It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ARTH 300 World Art History II: Home
Useful resources for the study of world art and architecture from the fifteenth century through the present.
You can search ARTstor by the name of an art work, by geography, by classification (for example, architecture), or by collection (for example, Art History Survey Collection). Use the Advanced Search to limit by date.
Helpful videos on using ARTstor can be found on YouTube
A 100 part series by Neil MacGregor, Director of the British Museum, exploring world history from two million years ago to the present. Objects featured in the series can be explored and their stories discovered in the Museum galleries or here on the website, by theme or gallery. You can also listen to the radio broadcasts and read their transcripts.
Smarthistory at Khan Academy is the leading open educational resource for art history making high-quality introductory art history content freely available to anyone, anywhere.
For background information, start with an exhaustive reference work such as Grove Art Online. Both the 'Guided Tour' and 'Tools and Resources' (available from the Home page) provide useful information on searching Grove/Oxford Art Online. The Oxford Companion to Western Art edited by Hugh Brigstocke is also part of Oxford Art Online.
Bibliographies located in books or at the end of journal articles can be very helpful. To learn if Pepperdine has access to a particular journal, search for the name of the journal in the library catalog, or use the 'Databases and E-Journals' search feature on the Library's Web site.
Featuring full-text articles (from more than 300 journals), indexing and abstracting of an international array of publications, Art Full Text™ is a comprehensive resource covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture and much more.
Full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995
High-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals
Indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations
Indexing of nearly 200,000 art reproductions
Used by millions for research, teaching, and learning. With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content.
Provides full text coverage to nearly 9,100 journals, including over 7,900 peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more. Full-text coverage dates back to 1985 and is updated daily.
The Grove Encyclopedia of American Art (GEAA) deals with all aspects of American art and architecture from Native American art to Colonial art to contemporary American art. Drawing upon the expansive scholarship in The Dictionary of Art (DOA) and adding hundreds of new entries not previously covered in the DOA, GEAA is a comprehensive and current reference resource for information on this important area for students, researchers, and the general public.
Covers all aspects of Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Africa to Central, South, and East Asia and includes entries on artists, rulers, writers, ceramics, sculpture, metalwork, painting, calligraphy, textiles, and more.
Covers a wide range of subject areas, addressing people and subjects specific to all areas of Northern, Central, and Eastern Europe, and including articles on artists, artisans, patrons, painting, architecture, sculpture, cities, centres of production, theory, criticism, and more.
Contains over 3,000 entries covering thousands of years of decorative arts production throughout western and non-western cultures including hundreds of entries on the qualities and historical uses of materials, concise definitions on art forms and styles, and in-depth articles discussing the history of armor, jewelry, furniture, textiles, and ceramics.
Historical and current uses of materials and techniques in a wide range of areas from painting and sculpture to non-traditional media such as digital and video art.
Coverage includes materials in art practice (e.g. ink, enamel, digital materials); materials in conservation (e.g. adhesives); classes of artifacts (e.g. wallpaper, mosaic, ceramic); techniques and methods (e.g. book binding, gilding, printing, weaving), terms (e.g. rustication), tools (e.g. easel, laser), theory (e.g. technical examination, conservation controversies), fakes & forgeries, and conservation theorists and practitioners.
Fukuda Kodöjin. Mountain landscape. late 18th to mid-19th century. Hanging scroll (detail), ink and color on paper. Manyo'an Collection of Japanese Art. Available on Artstor.
Academic Video OnlineThis link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available, delivering almost 70,000 titles spanning subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 14,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street.