Guides: SEC (MA in Social Entrepreneurship and Change): Company Information (Public Companies)

Company Financial Data (Public Companies)

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Business and financial information for U.S. and international companies. SEC filings (real-time and archived to 1993) for NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ exchange companies. Select private company reports available.
S & P NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage) This link opens in a new window
Access to research products including Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Mutual Fund Reports, Bond Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Features news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. For help on how to use Nexis Uni, visit the research guide.
This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.

Investment Information

S & P NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage) This link opens in a new window
Access to research products including Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Mutual Fund Reports, Bond Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Business and financial information for U.S. and international companies. SEC filings (real-time and archived to 1993) for NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ exchange companies. Select private company reports available.

Company Profiles

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Features news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. For help on how to use Nexis Uni, visit the research guide.
This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.

Researching Private Companies

Annual Statement Studies: eStatement Studies This link opens in a new window
From the Risk Management Association (RMA), provides financial ratios for several industries. These ratios are the composite averages of several small and midsized businesses.

Researching private companies is more challenging than publicly-traded companies since they are not required to report information to the Securities & Exchange Commission (SEC). the PrivCo database, added recently to the library database collection, is a rare tool that provides financial data on private companies.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Features news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. For help on how to use Nexis Uni, visit the research guide.
This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.

Privco
PrivCo.com is a well-known source for business and financial research on non-publicly traded corporations, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed and international unlisted companies

Reference USA (new name: Data Axle Reference Solutions) This link opens in a new window
Online directory of over 24 million businesses in the United States and Canada.

Directories

Reference USA (new name: Data Axle Reference Solutions) This link opens in a new window
Online directory of over 24 million businesses in the United States and Canada.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Business and financial information for U.S. and international companies. SEC filings (real-time and archived to 1993) for NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ exchange companies. Select private company reports available.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Features news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. For help on how to use Nexis Uni, visit the research guide.
This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.