Guides: ART 330 Explorations in Digital Arts: Home

ARTstor Images

Twitchell, Kent. Mary, 7th Street Altarpiece (portrait of Lita Albuquerque) 1983-84. Harbor Frwy S., 7th St. underpass, Los Angeles, CA . Photographed by: Eva Cockcroft; Image and original data provided by Timothy Drescher. Available on ARTstor

Images for your projects can be found in ARTstor which is in the process of transitioning to the JSTOR platform. You will need to Log In, create a personal account and create an image group. Then view information on how to Export to Power Point

You can search IMAGES by the name of an art work, by geography, by classification (for example, digital art), or by collection. Use the Advanced Search to limit by date.

Helpful videos on using ARTstor can be found on YouTube

Getty Open Content images

The Getty Digital Museum Collection holds many images of artwork that is not currently on display. Over 160,000 images are high-resolution mages of public domain artwork that can be downloaded for free. Click here for more information on this Open Content program.

Researching Artists

Locate artists' works on the Internet using a search engine such as Google; or visit a site that collects information about works from over 180,000 artists: Artnet.com

Artsy, a resource for collection and education, aims to make all the world’s art accessible to anyone with an Internet connection.

ARTnews (available on Flipster) reports on the art, personalities, issues, trends and events shaping the international art world.

Bibliographies located in books or at the end of journal articles can be very helpful. To learn if Pepperdine has access to a particular journal, search for the name of the journal in the library catalog, or use the 'Journals & Periodicals' search feature on the Library's Web site.

Locate exhibition catalogs in the library collection using subject headings in this format:

[artist's name, eg. Rockburne, Dorothea | Yarde, Richard ] Exhibitions | Criticism and Interpretation | Catalogs | Interviews

Finding Articles

Art Full Text
A comprehensive, international resource covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, and architecture.
Full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995
High-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals
Indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations
Indexing of nearly 200,000 art reproductions
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage to peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Content from CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index along with other peer-reviewed journals in communication, mass media, and related fields of study.

JSTOR
Used by millions for research, teaching, and learning. With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, plus over 40,000 ebooks, JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content.

Project MUSE
Full-text current and archival articles from scholarly journals covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.

Watch Videos

Art21: Artists in their own words
Digital films on contemporary art and artists, released exclusively online. These original videos focus on singular aspects of an artist's process, significant individual works and exhibitions,

Online Software Tutorials

LinkedIn Learning
Professional development resource available to all current faculty, staff, and students, offering over 1,000 online courses.

http://www.photoshoptutorials.ws/

http://www.photoshopstar.com/

http://prodesigntools.com/adobe-cs6-tutorials-free-videos-all-products.html

Experiment with LC digital materials

Library of Congress LABS
A place to encourage innovation with Library of Congress digital collections. Includes: Experiments, Events, and LC for Robots (includes APIs, bulk downloads and tutorials)

Online books

Online books can be found through a search of the library catalog; limit your search result to Format: Book: ebook

Many ebooks can be read by multiple people at the same times

You can search the full-text of books in collections of e-books such as:

JSTOR
Archive of interdisciplinary journals and books, covering the Arts, Business & Economics, History, Humanities, Law, Science & Mathematics, Social Sciences, and Religion.
Getty Publications Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
Titles published by the J. Paul Getty Museum, the Getty Conservation Institute, and the Getty Research Institute, including collection catalogues that highlight the Getty collections.
Getty Research Portal
A virtual library of art history texts, digitized art history publications, rare books, and related literature.

MetPublications
Five decades of Met (Metropolitan Museum of Art) publications on art history, available to read, download, and/or search for free.

ProQuest E-Book Central This link opens in a new window
Includes e-books formerly in Pepperdine's ebrary and EBL collections.This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.

Internet Archive
Read free books and texts. The Internet Archive Text Archive contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books.