It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Accessible Archives provides full text searchable databases of primary source material from 18th and 19th Century publications including historical periodicals and books; eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records are available in an online environment.
The Ad*Access Project, funded by the Duke Endowment "Library 2000" Fund, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II, providing a coherent view of a number of major campaigns and companies through images preserved in one particular advertising collection.
Includes detailed firsthand descriptions of historical characters, glimpses of daily life in the army and at home, anecdotes about key events and personages. The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries knits together more than 1,000 sources of diaries, letters, and memoirs.
The Bruce Herschensohn Collection features the personal papers of this important politician, scholar, and filmmaker, including his notes, correspondence, media clippings, and other ephemera. The collection documents his professional life, particularly with the U.S. Information Agency during the 1960s, and also includes his documentary films. Mr. Herschensohn's long and varied career also includes roles in the Nixon and Reagan administrations, a political commentator for television and radio.
Born in 1932, Bruce Herschensohn began his career as a box-boy at Ralphs Grocery, then to RKO Radio Pictures as a messenger boy, and then RKO’s Art Department. After service in the U.S. Air Force, he began his own motion picture company. One of the films he wrote, directed, edited, and scored was the feature-length documentary "John F. Kennedy: Years of Lightning, Day of Drums" for the United States Information Agency (USIA). He was then appointed Director of Motion Pictures and Television for the USIA. During his tenure the USIA received numerous awards for film and television productions, including an Oscar from the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences. In 1969, Herschensohn was selected as one of the Ten Outstanding Young Men in the Federal Government. He also received the second highest civilian award, the Distinguished Service Medal, and then became Deputy Special Assistant to President Richard Nixon. From 1978 through 1991 he was a political commentator on KABC-TV and KABC-Radio. In 1980 he was appointed a member of the Reagan Transition Team and was himself the Republican nominee for the U.S. Senate in California in 1992. A world traveller, Herschensohn taught "The U.S. Image Abroad" at the University of Maryland, occupied the Nixon Chair at Whittier College teaching "U.S. Foreign and Domestic Policies", worked with Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn in Zurich, Switzerland and Cavendish, Vermont, and was Chairman of the Board of Pepperdine University in Malibu, California, also receiving an Honorary Doctor of Law degree from Pepperdine. From 1993 to 2001 he was Distinguished Fellow at the Claremont Institute and, in 1996, a Fellow at the John F. Kennedy Institute of Politics at Harvard University. He taught at Pepperdine University's School of Public Policy from 1998 to 2006, and is currently a Senior Fellow of this institution. Herschensohn is also an Associate Fellow of the Nixon Foundation and serves on the Board of Directors of the Center for Individual Freedom. His books include The Gods of Antenna, Lost Trumpets, Hawks Without Wings, Doves Without Conscience, The Last Time I Saw Hong Kong, Hong Kong at the Handover, Across the Taiwan Strait, Passport: An Historical Novel of the Cold War, Millennium’s Edge, Taiwan: The Threatened Democracy, Above Empyrean, and An American Amnesia.
Provides a collection of primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. The resource now includes 31 subscribed collections consisting of over 43,000 meticulously indexed documents. Each of these collections, compiled by top scholars and experts, exhaustively covers the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post-World War II through the 21st century. Visit ProQuest's guide for an overview of the collections.
Documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534-1850. The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women. The project brings coherence to a wide range of published and unpublished accounts, including narratives, diaries, journals, and letters.
Contain digital runs of at least 20 consecutive years of three 18th century and three 19th century British journals: The Annual Register, Gentleman's Magazine, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society, Notes and Queries, The Builder, and Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine.
Access to scarce and unique Latin American pamphlets published during the 19th and the early 20th centuries are owned by Harvard's Widener Library. These pamphlets are valuable primary resources for students and researchers working on Latin American history. They document the emergence of the Latin American colonies as independent states.
The Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. Additional journals and books are available at the Unive
Access to personal narratives such as letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories, including several thousand indexed and searchable pages of Ellis Island Oral History interviews. Collection starts around 1840 and extend to the present, focusing heavily on the period from 1920 to 1980. Includes more recent waves of immigrants from Latin America and Asia. Provides perspectives both on North America and on the immigrants' countries of origin.
Spanning more than 300 years, the collection contains the personal experiences of some 1,325 women from colonial times to 1950. Includes approximately 150,000 pages of letters and diaries includes 6,000 pages of unpublished manuscripts, 300 biographies and 1,500 bibliographies. Including journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings and represents all age groups and life stages, a wide range of ethnicities, and many geographic regions.
A complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Users have access to viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, interactive maps, videos, streaming audio, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
From immigration to stem cells to texting-while-driving, Opposing Viewpoints in Context delivers 13,000+ pro/con views, 1,000+ court case overviews, and thousands more topic overviews, biographies and profiles.
The Travelers in the Middle East Archive (TIMEA) is a digital archive that focuses on Western interactions with the Middle East, particularly travels to Egypt during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. TIMEA offers electronic texts such as travel guides, museum catalogs, and travel narratives, photographic and hand-drawn images of Egypt, historical maps, and interactive GIS (Geographic Information Systems) maps of Egypt and Cyprus.