It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ARTH 422 Ancient Near Eastern and Egyptian Art: Books of Interest
Catalog of an exhibition at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, Nov. 18, 2008-Mar. 15, 2009.
Describes the extraordinary art created in the second millennium BC for royal palaces, temples, and tombs from Mesopotamia, Syria, and Anatolia to Cyprus, Egypt, and the Aegean. This book discusses the history of the period and the artistic creativity fostered by interaction among the powers of the ancient Near East, both great and small.
A sweeping survey of objects from one of the richest artistic periods in history This comprehensive book explores the spectacular art of the first millennium B.C. from the Near East to Western Europe. This was the world of Odysseus, in which trade proliferated with Phoenician merchants; of King Midas, whose tomb was adorned with treasures; and of the Bible, whose stories are illuminated by recent artistic and archeological discoveries. It was also a time of rich cultural exchange across the Mediterranean and Near East as diverse populations interacted through trade, travel, and migration. Assyria to Iberia showcases masterpieces that reflect the cultural encounters of this era. Stunning details convey the beauty and significance of more than 300 objects drawn from collections around the globe. Texts by over 80 international scholars provide a compelling picture of this fascinating period, one that is essential to understanding the origins of Western culture and art.
Published in connection with an exhibition of the same name held at the Hallie Ford Museum of Art, Willamette University, August 31-December 22, 2013. Encompassing the geographic regions of Mesopotamia, Syria and the Levant, and Anatolia and Iran, this book explores several themes found in the art of the ancient Near East: gods and goddesses, men and women, and both real and supernatural animals.
This illustrated work highlights one of the most important and creative periods in the history of art: a time marked by the appearance of the city states of the Sumerians, the citadel of Troy, the splendid royal tombs at Ur, and the monumental cities at Mohenjodaro and Harappa. The catalogue for an exhibition held at The Metropolitan Museum of Art from May 8 to August 17, 2003.
Published in connection with a traveling exhibition held at the Toledo Museum of Art, Toledo, Ohio, and seven other institutions between Mar. 1, 2000 and Sept. 21, 2003.
CONTENTS: A historical overview of Egyptian art / Edna R. Russmann -Aspects of Egyptian art / Edna R. Russman ; Two dimensional representation ; Portraiture ; Archaism -The formation and growth of the Egyptian collections of the British Museum / T.G.H. James -Catalogue. Early Dynastic period (cat. nos. 1-3) ; Old Kingdom (cat. nos. 4-11) ; Middle Kingdom (cat. nos. 12-42) ; New Kingdom (cat. nos. 43-98) ; New Kingdom to Ptolemaic period (cat. nos. 99-105) ; New Kingdom to Roman period (cat. nos. 106-11) ; Third intermediate period (cat. nos. 112-22) ; Third intermediate period to Late period (cat. nos. 123-28) ; Late period (cat. nos. 129-37) ; Ptolemaic period (cat. nos. 138-44).
Catalogue of an exhibition to be held at the Galeries nationales du Grand Palais, Paris, Apr. 6-July 12, 1999, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Sept. 16, 1999-Jan. 9, 2000, and the Royal Ontario Museum, Toronto, Feb. 13-May 22, 2000.
ADDED COPY published in conjunction with the Met exhibit: Oversize N5350 .A75 1999
Published in conjunction with the exhibition organized by the Cincinnati Art Museum, Cincinnati, Ohio, October 20, 1996 through January 5, 1997, and also appearing at The Brooklyn Museum (February 21 through May 18, 1997)"
Masterpieces of Egyptian art dating from 3000 to 300 B.C. have been brought together from great American museum and private collections to illuminate the role of women in ancient Egyptian society.
Catalog of an exhibition held at Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, Nov. 14, 1999-Feb. 6, 2000 and other venues.
In this volume the fascinating Amarna Period of ancient Egypt comes to life through more than 250 beautiful works of sculpture, architectural elements, ceramic ware, jewelry, clothing, tools, and furniture from renowned international collections. Essays by leading Egyptian scholars describe this time of unprecedented change in Egyptian art and architecture, technology, the role of women, and religion, specifically the transition from polytheism to monotheism
"Published on the occasion of the exhibition Treasures of Tutankhamun at the National Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C., Field Museum of Natural History and the Oriental Institute of the University of Chicago, New Orleans Museum of Art, Los Angeles County Museum of Art, Seattle Art Museum, and the Metropolitan Museum of Art, 1976-1979."
The British Museum has the largest and finest collection of antiquities from Egypt and the Sudan outside of those countries. This beautiful volume displays 200 of the most important and famous objects, including the Rosetta Stone, as well as a selection of lesser-known but equally significant pieces. Together, these works offer an overview of the whole of ancient Egyptian art. Each object is illustrated with a full-page color photograph, many of which were taken especially for this publication. The accompanying text unfolds the story and features of each object.
"The Old Kingdom (about 2650 2150 B.C.E.) was the first golden age of Egyptian culture, a period that determined the form and character of Egyptian art for centuries to come." "This volume, published to accompany a landmark exhibition organized by The Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York, the Reunion des Musees Nationaux in Paris, and the Royal Ontario Museum in Toronto, brings together 115 Old Kingdom masterworks from museum collections throughout the world. The text by Dorothea Arnold offers an overview of the history society, and art of the Old Kingdom and an informative discussion of each of the illustrated works. All of the pieces were newly photographed for the book by Bruce White."--BOOK JACKET.
