Example: I need scholarly articles on marketing for Churches:

Type christian* or churches or faith-based into the first box and select TI title with the pull-down menu
Type marketing or advertising or promotion or branding or plant* or communication into the second box and select TI title with the pull-down menu
click search
Click the box on the left for "Peer Reviewed"
Set the date range from 2020-2025

Example: I want articles about Churches and social media.

Click Select All
Click Continue
Type faith based or Christian or Church into the first box and select TI Title
Type social media or twitter or facebook or instagram or youtube into the second box
Click the box on the left for "Peer Reviewed"
Set the Publication Date from 2022 to 2025

Example: I want articles on nonprofit organizations and marketing with social media.

Type nonprofit or charitable into the first box
Type social media or twitter or facebook or instagram or youtube into the second box
Type engagement or marketing or outreach into the third box and click search
Set the Publication Date from 2022 to 2025

eBooks

Loving Your Community by Stephen Viars
Publication Date: 2020
Are you and your church making a difference in your community? Are you meeting needs in a positive, proactive, and loving way? Too often when churches are presented with a need outside their walls, they operate on the principle of "Say no unless you have to say yes." Don't want that to be your church's legacy in your community? Drawing on more than 30 years of service to the community surrounding Faith Church in Indiana, pastor Stephen Viars shows you how to develop a dynamic, giving relationship with your community, one in which your natural response to needs is "Yes How can we help?" No matter the size, location, demographics, or issues in your community, the approach found in this practical book will help you improve people's lives, draw them into productive conversation about the hope you have in Christ, and glorify God.
Hybrid church : rethinking the church for a post-Christian digital age by James Emery White
ISBN: 9780310142973
Publication Date: 2023
This is only the third time in the history of the church that both the mission field and the way we communicate with that mission field have changed. This age has not been the only significant cultural development of our day. In terms of communicating to our mission field, there has also been a digital revolution.When the early Christian movement burst onto the scene, the culture was pre-Christian in orientation and communication was largely oral in nature. The first manifestation of the church, Church 1.0, was largely oriented toward this context. With the conversion of Constantine and the subsequent fall of Rome (leaving the church as the only social glue), Christianity loomed large over the world coupled with communication moving toward a written form and eventually mechanized. Church 2.0 met that challenge. We now live in a post-Christian world that has simultaneously gone through a digital revolution in communication. This calls for Church 3.0, a hybrid church that is both physical and digital, for the believer and for the non-Christian. In Hybrid Church, James Emery White addresses the post-pandemic church in the US. Because of COVID-19, nearly every church in the US was forced to adapt to a quarantine and adopt new ministry strategies, including digital technologies they may have avoided before. White asks churches to see this as a positive and keep a dual physical and digital strategy to reach a post-Christian culture in a digital age. It is almost universally agreed that the future of the church is to be "hybrid" in nature, meaning both physical and digital, for the believer yet reaching out to a post-Christian world. With Hybrid Church, James Emery White casts the vision and draws the roadmap for ministry in a post-Christian digital world"-

Economic Forecasts

Passport (formerly Global Market Information Database) This link opens in a new window
Market research reports on countries, consumers and industries from Euromonitor International. Historic data from 1997 plus up-to-date forecast models including industry reports and market share data. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.

Example: I need a forecast for inflation in the United States.

Type inflation USA into the box
Select Inflation in USA under the heading for Annual data
Use the pulldown menu to change 2023 to a forecasted date (e.g. 2028) and click Apply

Example: I need forecasted data for disposable income in the United States.

Type disposable income USA into the box
Select Disposable Income in USA under the heading or Statistics
Use the pulldown menu to change 2023 to a forecasted date (e.g. 2028) and click Apply

Example: I need forecasted data for the GDP.

Type GDP US into the box
Select GDP in USA under Economies and Consumers Annual Data
Use the pulldown menu to change 2023 to a forecasted date (e.g. 2028) and click Apply

Social Media Pricing

CPM (Cost Per Mile) is the price an advertiser pays for every 1,000 impressions an ad receives.

Insider Intelligence (formerly eMarketer) This link opens in a new window
Includes daily market and media research articles, analyst reports, and a database of e-business and online marketing statistics.

Sample Business Plans

Business Plans Handbook series This link opens in a new window
Actual business plans compiled by, and aimed at, entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses.

Example: I need sample business plan for a Church that includes financial forecasts.

Type Church into the box for "Search within Series"

Website Traffic

Similarweb
Useful site for tracking web traffic. Free registration is required.