Guides: ENG 380.83 Latin American Literature in Translation (World Literature): Other Resources

Latin American Literature on the Web

LANIC: Latin American Network Information Center : Literature
The Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) is affiliated with the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies (LLILAS) at the University of Texas at Austin. LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America.
Latin American Words
From the BBC World Service, you can read and listen to exclusive interviews with authors, academics and critics from across Latin America.
Handbook of Latin American Studies from the Library of Congress
"The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook."
Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes
Digital collection of Spanish-language texts and literature from Spain and Latin America.
Palabra Virtual- Antología de Poesia Iberoamericana
A large collection of works from some of the most noteworthy poets from Latin American and Spain.

General Literature Web Resources

Literary Resources on the Net
pages maintained by Jack Lynch of Rutgers

What is a Primary Source

A primary source is "first-hand" information, sources as close as possible to the origin of the information or idea under study. Primary sources are contrasted with secondary sources, works that provide analysis, commentary, or criticism on the primary source. In literary studies, primary sources are often creative works, including poems, stories, novels, and so on. In historical studies, primary sources include written works, recordings, or other source of information from people who were participants or direct witnesses to the events in question. Examples of commonly used primary sources include government documents, memoirs, personal correspondence, oral histories, and contemporary newspaper accounts.

Illustrated London News Historical Archive 1842-2003 This link opens in a new window
World's first illustrated weekly newspaper, news coverage of British and world events, including war, disasters, royalty, social affairs, the arts and science.
Latin American Newspapers: Series I This link opens in a new window
Provides more than 35 newspapers published between 1805 and 1922 from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere in Latin America.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Features news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. For help on how to use Nexis Uni, visit the research guide.This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.