Suggested Subject Searches
In addition to keyword and subject searches using Ancient Egyptian art or Ancient Near Eastern Art, try these:
From village to town : before 3000 BC --
Temple, cemetery, and palace : the 3rd millennium BC --
Trade and diplomacy : the 2nd millennium BC --
Great empires : the 1st millennium BC --
Parthians and Sasanians beyond the Euphrates : c. 238 BC-AD 651 --
Survival and revival --
General chronology --
Mesopotamian chronology / by C.B.F. Walker.
Covers topics such as: palatial and temple architecture, royal sculpture, gender in the ancient Near East, and interdisciplinary studies that range from fourth millennium BCE to modern ethnography and cover Sumer, Assyria, Babylonia, Iran, Syria, Urartu, and the Levant.
Using examples of ancient Near Eastern writing and masterpieces of art, the author shows that between 3500 and 3000 BC the conventions of writing spread to the making of art, resulting in artworks that presented complex visual narratives in place of the repetitive motifs found on preliterate art objects.
Art and international relations during the Late Bronze Age formed a symbiosis as expanded travel and written communications fostered unprecedented cultural exchange across the Mediterranean. Diplomacy in these new political and imperial relationships was often maintained through the exchange of lavish art objects and luxury goods.
The geography of the Middle East and its history down to 500 A.D. --
Elam before the coming of the Indo-Europeans --
Sumer: From the beginnings of art to the end of the early Dynastic period --
Sumer and Akkad; The Sargonid age and the third dynasty of Ur to the time of Hammurabi --
Syria and Palestine: From the earliest times until the conquest of Alexander --
The Hurri and the Hittites --
Anatolia, 1200-330 B.C. --
Assyria and Neo-Babylonia --
Graeco-Roman art in the Middle East.
Concentrates on the visual, material, and built aspects of the Ancient Near East from the fourth millennium BCE to the Hellenistic period. Presenting innovative theoretical approaches to Ancient Near Eastern art history, this volume will be of value to scholars of the Ancient Near East, as well as to those interested in contemporary art historical and anthropological approaches to visual culture.
This volume of collected essays brings together for the first time the range of Winter's pioneering studies related to Neo-Assyrian relief sculpture and seals, Phoenician and Syrian ivory and bronze production, and inter-polity connections across the various cultures of first millennium B.C.E. from the Aegean to Iran.
"Pelican History of Art"
In this book, Ancient Egyptian monuments, their decorations, and other works of art are reproduced. The tombs at Thebes, the temples of Luxor and Karnak, and the palaces of Akhenaten and Amenhotep II are shown. Also presented are portraits depicting kings and queens and their civil servants.
Of the ancient art that has survived from the non-Classical world, that of Egypt makes a unique appeal. In this authoritative and splendidly illustrated guide Cyril Aldred surveys nearly 3000 years of Egyptian art and architecture, concentrating on the fine arts of painting and sculpture.
This collection of the late Bernard V. Bothmer's writings represents some of the most significant scholarship on Egyptian art by a pioneer in the field. Bothmer's writings are complemented by more than 450 photographs, many from his Corpus of Late Egyptian Sculpture, the fruits of his research in museums, private collections, and art dealer's galleries around the world. Bothmer selected these photographs to illuminate his object-based methodology and to introduce scholars and the public to new fields of art historical inquiry.
This tour of Egyptian art by one of its early explorers is one of the most beautiful modern works on ancient Egyptian art. Prisse d Avennes s monumental work, first published in Paris over a ten-year period between 1868 and 1878, includes the only surviving record of many lost artifacts.
1. Through Egyptian Eyes: The Symbolism of Form --
2. Measure and Meaning: The Symbolism of Size --
3. Position and Placement: The Symbolism of Location --
4. Significance in Substance: The Symbolism of Materials --
5. The Appearance of the World: The Symbolism of Color --
6. Meaning in Many: The Symbolism of Numbers --
7. Words as Magic, Words as Art: The Symbolism of Hieroglyphs --
8. Significant Activity: The Symbolism of Actions --
9. Language of the Body: The Symbolism of Gestures.
From the awesome grandeur of the Great Pyramids to the delicacy of a face etched on an amulet, the spellbinding power of ancient Egyptian art persists to this day. Spanning three thousand years, this beautifully illustrated history offers a thorough and delightfully readable introduction to the artwork even as it provides insight into questions that have long engaged experts and amateurs alike. In its scope, its detail, and its eloquent reproduction of over 250 objects, Gay Robins's classic book is without parallel as a guide to the art of ancient Egypt. And her eagerly awaited new edition includes many new color photographs and a fully revised and updated bibliography.
Here is a thorough, easy-to-use guide to the vast and stunning collection of art and antiquities found in Egypt's archaeological paradise, the Valley of the Kings. The Tomb of Tutankhamun and its contents are featured prominently, as are the temples of Luxor and Karnak, the dromos, the Luxor Museum, the Chapel of Achoris, the Valley of Asasif, the Ramesseum, the Valley of the Queens, and the Colossi of Memnon. Dendera, Esna, Abydos Edfu, and Korn Ombo-all peripheral locations to the major sites-are included because their state of preservation makes them especially interesting