Guides: ART 330 Explorations in Digital Arts: Images on the Web

Smithsonian Open Access

Welcome to Smithsonian Open Access, where you can download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images—right now, without asking. With new platforms and tools, you have easier access to more than 3.9 million 2D and 3D digital items from our collections—with many more to come. This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.

Public Photosharing Sites

Flickr

Interesting Websites

Digital Arts from IDG
"The UK's leading resource for creative professionals, Digital Arts addresses the needs of those within the exploding digital media market by providing relevant and forward thinking content, and by consistently running more exclusive reviews and features than any other website in the market.".
FIDMDigitalArts.com Blog
dedicated to the graphic design and digital media industries and featuring the Graphic Design & Digital Media departments of FIDM/Fashion Institute of Design & Merchandising.

Digital Collections

American Memory, The Library of Congress

NYPDL Digital Gallery

California Digital Library

MADID (Yale University Manuscripts & Archives Digital Images Database)

H ollis Images (Harvard University Visual Information Access)

Bridgeman Art Library: art, culture & history images

Parker Library on the Web : Images of 6th-18th century manuscripts from Parker Library in Corpus Christi College, Camden.

National Galley of Art | NGA Images a repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art

Digital Image Resources

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, international resource covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, and architecture.
Full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995
High-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals
Indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations
Indexing of nearly 200,000 art reproductions
Grove Art Online (now part of Oxford Art Online) This link opens in a new window
Access to foremost scholarly art encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art, including the full text of The Dictionary of Art.
Also includes The Oxford Companion to Western Art, edited by Hugh Brigstocke (2001), The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms by Michael Clarke and Deborah Clarke, and Encyclopedia of Aesthetics edited by Michael Kelly (1998).

ART 330 Explorations in Digital Arts

Welcome

Librarian

Smithsonian Open Access

Public Photosharing Sites

Interesting Websites

Digital Collections

Digital Image Resources

Web Links to Art