Guides: ENG 380.83 Latin American Literature in Translation (World Literature): Home

Getting Started

Latin American Literature and Its Times by Joyce Moss (Editor); Lorraine Valestuk (Editor)
Call Number: Online in Gale Virtual Reference Library
ISBN: 0787637262
Publication Date: 1999-08-13
Examines the relationship between the political/social climate during which books were written and the works themselves. This volume focuses on major fiction, poetry and nonfiction from Latin America.
Gale Contextual Encyclopedia of World Literature by Anne Marie Hacht; Dwayne D. Hayes
Call Number: Online in Gale Virtual Reference Library
ISBN: 1414431384
Publication Date: 2009-02-01
Covers world authors from many periods and genres, building an understanding of the various contexts -- from the biographical to the literary to the historical -- in which literature can be viewed.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by Jay Kinsbruner (Editor); Erick Detlef Langer
Call Number: Online in Gale Virtual Reference Library
ISBN: 0684315904
Publication Date: 2008-06-01
Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts. Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.

Online Books

A Companion to Latin American Literature by Stephen M. Hart
ISBN: 9781855661479
Publication Date: 2007-09-20
Offers a lively and informative introduction to the most significant literary works produced in Latin America from the fifteenth century until the present day.. A final chapter evaluates the post-boom novel, testimonio, Latino and Brazuca literature, gay, Afro-Hispanic and Afro-Brazilian literature, along with the Novel of the New Millennium.
The Columbia Guide to the Latin American Novel Since 1945 by Raymond Williams
ISBN: 9780231126885
Publication Date: 2007-09-21
This guide explores the cultural, political, and historical events that have shaped the Latin American and Caribbean novel since the end of World War II. In addition to works originally composed in English, Williams covers novels written in Spanish, Portuguese, French, Dutch, and Haitian Creole, and traces the profound influence of modernization, revolution, and democratization on the writing of this era.
A Companion to Spanish American Modernismo by Aníbal González
ISBN: 9781855661455
Publication Date: 2007-08-16
Modernismo, a literary movement of fundamental importance to Spanish America and Spain, occurred at the turn of the nineteenth century, roughly from the 1880s to the 1920s. It is widely regarded as the first Spanish-language literary movement that originated in the New World and that became influential in the "Mother Country," Spain.

Literature Specific Databases

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Provides up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and around the world.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Coverage is international and includes literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
In addition, the MLA Directory of Periodicals and their proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors within the Bibliography are included.

Multidisciplinary Databases

These multidisciplinary online sources include literature-related research.

JSTOR
Access the journal archives Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, VI, & VII and over 40,000 ebooks on the JSTOR platform; book chapters and journal articles are cross-searchable. JSTOR is an extensive archive of interdisciplinary journals and books, covering subject disciplines in Arts, Business & Economics, History, Humanities, Law, Science & Mathematics, Social Sciences, and Religion.

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the full-text of over 300 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage to peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more.

Why Google Scholar?

Question: Why would you use Google Scholar?

Answer: Google Scholar identifies scholarly research materials from a broad range of subject areas.

Google Scholar offers a "cited by" feature - it will display a list of documents which cited the document you originally retrieved. This can be useful in determing how influential a source has been. The list only includes documents available in Google Scholar, though.

Go into the preferences of Google Scholar and select Pepperdine University from Library Links.