Conflict Management Certificate

Getting to yes: negotiating an agreement without giving in

Available as a Print Book: Several copies of this book are available at multiple Pepperdine Libraries, including Drescher, Payson, West LA, and Irvine libraries. Click on the photo to be taken to the book in our library catalog.

Call Number: HD62.4.L49 1996

ISBN: 9781857880861  This text is helpful for the required Negotiation Theory and Practice Course. Getting to Yes offers a proven, step-by-step strategy for coming to mutually acceptable agreements in every sort of conflict. Thoroughly updated and revised, it offers readers a straight- forward, universally applicable method for negotiation. 

Negotiation: readings, exercises, and cases 

Available as a Print Book: Several copies of this book are available at multiple Pepperdine Libraries, including the Pepperdine Drescher and Irvine libraries. Click on the photo to be taken to the book in our library catalog

Call Number: HD58.6 .N45 2015

ISBN: 9780077862428  This text is helpful for the required Negotiation Theory and Practice Course. Getting to Yes offers a proven, step-by-step strategy for coming to mutually acceptable agreements in every sort of conflict. Thoroughly updated and revised, it offers readers a straight- forward, universally applicable method for negotiation.

Harvard business review on negotiation and conflict resolution 

Available as an e-book: Click on book photo to access the e-book. 

Leading Minds and Landmark Ideas In An Easily Accessible Format From the preeminent thinkers whose work has defined an entire field to the rising stars who will redefine the way we think about business, The Harvard Business Review Paperback Series delivers the fundamental information today's professionals need to stay competitive in a fast-moving world. Managers at every level, and in every industry, must balance various working styles, build efficient management teams, and develop sharp negotiation skills to remain competitive. Harvard Business Review on Negotiation and Conflict Resolution offers a selection of the best thinking on negotiation practice and managing conflict in organizational settings.

Negotiation genius: how to overcome obstacles and achieve brilliant results at the bargaining table and beyond

Available as a Print Book: A copy of this book is available at the Pepperdine Drescher library. Click on the above photo to be taken to the book in our catalog. 

 Call Number: HD58.6 .M35 2008

ISBN: 9780553384116 "From two leaders in executive education at Harvard Business School, here are the mental habits and proven strategies you need to achieve outstanding results in any negotiation. It gives you detailed strategies, including talking points that work in the real world even when the other side is hostile, unethical, or more powerful. When you finish it, you will already have an action plan for your next negotiation. You will know what to do and why. You will also begin building your own reputation as a negotiation genius."

Handbook of global and multicultural negotiation 

Available as a Print Book: A copy of this book is available at the Pepperdine Irvine library. Click on the above photo to be taken to the book in our catalog. 

Call Number: HD58.6 .M656 2010

ISBN: 9780470440957 This is a comprehensive resource that offers in-depth advice and proven strategies for conducting effective cross-cultural negotiations. Throughout the book, the authors focus on cross-cultural communication, problem-solving, and negotiations.

Women don't ask: Negotiation and the gender divide  

Available as an e-book: Click on book photo to access the e-book. 

By looking at the barriers holding women back and the social forces constraining them, Women don't ask shows, women, how to reframe their interactions, and more accurately evaluate their opportunities. It teaches them how to ask for what they want in ways that feel comfortable and possible, taking into account the impact of asking on their relationships. Drawing on research in psychology, sociology, economics, and organizational behavior as well as dozens of interviews with men and women from all walks of life, Women don't ask is the first book to identify the dramatic difference between men and women in their propensity to negotiate for what they want. It tells women how to ask, and why they should.

Essentials of Negotiation

Available as a Print Book: A copy of this book is available at the Pepperdine Irvine and Payson libraries. Click on the above photo to be taken to the book in our catalog. 

Call Number: HD58.6 .L487 2011

ISBN: 9780073530369   Essentials of Negotiation, 5e is a condensed version of the main text, Negotiation, Sixth Edition. It explores the major concepts and theories of the psychology of bargaining and negotiation, and the dynamics of interpersonal and inter-group conflict and its resolution. Those condensed chapters have shifted from a more research-oriented focus to a more fundamental focus on issues such as critical negotiation subprocesses, multiparty negotiations, and the influence of international and cross-cultural differences on the negotiation process.

