Guides: BA 355: Principles of Marketing: World Impact (Conlin): Research Ideas World Impact

Email marketing

EBSCOhost databases
Full-text databases and popular databases ranging from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases.

Example: I need information on email marketing.

Click the box for "Select All" and then click Continue
Type email or electronic mail into the first box and select Ti Title with the pull-down menu
Type marketing or advertising into the second box
Click search
On the left-hand side, click the link for Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals if you want to limit your results to academic journals
Go to Publication Date and limit articles from 2015-2024
This search will be fairly broad, you can limit your search by typing some of the following terms into the second box instead of the broad term marketing
- number or frequency
- subject
- links
- response rates
- videos or pictures or visuals or images or photographs
- Timing
- Open rate
- Click through

Ultimate Guide to Email Marketing for Business. by Susan Gunelius
Publication Date: 2018
Email Marketing in a Digital World by Richard C. Hanna; Scott D. Swain; Jason Smith
Publication Date: 2015
Despite annual predictions of its demise, email marketing remains one of the most important tools for businesses and other organizations. The reason is simple. Other communication tools, including social and digital media channels, cannot duplicate or recreate the unique capabilities of email marketing. This book is for those who wish to learn more about how email marketing works, whether as students, teachers, or practitioners. The authors recap the history of email and email marketing and explain how it informs email today. They cover the fundamentals of email marketing, including types of emails, the elements of an email, email metrics, best practices for email for improving performance, list development, and the benefits of segmenting an email list. Also addressed are special topics in email strategy, including the psychology of email recipients, AB testing for optimizing email elements, integrating email with social media, and aligning email with big data sources.
A Crash Course in Email Marketing for Small and Medium-Sized Businesses by John W. Hayes
Publication Date: 2013
Despite being one of the most mature online marketing technologies available to today's small and medium-sized business marketer, email marketing continues to pack a punch way beyond its weight or cost. The fact is that email marketing, if you treat it right, works better than any other marketing technique available - both on or offline.This book is for any entrepreneur, business owner or marketer who values the idea of building and maintaining relationships with existing customers and prospects, and forging new connections by creating and delivering timely and targeted content. It tells you how to put in place the important principles and techniques that will improve your email marketing, making it more engaging for your audience and more profitable for you.No matter what kind of business you are in, email marketing, combined with the simple best practices featured here, will help you increase customer retention and drive profitability.If you want to start making relationships pay, now is the time to invest in email marketing. This guide from John Hayes will get you started in the right way, or show you how to improve the email marketing you are already doing.
The Digital Marketing Landscape by Jessica Rogers
Publication Date: 2021
This book is geared towards both students and professionals looking to explore the interconnectedness of digital technologies for marketing and branding purposes. The field of marketing has seen an evolution in how brands communicate with consumers, how consumers communicate with brands, and how consumers communicate with one another. Digital technologies such as mobile phones, the internet, social media, and email contribute to what is known as the digital marketing landscape. Digital marketing offers unique ways to meet consumers where they are, engage with potential and existing consumers, capture the voice of the consumer; allow consumers to be part of a brand narrative. This book is geared towards both students and professionals looking to explore the interconnectedness of digital technologies for marketing and branding purposes. This book offers an overview of the digital marketing landscape and how the various elements of digital can work synergistically. When the power of an integrated digital strategy is optimized, both consumers and brands benefit. The Digital Marketing Landscape serves as a practical guide for both students and professionals in a variety of settings. Readers will become familiar with terminology, understand how the different areas of digital marketing connect and work together, and gain the knowledge needed to generate valuable and actionable managerial insights for more informed decision-making.

Statista
Statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources, includes access to the Global Consumer Survey .

Example: I need statistics on email marketing.

Type email ctr
Select reports such as "Most used email marketing metrics worldwide 2023" or "Email marketing worldwide"
Best day of the week for sending out e-mail marketing campaigns according to marketers worldwide as of December 2023

Social media marketing and social video

EBSCOhost databases
Full-text databases and popular databases ranging from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases.

Example: I need articles on social media and marketing:

Click the box for "Select All" and then click Continue
Type marketing or advertising in the first box
Type social media or twitter or facebook or youtube or tiktok or instagram into the second box
In the Third box type in other terms such as:
- Clicks
- viral
- attention
- follower or comments or likes
- engagement
Click Search
On the left-hand side, click the link for Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals if you want to limit your results to academic journals
Go to Publication Date and limit articles from 2020-2024

Example: I'm looking for specific aspects of social media marketing

Click the box for "Select All" and then click Continue
Type social media or twitter or facebook or youtube or tiktok or instagram into the first box
In the second box, type in other terms such as:
- clickbait
- "attention span"
- length
- click through rate
Click Search
On the left-hand side, click the link for Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals if you want to limit your results to academic journals
Go to Publication Date and limit articles from 2020-2024

