Individual Sessions
- Introduction to Special Collections and Archives
- Your student will be oriented to the purpose and mission of special collections, the sorts of materials under our stewardship, and how to access and use original materials for primary source research.
- These are ideal sessions if you don't have specific materials you are interested in reviewing.
- These sessions can include an overview of careers in librarianship and archival work
- Subject-specific class
- In this session, your special collections practitioner will start with an Introduction to Special Collections and Archives. Your students will then be oriented to the material context of selected items. This is rounded off with an activity that encourages interaction with and reflection on the primary source materials in alignment with agreed upon learning objectives. These activities can be limited in scope to the session or be a part of a longer-term project.
- Past subjects taught in Special Collections have included art history, communications, history, literature, natural sciences, religion, and more.
- These are ideal sessions if you have identified specific materials for review.
- Speak with your special collections instructor if you would like to embed a subject-based lecture into the session.
Research Projects
Whether through an extended class session or through coordinated reading room appointments to review materials in the Special Collections Research Room, we are happy to work with you to support special collections-based research and inquiry.
Embedded
Speak with a special collections practitioner about the possibility of co-taught, semester-long classes or recurring visits to Special Collections throughout a semester.
