It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Music: Listen/Watch Online
This guide will introduce music resources available to Pepperdine University students.
Access to streaming music consisting of over 4,175 albums, equalling 64,500 classical music recordings from over 32 labels. Includes the Music Library Association listing of essential sound recordings, recordings of music written from the earliest times (e.g., Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers. Includes program notes, composer biographies, and images cross-referenced to the recordings plus links to Grove Music Online.
The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives. Currently, the Jukebox includes more than 10,000 recordings made by the Victor Talking Machine Company between 1901 and 1925.
Spotify is a streaming services focused on popular music. You can access virtually any song, album, and artist, including classical composers. Spotify can be accessed on most connected devices, and is free with advertisements. An ad-free experience costs $9.99 a month, though currently enrolled students are eligible for a discount of $4.99 a month.
Explore thousands of recordings of music, oral histories, and the sounds of nature. The British Library holds one of the world’s foremost sound archives with a collection of over 3.5 million audio recordings. These come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound from music, drama and literature, to oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.NOTE: Many Classical recordings are restricted to users within the UK. May not work on Mac computers.
Pandora is an Internet radio site based on the Music Genome Project, an analysis-based taxonomy of music information. Users can create up to 100 unique "stations" based on genres, songs, or particular artists.
This project is sponsored by the University of Michigan School of Music, Theatre & Dance with generous support from Dr. Barbara Furin Sloat in honor of J. Barry Sloat. Additional support has been provided by the Office of Vice-President for Research, the University of Michigan.