Primary Sources

Every issue from 1881-1990 with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.

Includes full-text of the Los Angeles Sentinel newspaper from 1934 to 2010.

Over 450 prison newspapers from across the country in one collection representing penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions.

Series I offers more than 700 historical American newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia printed between 1690 and 1876

Access to more than 700 historical American newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia printed between 1690 and 1876.

Provides page images and searchable full text for approximately 500 British periodicals published from the 17th through the early 20th centuries (1681-1920).

Access to selected newspaper pages from 1836 to 1922. Use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information on newspapers published between 1690-present.

Search the Illustrated London News together with The Times Digital Archive 1785-1985.

Complete digital edition of The Times (London), including all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos.

World's first illustrated weekly newspaper, news coverage of British and world events, including war, disasters, royalty, social affairs, the arts and science.

The Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers collection covers 1912 to 1949. The press of more than twenty cities is represented, spanning the Chinese mainland and the entire half century.

Provides unique insights into the history of individual countries, as well as broad viewpoints on key historic events from the late nineteenth century through the present.

Full-text British 19th century periodicals: Monthly Repository of Theology and General Literature (1806-1837), Unitarian Chronicle (1832-1833), Northern Star (1838-1852), Leader (1850-1860), English Woman's Journal (1858-1864), Tomahawk (1867-1870), and Publisher's Circular (1880-1890).

Index to serials and lectureships published by the Christian College Librarians since 1975.

All issues of this American Civil War-era newspaper from November 1860 through December 1865.

Primary source material from 18th and 19th century including historical periodicals and books; eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of daily life, business advertisements, and genealogical records.

Includes every issue published in volumes 1-9, from March 12, 1871 through February 22, 1880. The Capital is a primary record of the American Reconstruction Period.