Guides: ART 230 Foundations in Digital Arts: Home

Getting Started

Locate artists' works on the Internet using a search engine such as Google; or visit a site that collects information about works from over 180,000 artists: Artnet.com

Artsy, a resource for collection and education, aims to make all the world’s art accessible to anyone with an Internet connection.

ARTnews (available on Flipster) reports on the art, personalities, issues, trends and events shaping the international art world.

Finding Articles

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, international resource covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, and architecture.
Full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995
High-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals
Indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations
Indexing of nearly 200,000 art reproductions
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage to peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more.

JSTOR
Used by millions for research, teaching, and learning. With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, plus over 40,000 ebooks, JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content.

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text current and archival articles from scholarly journals covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.
Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Biographical information on more than 528,000 people throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.

Exhibition Catalogs in the Library

Use the subject headings below to discover exhibition catalogs:

[artist's name], eg. Rockburne, Dorothea | Yarde, Richard --
Exhibitions | Criticism and Interpretation | Catalogs | Interviews
"Art, Modern -- 20th century | 21st century"

Useful Subject Heading

Search for print and online books in the catalog by subject:

Watch Videos

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available, delivering almost 70,000 titles spanning subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more

ART 21: Art in the 21st century
This AVON channel includes 29 e-videos you can watch online
Art21: Artists in their own words
Digital films on contemporary art and artists, released exclusively online. These original videos focus on singular aspects of an artist's process, significant individual works and exhibitions,

Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
Digital access to course-related films. Swank does not currently support Safari on Macs. Please see Swank System Requirements or the Swank help page for more details.

ARTstor Images for Your Presentation/Paper

Rebecca Quaytman

Quaytman, Rebecca. The Sun (installation title) 2001 Paintings, Prints. Exhibited at Spencer Brownstone Gallery, Spring 2001 Image and original data provided by Larry Qualls. Available on ARTstor

One place to find images for your presentation or paper is the database, ARTstor. Log on to ARTstor, create a personal account and create an image group. Then view information on how to Export to Power Point

You can search ARTstor by the name of an art work, by geography, by classification (for example, digital art), or by collection. Use the Advanced Search to limit by date. ARTstor images are included in results on JSTOR.

Helpful videos on using ARTstor can be found on YouTube

Specialized Online Encyclopedias

Grove Encyclopedia of American Art (GEAA) This link opens in a new window
Entries on all aspects of American art and architecture from Native American art to Colonial art to contemporary American art.

Citation Guides: Works of Art and Images On-Line

Basic information you'll need:

• Artist’s name
• Title of the work
• Date it was created
• Repository, museum, or owner (in other words, where it is now located)
• City or country of origin
• Dimensions of the work
• Material or medium (oil on canvas, marble, found objects, etc.)

See: 14.235: Citing paintings, photographs, and sculpture

if you copied image in a book you'll need the books's information

If you found the image online, you will need an access date & the web site address

Citation Styles

Citation styles can be difficult to learn.

Here are links to guides for some of the most popular style guides.

Chicago Manual of Style

Turabian Guide for Writers

MLA

These Guides are from OWL, the Purdue Online Writing Lab.