The Art and Science of Negotiation 

Available as a Print Book: A copy of this book is available at the Pepperdine West LA and Payson libraries. Click on the above photo to be taken to the book in our catalog. 

Payson Call Number: JX4473 .R35

West LA Call Number: BF637.N4 R34 2012

ISBN: 9780674048126 Whether you are selling a house, closing a business deal, settling a divorce, arbitrating a labor dispute, or trying to hammer out an international treaty, Howard Raiffa’s new book will measurably improve your negotiating skills. Using a vast array of specific cases and clear, helpful diagrams, Raiffa not only elucidates the step-by-step processes of negotiation but also translates this deeper understanding into practical guidelines for negotiators and “intervenors.”

Harvard Business Essentials: Negotiation 

Available as an ebook: Click on book photo to access the e-book.  

Negotiation--whether brokering a deal, mediating a dispute, or writing up a contract--is both a necessary and challenging aspect of business life. This guide helps managers to sharpen their skills and become more effective deal makers in any situation.

The mediation process: practical strategies for resolving conflict 

Available as an e-book: Click on book photo to access the e-book. 

The above text is helpful for LAW 1422 Mediation Theory and Practice. The book is a practical blend of theory, research, and practice with a useful "how-to" approach to resolving disputes at various stages of development and resolution. Its case studies present a range of successful applications of mediation and strategies for intervention.

The Handbook of Victim-Offender Mediation: an essential guide to practice and research  

Available as an e-book: Click on book photo to access the e-book. 

"The Handbook of Victim Offender Mediation is the first resource to provide a conceptual and research-based framework and a practical process for mediating a wide variety of criminal conflicts between victims of crime and their offenders. Written by Mark Umbreit, an international pioneer in the field, this comprehensive handbook is based on the empirically grounded principles of restorative justice through victim-offender mediation. 

Mediation in family disputes: principles of practice 

Available as a Print Book: A copy of this book is available at the Pepperdine Irvine Library. Click on the above photo to be taken to the book in our catalog.   

Call Number: KD750. R63 2008

ISBN: 9780754646242 This pioneering book presents mediation as an aid to joint decision-making in the context of family disputes, notably those involving children.

Mediation in a nutshell 

Available as a Print Book: A copy of this book is available at the Pepperdine Irvine Library. Click on the above photo to be taken to the book in our catalog.   

Call Number: KF9084. K678 2014

ISBN: 9780314291523 This title provides a comprehensive, yet concise examination of the primary aspects of mediation practice. In doing so, the book considers the legal, philosophical, policy, and practical issues surrounding mediation use. Matters include issues such as levels of participation in mediation, the enforceability of mediated agreements, regulation of practice including ethical issues, and a survey of the specialized applications of mediation.

Flexibility in international negotiation and mediation 

Available as a Print Book: A copy of this book is available at the Pepperdine Payson Library. Click on the above photo to be taken to the book in our catalog.      

Call Number: JX4475.F53 1995

ISBN: 9780761901334 Since 1889, The American Academy of Political and Social Science has served as a forum for the free exchange of ideas among the well informed and intellectually curious. In this era of specialization, few scholarly periodicals cover the scope of societies and politics like The ANNALS.

The Mediation Field Guide: transcending litigation and resolving conflicts in your business or organization 

Available as an e-book: Click on book photo to access the e-book. 

The Mediation Field Guide is a comprehensive primer that is filled with practical strategies for elevating conflict resolution to a process that can effectively resolve business, personal, community, and institutional disputes on multiple levels. Throughout the book, expert mediator Barbara Ashley Phillips provides insights into both the simplicity and complexity of the inner workings of mediation that will enable you to use the process with the skill and finesse of a professional mediator.

Practicing Narrative Mediation: Loosening the Grip of Conflict 

Available as an ebook: Click on book photo to access the e-book.  

