Primary Sources

Primary source material from 18th and 19th century including historical periodicals and books; eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of daily life, business advertisements, and genealogical records.

Digitized archival materials from the Library of Congress, including legal and historical materials.

Digital access to Series 1-5 of the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.

Provides page images and searchable full text for approximately 500 British periodicals published from the 17th through the early 20th centuries (1681-1920).

Historical books, pamphlets and broadsides from 17th and 18th century America.

Personal accounts, such as diaries and letters, of people in North America from 1534-1850, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials.

Autobiographical testimonies and biographical data from the forced migration of enslaved Africans across the Atlantic during the slave trade era from the 16th to the 19th century.

Primary sources on American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

Access to personal narratives including several thousand indexed and searchable pages of Ellis Island Oral History interviews, starting around 1840 to the present, focusing on 1920 to 1980.

Letters and diaries from colonial times to 1950 plus journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings

High-resolution digital renditions of thousands of photographic prints, slides, and negatives, capturing the history of Pepperdine University from its 1937 founding to the present.

A complete and searchable digital collection of the Pepperdine University yearbook from 1939-2006, includes "Crest of a Golden Wave."

Access to over sixty volumes of lyric poetry by Scottish women, written between 1789 and 1832.

Endangered archival materials documenting the history of Africans and their descendants in the Atlantic World.

Primary sources documenting the history of student organizing in the U.S.

Access to poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more of lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century.