It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Music: Recommended Websites
This guide will introduce music resources available to Pepperdine University students.
Curated by a community of music scholars, students, teachers and librarians, the Open Music Library brings together peer-reviewed journal articles, books and music scores from the world’s digital collections.
This is an international database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines.
An index to recordings of folk tunes and songs from traditional and contemporary sources searchable by title and performer, including both side and principal performers, with displays in a standard discographic format.
Hymnary.org is a comprehensive index of 5,064 hymnals and 1,075,805 published hymns, with scores, media, and information from sources such as Julian's Dictionary of Hymnology, Dictionary of North American Hymnology, hymnal handbooks, and experts in the field.
The LMT provides basic biographical information about music publishers, composers, and instrument makers, much of which is derived by a range of archival material that includes insurance records, wills, and apprenticeship records.
MERB/CMI is a bibliographic database of more than 31,000 resources in music and music education from 35 Canadian and international journals and other sources covering the period 1956 through the present.
Provides access to digitized versions of more than 600 music manuscripts by J. S. Bach, Beethoven, Brahms, Chopin, Debussy, Fauré, Haydn, Liszt, Mahler, Mendelssohn, Mozart, Puccini, Schubert, and more at The Morgan Library & Museum.
From the Loeb Music Library at Harvard: links to archival collections, online scores and sound recordings; article indexes, discographies and bibliographies; scholarly societies; musical reference works; and a miscellany of useful websites
Operabase has documented operatic activity worldwide since 1996, with over 245,000 performances on file. It records the work of artists in over 600 theatres, and publishes season information to opera-goers in 17 languages.
RCMI's collections of photo-reproductions of artworks, catalogue entries, and indices are the only such guides assembled in the U.S. where one can easily locate visual representations of any instrument or music-making scene from antiquity to the early 20th century.
Explains the origination of the style of the sacred harp music, use of shaped notes, calendar of conventions as well as weekly or monthly gatherings as they occur. Searchable by date and location. Interesting graphics, links, and audio clips. Contains very good explanation of Solfege singing, and shape note history. Bibliography.
he Hall de la Chanson, France’s national centre of chanson and popular music heritage, presents you a new website dedicated to 20 years of modern chanson music tracking the history of 50 artists and groups. For each artist and group you can get a biography, musical samples, interviews, artwork and visuals, a full discography and internet links.
Access to more than 2.7 million entries, the most comprehensive collection of doctoral dissertations and master's theses in the world. Dissertations from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts and Master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Full text for most dissertations since 1997 with 1.2 million full text dissertations available for download in PDF format. Approximately 70,000 new dissertations and theses are added each year. Coverage from 1861 to the present.
Index of journal articles, books and dissertations assembled by the Modern Language Association. Index of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers.
In addition, The MLA Directory of Periodicals and the association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the Bibliography are included.