Written by John Winslade and Gerald Monkleaders in the narrative therapy movement the book contains suggestions and illustrative examples for applying the proven narrative technique when working with restorative conferencing and mediation in organizations, schools, health care, divorce cases, employer and employee problems, and civil and international conflicts. Practicing Narrative Mediation also explores the most recent.

Difficult conversations: how to discuss what matters most 

Available as a Print Book: Several copies of this book are available at multiple Pepperdine Libraries, including Pepperdine West LA and Irvine libraries. Click on the photo to be taken to the book in our library catalog.

Call Number: BF637.C45 S78 2010 

ISBN: 9780143118442 This text is helpful for the required LAW 1492 Negotiation Theory and Practice Course. the Harvard Negotiation Project, the organization that brought readers "Getting to Yes, Difficult Conversations" provides a step-by-step approach to having those tough conversations with less stress and more success. Several copies of this book are available at multiple Pepperdine Libraries, including West LA and Irvine. Click on the photo to be taken to the book in our library catalog. This text is helpful for the required Negotiation Theory and Practice Course

Faith-based diplomacy: trumping realpolitik 

Available as a Print Book: A copy of this book is available at the Pepperdine Drescher library. Click on the above photo to be taken to the book in our catalog.  

 Call Number: BL65.I55 F345 2003

ISBN: 9780195160895  The above text is helpful for the Faith-Based Diplomacy and International Peacemaking course. This book looks at five intractable conflicts and explores the possibility of drawing on religion as a force for peace. It builds upon the insights of Religion, the Missing Dimension of Statecraft (OUP,1994)--which examined the role that religious or spiritual factors can play in preventing or resolving conflict while achieving social change based on justice and reconciliation. 

When Cultures Collide: Leading across cultures 

Available as an e-book: Click on book photo to access the e-book

Print Book Call Number: HD62.4.L49 1996

ISBN: 9781857880861  This text is helpful for the Law 1902 Cross-Cultural Conflict and Dispute Resolution course. Richard Lewis includes every major region of the world and more than sixty countries! Capturing the rising influence of culture and the seismic changes throughout many regions of the world, cross-cultural expert and international businessman Richard Lewis has significantly broadened the scope of his seminal work on global business and intercultural communication. Within each country-specific chapter, Lewis provides invaluable insight into the beliefs.

Peacemaking and the Challenge of Violence in World Religions 

Available as an e-book: Click on the book photo to access the e-book. 

The above text is helpful for the LAW 1282 Dispute Resolution and Religion course. This book provides a comprehensive look at peace and violence in seven world religions--Buddhism, Christianity, Confucianism, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism, and Native American religions. For each religion, it covers its sacred texts; discusses ideas of peace, war, nonviolence, and permissible violence, recounts historical responses to violence, and highlights individuals within the tradition working toward peace and justice.

Flourishing: why we need religion in a globalized world  

Available as an e-book: Click on book photo to access the e-book.  

The above text is helpful for the LAW 1282 Dispute Resolution and Religion course. "A celebrated theologian explores how the greatest dangers to humanity, as well as the greatest promises for human flourishing, are at the intersection of religion and globalization, "

The mediation field guide: transcending litigation and resolving conflicts in your business or organization 

Available as an e-book: Click on book photo to access the e-book.  

The Mediation Field Guide is a comprehensive primer that is filled with practical strategies for elevating conflict resolution to a process that can effectively resolve business, personal, community, and institutional disputes on multiple levels. Throughout the book, expert mediator Barbara Ashley Phillips provides insights into both the simplicity and complexity of the inner workings of mediation that will enable you to use the process with the skill and finesse of a professional mediator. 

Flexibility in international negotiation and mediation

Available as a Print Book: A copy of this book is available at the Pepperdine Payson library. Click on the above photo to be taken to the book in our catalog. 

 Call Number: JX4475 .F53 1995

ISBN:  9780761901341 Since 1889, The American Academy of Political and Social Science has served as a forum for the free exchange of ideas among the well informed and intellectually curious.