Guides: Personality Assessment Psychology: Finding Articles

Psychology Databases

PsycINFO

The American Psychological Association’s (APA) resource of peer-reviewed articles in psychology, behavioral science and mental health.
PsychiatryOnline

Portal featuring DSM-V-TR, plus a collection of psychiatric references and journals from American Psychiatric Publishing, self-assessment tools, and clinical & research news.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Comprehensive guide to contemporary testing instruments in areas of psychology, education, business, and leadership.

First published by Oscar K. Buros, the MMY series allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing. MMY provides coverage from Volume 1 to the present. Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
PsycARTICLES
From the American Psychological Association (APA), full text, peer-reviewed scholarly articles in psychology from 1894 to the present.

Counseling and Therapy in Video

These 356 videos range from approximately 20 minutes to over an hour; the average length is just under an hour. The content includes therapy sessions (actual, reenacted, or scripted), experts discussing therapeutic approaches and analyzing examples, and presentations in which noted therapists lecture about issues in the mental health field. The videos are accompanied by written transcripts, which scroll as the video plays and highlight the corresponding text; many include teaching guides. The videos included in this collection can be used freely for educational purposes.

PILOTS (Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress)

Index of worldwide literature on posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events.

Coverage includes assessment, prevention, treatment, mental health services, and more. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on PTSD and other forms of traumatic stress and to offer both current and retrospective coverage. Coverage spans 1871 to the present; the database is updated monthly.
PsycTests

Descriptive summaries, articles and citations on the development and assessment of psychological tests, scales, instruments and measures used in psychology research and teaching.

General Databases

Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 journals. Updated daily.

Dissertations & Theses Access to nearly 3 million searchable citations, the most comprehensive collection of doctoral dissertations and master's theses in the world. Dissertations from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts and Master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Full text for most dissertations since 1997 with 1.2 million full text dissertations available for download in PDF format. Approximately 70,000 new dissertations and theses are added each year. Coverage from 1743 to the present.

Google Scholar Search for relevant scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

Science Direct Provides indexing and abstracting for over 2,500 scientific, technical and medical journals as well as access to 503 full-text Elsevier journals, and titles subscribed to by Pepperdine University Libraries plus 45 titles in the Psychology backfile.