Guides: Aliento Program Resources: Language Support

Duolingo

Duolingo is an online FREE service designed to help its users learn a variety of languages at the users own pace. By being able to set your own pace, users of different skill levels will be able to benefit from the software courses by entering as a beginner or a more advanced user who may already be fluent in a language but may just need a brush-up course.

In order to use Duolingo you will need to set up a free account with the company and set your goals to determine at which speed you are willing to learn the new language.

Although the site offers a variety of languages to choose from, the Aliento students will benefit the most from the Spanish courses being taught at this website.

Duolingo.com
Free online application designed to help its users learn a new language.

The Routledge Spanish Bilingual Dictionary of Psychology and Psychiatry

The Routledge Spanish Bilingual Dictionary of Psychology and Psychiatry, while it is available in book form, it can also be found as an E-Book by following the link below. This Spanish to English dictionary is important for your studies because it has an emphasis on terms associated with the field of psychology.

pepperdine.worldcat.org/oclc/727050687

The Routledge Spanish Bilingual Dictionary of Psychology and Psychiatry by Steven M. Kaplan
ISBN: 0415587743
Publication Date: 2011-03-11
The Routledge Spanish Bilingual Dictionary of Psychology and Psychiatrycontains over 100,000 entries making this the most comprehensive and up-to-date dictionary of its kind. TheDictionaryprovides concise, comprehensive and current coverage of every word or phrase used in the study and practice of psychiatry and psychology. This valuable reference tool covers all disciplines and sub-disciplines, both research-based and clinical. This is a vital resource to those in the healthcare professions, to academicians and to those who work in translation and/or interpretation, healthcare and the law who are in contact with the English and Spanish speaking communities.

Library Resources

The library has English to Spanish dictionaries in standard versions and also in versions with an emphasis in psychology/mental health.

You may request these items be sent to your university home branch library through our inter-campus loan system. In order to request an item:

Visit http://library.pepperdine.edu
On the main search bar type in "Spanish Dictionary"
When the results populate,select which dictionary you would like to view its availability information.
On the next page, to the right of the dictionary availability information, click on the "Request this item" radio button
Select which library you would like to send the hold request to and have the book sent to that location.

The Oxford Spanish Dictionary by Beatriz Galimberti Jarman (Editor); Roy Russell (Editor); Carol Styles Carvajal (Editor); Jane Horwood (Editor)
ISBN: 0198604750
Publication Date: 2003-07-03
The Oxford Spanish Dictionary comes with the ultimate pronunciation guide: a FREE, state-of-the-art CD-ROM (UK and Europe only) that enables you to type in a word or phrase, or paste in text from the web, and hear it spoken back to you in perfect Spanish.Now in colour, with an ultra-clear layout for maximum accessibility, this major new edition provides the richest coverage of Spanish from around the world, covering over 300,000 words and phrases, and more than 500,000 translations. Oxford's expert teams of lexicographers have used the latest technology to search millions of words of web-based text and identify all the most recent additions to both Spanish and English. Over 20,000 new entries have been added to the dictionary from all aspects of life today - business, IT,science, the media, the environment, the internet, and social life. Hundreds of special entries now give information on life and culture in the Spanish-speaking world, and in-text notes give extra help with grammar and usage. The dictionary also includes an extended guide to effectivecommunication, including a wealth of example letters, offering help with a wide range of topics, from writing a job application or a CV to booking a hotel room. With a new, easy-access colour design to make consultation even quicker, this is the most complete and up-to-date reference tool foranyone studying Spanish in senior school or at university, or for translators and other language professionals. This title replaces ISBN 0-19-860367-3. It is also available on CD-ROM with full text search and innovative Spanish pronunciation functionality.
The Routledge Spanish Bilingual Dictionary of Psychology and Psychiatry by Steven M. Kaplan
ISBN: 0415587743
Publication Date: 2011-03-11
The Routledge Spanish Bilingual Dictionary of Psychology and Psychiatrycontains over 100,000 entries making this the most comprehensive and up-to-date dictionary of its kind. TheDictionaryprovides concise, comprehensive and current coverage of every word or phrase used in the study and practice of psychiatry and psychology. This valuable reference tool covers all disciplines and sub-disciplines, both research-based and clinical. This is a vital resource to those in the healthcare professions, to academicians and to those who work in translation and/or interpretation, healthcare and the law who are in contact with the English and Spanish speaking communities.
Spanish English Bilingual Visual Dictionary by Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
ISBN: 9781465436993
Publication Date: 2015-06-02
Newly revised and updated, the Spanish-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary is a quick and intuitive way to learn and recall everyday words in Spanish. The Spanish-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary introduces a range of useful current vocabulary in thematic order, using full-color photographs and artworks to display and label all the elements of everyday life -- from the home and office to sport, music, nature, and the countries of the world -- with panel features on key nouns, verbs, and useful phrases. The Spanish-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary features: A quick and intuitive way to learn and remember thousands of words. A complete range of illustrated objects and scenes from everyday life. Fast and effective learning for any situation, from home and office to shopping and dining out. Detailed index for instant reference. Handy size ideal for travel. The illustrations in the Spanish-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary provide a quick and intuitive route to learning a language, defining the words visually so it is easier to remember them and creating a colorful and stimulating learning resource for the foreign-language and EFL/ESL student.