Instagram power : build your brand and reach more customers with visual influence by Jason Miles
ISBN: 9781260453317
Publication Date: 2019
Social Media Marketing, Second Edition by Emi Moriuchi
Publication Date: 2019
Faced with constant changes in consumer behavior, marketers are seeking various tools to promote and market their brands. Among those tools, the most impactful is consumer-generated content (CGC). CGC is viewed as consumers' vote of confidence, which is a form of social proof. CGC allows consumers to be involved with the companies' marketing strategy. Brands and companies have enabled consumers to be producers of original content, cocreators for an existing brand, and curators for trending ideas in the marketing place. The author explains why it is even more important today that brands need consumers' voices to advocate their brands. In this lively and practical book, she uses theories to explain consumers' psychology and offers practical examples of which social media platforms are conducive to CGC and why. In addition, she explains how consumers use CGC in different countries, the importance of influencer marketing, and ultimately teaches the strategy of using CGC effectively.
Social Media for Small Business by Franziska Iseli
Publication Date: 2021
Discover how social media can transform your business and help you attract more customers Social Media For Small Business delivers a step-by-step guide to unlocking the potential of social media to grow your business. Award-winning author and entrepreneur Franziska Iseli walks you through how to use Facebook, LinkedIn, Instagram, YouTube, Twitter, and Pinterest to market your small-to medium-sized business. The book provides you with: Effective marketing strategies to get more out of your social media efforts. Systems to bring structure into your entire marketing approach. Tools to make your brand irresistible across your customer touchpoints. Case studies to highlight the application of the book's principles to the real-world Practical strategies you can put in place immediately to see a rapid return on investment Perfect for busy business owners, business managers and marketing teams wanting to find new and effective marketing tools to attract more customers, Social Media For Small Business also belongs on the bookshelves of anyone who has difficulty with or wants to learn more about how social media can have a positive impact on their business and brand.

Mintel
Market research and industry reports with market share, consumer profiles, forecasting, driving forces, and distribution methods. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.

Example: I need a market research report on social media that explores attitudes and demographics

The report Social Media Trends: Spotlight on Content Creators - US - 2023
Digital Advertising - US - 2023 will also be relevant

Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest)
Doctoral dissertations and master's theses, from 1743 to the present. Full text for most dissertations since 1997.

Blogs

EBSCOhost databases
Full-text databases and popular databases ranging from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases.

Example; I need articles on blogs and marketing/branding.

Click the box for "Select All" and then click Continue
Type blogs into the first box and select SU Subject
Type additional terms into the second box like:
- marketing or advertising or promotion or branding
- engagment
- frequency
Click search
On the left-hand side, click the link for Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals if you want to limit your results to academic journals
Go to Publication Date and limit articles from 2017-2024

Language in Marketing

EBSCOhost databases
Full-text databases and popular databases ranging from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases.

Example: I want articles that discuss messaging/wording for marketing.

Click the box for "Select All" and then click Continue
Type marketing or advertising into the first box and select SU Subject with the pull-down
Type words or wording or phrases or messag* or rhetoric* into the second box and select TI Title with the pulldown menu
Click search
On the left-hand side, click the link for Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals if you want to limit your results to academic journals
Go to Publication Date and limit articles from 2012-2024

Example: I want articles comparing rational and emotional advertising.

Click the box for "Select All" and then click Continue
Type marketing or advertising or promotion or branding into the first box and select SU Subject
Type emotional response or emotions into the second box
Type rational or cerebral into the third box
On the left-hand side, click the link for Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals if you want to limit your results to academic journals
Go to Publication Date and limit articles from 2012-2024

Example: I need articles that discuss emotional appeals for marketing.

Click the box for "Select All" and then click Continue
Type marketing or advertising into the first box and select SU Subjects with the pulldown menu
Type emotion or emotional response into the second box
Click Search
On the left-hand side, click the link for Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals if you want to limit your results to academic journals
Go to Publication Date and limit articles from 2012-2024

Example: I want articles on negative appeals for marketing.

Click the box for "Select All" and then click Continue
Type marketing or advertising into the first box and select SU Subjects with the pulldown menu
Type negative into the second box
Click Search
On the left-hand side, click the link for Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals if you want to limit your results to academic journals
Go to Publication Date and limit articles from 2012-2024

Example: I'm looking for wording and language for advertising that appeals to emotion.

Click the box for "Select All" and then click Continue
Type marketing or advertising or promotion or branding into the first box and select SU Subject
Type emotional response or emotions into the second box
Type words or wording or language or messaging or rhetoric* into the third box and select TI Title
Click search
On the left-hand side, click the link for Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals if you want to limit your results to academic journals
Go to Publication Date and limit articles from 2012-2024

How to Get Inside Someone's Mind and Stay There by Jacky Fitt
Publication Date: 2018
Exploring and demystifying content marketing and providing proven and practical strategies for promotion and profit, How to Get Inside Someone's Mind and Stay There is for business owners, managers, and anyone with a need to market a product, a service, or even themselves! In this book, you will learn: how to identify your ideal customer; how to identify and create your key marketing messages; the right way to be remembered; and how to write for impact, engagement, and action.
Write to Sell (New Cover) : the Ultimate Guide to Copywriting. by Andy Maslen
Publication Date: 2020
How do you persuade someone to buy from you just by writing to them? What does effective copywriting look like - and sound like? Write to Sell has the answers! Read this book and you'll learn: * The confidence and skills to write better copy* New ways to gain readers' attention, respect and trust* Hints and tips on turning selling skills into copywriting skills* Simple techniques to improve the readability of your copy* The impact of design and layout on copywriting*
The content marketing handbook : how to double the results of your marketing campaigns by Robert W Bly
Publication Date: 2020
"Content can be an effective and economical tool to add to your marketing strategy. But content marketing is most effective when integrated into a multi-channel campaign that not only educates consumers but offers that content with various direct response methods, online and offline, to generate leads, prospects, and direct sales. Having written more than 90 books during his forty-year career in content and direct marketing Robert W. Bly has more than a few strategies to help readers get the highest ROI on their content"-