Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
InfoGuides | Pepperdine Libraries

Personality Assessment Psychology: Searching PsycINFO

What you can expect from PscyINFO

Comprehensive Coverage

  • More than 3.7 million records, covering psychology back to its underpinnings in the 17th Century
  • Records for peer-reviewed journals, books, and dissertations
  • Professional coverage beyond psychology to include related disciplines such as medicine, law, social work, neuroscience, business, nursing, forensics, engineering, and more

High-quality Records

  • Meticulously indexed by subject experts at APA
  • Extensive pre-release quality assurance and post-release record monitoring ensures highly relevant and accurate results
  • Immediate coverage of correction and retraction notices indexed and cross-referenced to original record

Authoritative Publications

  • Each publication indexed in PsycINFO has been carefully selected by a team of experts for relevance
  • Direction advised by esteemed scholars, scientists, and librarians within APA's membership and the library community

Results List

The Result List Screen has three columns:

•Left - Limiters and Clustering

•Middle - Results Display

•Right - Related Information You can hide or show the different areas by clicking the control arrows at the top of the left and right columns.

Left - Limiters and Clustering The Left Column displays the Bread Box feature, Limiters, and Clusters

•Bread Box - Click the toggle arrow to open the Bread Box. The Bread Box keeps track of the numbers of results, your search terms, search options, and clusters applied to your search.

•Limit your results – Apply limiters right from the Result List. Click a hyperlinked limiter to apply it or select multiple limiters and click Update. A revised Result List displays. (You can refine your search even more by clicking the Show More link under Limit your results.)

•Clustering – You can narrow by source type, subject, journal, author, and more. This feature, also known as “clustering,” is helpful if you want to discover the major subject groups for your topic without having to browse multiple pages of results, or checking individual articles to see if they are relevant.

◦To narrow your results, check the box for one or more subject terms in a section of your choice and click Update. A new Result List, limited to the chosen term or terms is displayed and the list of subject terms is refreshed.

Click on the link below:

Using PsycINFO step-by-step

To use Advanced Search with Guided-Style Fields:

1. Click the Advanced Search link below the Find field.

2. Enter your search terms in the first Find field on the Advanced Search screen.

3. Choose the search field from the optional Select a Field drop-down list (for example, search in only the Subject Terms field of the citation).

4. Repeat steps 1 and 2 for the second set of Find fields.

5. Select a Boolean operator (AND, OR, NOT) to combine the two Find field entries.

6. You can enter another Boolean operator, keyword, and search field in the third set of fields.

7. If you need additional rows, click the Add Row link. Up to 12 rows can be displayed. To delete a row, click the Remove Row link.

8. Select from the available Search Options:

Search modes - Use specific search modes, such as "Find all of my search terms," or "SmartText Searching," or use search options that expand your search such as "Apply related words."

Limit your results - such as Full Text or Publication type.

Special Limiters - Apply limiters specific to a database. If you select a special limiter, it is applied only to the database under which it appears

9. Click the Search button. The Result List displays. The search field is displayed above the Result List. Your search terms, limiters and expanders are retained. To revise your search, you can apply the limiters under Refine your results. Click the Show More link to view all available limiters and expanders.

How do I find the full text of the article?

Click on the article title in blue to link out to the full article if available.  If the full-text is not available, click on "Find @Link Manager," leading to another database or a publishers website, for example.  Click on "Illiad" to request the article through interlibrary loan.