Guides: BA 497: Business Policy, Strategy, and Ethics (James): Industry Research

American Customer Satisfaction Index

American Customer Satisfaction Index
Consumer satisfaction for footwear.

Business Plans Handbook

Business Plans Handbook series This link opens in a new window
Actual business plans compiled by, and aimed at, entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses.

Business Source Complete

Business Source Complete
Articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics, including SWOT analyses and articles from Harvard Business Review.

Example: I want an industry report with a Porter's Five Forces that is relevant to Nike

Type nike into the first box and select TX All Text with the pulldown menu
Type marketline into the second box
Type global into the third box
Click Search
Select the report titled, "MarketLine Industry Profile: Footwear Retail in Global" (2022) or "MarketLine Industry Profile: Apparel Manufacturing in Global." (2022)

eMarketer

Insider Intelligence (formerly eMarketer)
Includes daily market and media research articles, analyst reports, and a database of e-business and online marketing statistics.

Type nike into the search box
Data on competitors and online sales is available

IBISWorld

IBISWorld
Market and industry research reports with key statistics, industry conditions, market share, industry performance, market drivers, key success factors, and revenue forecasts for each US industry. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.

This is a great resource for industry analysis and statistics.

Example: I want industry reports relevant to Nike

Reports such as "Shoe & Footwear Manufacturing in the US" will be helpful. Porter's Five Forces data will also be available.

Mintel

Mintel
Market research and industry reports with market share, consumer profiles, forecasting, driving forces, and distribution methods. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.

An excellent source for detailed market research reports on consumer goods and services. These reports will provide market size, forecasts, market share

Example: I want market research reports relevant to Disney.

The reports like "Men's & Women's Footwear – US – 2023," "Sneakers and Streetwear - US - 2022," or "Athleisure - US - 2022" will be relevant

Passport

Passport (formerly Global Market Information Database)
Market research reports on countries, consumers and industries from Euromonitor International. Historic data from 1997 plus up-to-date forecast models including industry reports and market share data. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.

Example: I want an in-depth industry report relevant to Nike that includes market share

Type footwear us into the box and select the report titled, "Footwear in the US." "Sportswear in the US" could also be helpful.

Refinitv (analyst reports)

Refinitiv Workspace (now named LSEG Data & Analytics)
Financial news, financials, global pricing data and analytics, analyst research reports, bank investment reports and forecasts for publicly-traded companies.
This database is only available to Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff for non-commercial, academic research, and requires registration.

Types of information available from Refinitiv:

In-depth research reports from companies like Morningstar, UBS, Morgan Stanley, J.P. Morgan, Trefis, RBC, Barclay's, etc. Avoid the reports from BuySellsSignal Research and Minkabu.
Environmental Social Governance (ESG) indicators
SWOT Analyses
Supply Chain (referred to as a "Value Chain"
Peer Analysis (available for diversity & inclusion, profitability, fundamental ratios, peer comparison (data like P/E ratios, beta)

Refinitiv contains a report Global Leisure Attractions from 2016 that provides a Porter's Five Forces analysis for the theme park industry.

S&P Net Advantage

S & P NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage)
Access to research products including Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Mutual Fund Reports, Bond Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives.

Example: I want an industry overview relevant to Nike.

Type nike into the search box and select NIKE, Inc. (NYSE:NKE)
On the left-hand side of the screen, click the link for "Industry Surveys"
Click the pdf icon for the latest report on "Textiles, Apparel & Luxury Goods"
These reports will contain Porter's Five Forces analyses (brief ones)

Simmons Brand Catalyst (Demographics)

Simmons Brand Catalyst (replacing GfK MRI University Reporter)
For access, click Brand Catalyst at the top of the Simmons interface. Identifies the unique characteristics of over 8,000 brands to help define brand identity, differentiate against competitors, create unique personas, and drive effective media, creative, and partnership strategies.

Statista

Statista
Statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources, includes access to the Global Consumer Survey .

An excellent source for detailed market research reports on consumer goods and services. These reports will provide market size, forecasts, market share

Example: I need statistics on Nike.

Select Reports at the top of the screen and click Companies & Product Reports
Type Nike into the box and select the report

Example: I need statistics on the Footwear industry.

Select Reports at the top of the screen and click Industry & Market Reports
Type footwear into the box
Select reports like "Global Footwear Market" or "Athletic footwear market in the U.S."
Also, search for the report "Athletic Footwear: market data & analysis"