Teaching with Special Collections and Archives

• Please ask your students to wash hands prior to the instruction session.
• Materials must be viewed in the reading room under staff supervision, and no material may be removed from the room.
• Pencils, paper, computers/tablets, and phones are welcome in the Special Collections Seminar Room. Storage space will be provided for bags, drinks, food, and pens, none of which are permitted around our materials.
• Special collections staff reserves the right to inspect library materials and personal items prior to entry and upon departure from the reading room.

• Materials must be handled with care to ensure their safety and preservation. Please follow any instructions given by special collections staff.
• No marks may be added or erased on any materials. 
• Books, paper, and other objects should not be set on the materials.
• Support materials at all times by resting them directly on the table or on book rests for bound materials.
• Please open books only as far as they will open easily, without force. Special weights will be provided to hold books open.
• Use two hands to handle photographs, fragile objects, or brittle paper. 
• When handling photographs or turning the pages of a book, please avoid touching areas with text or images. Handle pages and photographs by their edges.
• Please do not use sticky notes, paper clips, pencils, or other objects to mark a place in a book or folder. Special acid-free paper strips will be provided upon request.
• Readers are allowed one archival box or folder OR up to three books at their table station at any time. 
• Folders should be removed from the box one at a time. The exact order of materials within folders and boxes must be maintained. When removing folders from boxes, please use an "out" card to make sure the folders stay in order. Please report any disarrangement to special collections staff. 
• Please feel free to take photographs of the materials without flash.

By scheduling and attending an instruction session or research visit, I as a Pepperdine staff, faculty member, or student indicate receipt and review of the Special Collections and Archives Guidelines for Use of the Collections. I understand that adherence to the Guidelines is expected and breaches of its rules will be cause for revocation of reading privileges. I also understand that my visit may be recorded on surveillance cameras, and that my papers, bags, books, coats, and other personal items will be subject to examination by the staff of Pepperdine University.