Guides: ARTH 422 Ancient Near Eastern and Egyptian Art: Home

Overview of Era

A Companion to Ancient near Eastern Art by Ann C. Gunter (Editor)
ISBN: 9781118336779
Publication Date: 2018-09-08
Provides a broad view of the history and current state of scholarship on the art of the ancient Near East This book covers the aesthetic traditions of Mesopotamia, Iran, Anatolia, and the Levant, from Neolithic times to the end of the Achaemenid Persian Empire around 330 BCE.
A Companion to the Ancient near East by Daniel C. Snell (Editor)
Call Number: Available in the Wiley Online Library
ISBN: 1405160012
Publication Date: 2007-09-04
A Companion to the Ancient Near East offers students and general readers a comprehensive overview of Near Eastern civilization from the Bronze Age to the conquests of Alexander the Great. Covers the civilizations of the Sumerians, Hittites, Babylonians, Assyrians, Israelites and Persians
A Companion to the Archaeology of the Ancient near East by D. T. Potts (Editor)
Call Number: Available in the Wiley Online Library
ISBN: 9781405189880
Publication Date: 2012-05-21
A comprehensive and authoritative overview of ancient material culture from the late Pleistocene to Late Antiquity
Critical Approaches to Ancient Near Eastern Art by Brian A. Brown; Marian H. Feldman
ISBN: 9781614510291
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Concentrates on the visual, material, and built aspects of the Ancient Near East from the fourth millennium BCE to the Hellenistic period. Presents innovative theoretical approaches to Ancient Near Eastern art history
A Companion to Ancient Egyptian Art by Melinda K. Hartwig
ISBN: 9781444333503
Publication Date: 2014-11-17
Presents a comprehensive collection of original essays exploring key concepts, critical discourses, and theories that shape the discipline of ancient Egyptian art. Features contributions from top scholars in their respective fields of expertise relating to ancient Egyptian art. Explores themes and topics such as methodological approaches, transmission of Egyptian art and its connections with other cultures, ancient reception, technology and interpretation,
A Companion to Ancient Egypt by Alan B. Lloyd (Editor)
Call Number: Available in the Wiley Online Library
ISBN: 9781405155984
Publication Date: 2010-05-10
This companion provides the latest accounts of the major and current aspects of Egyptology by leading scholars. Covers a broad scope of topics including physical context, history, economic and social mechanisms, language, literature, and the visual arts

Getting Started

For background information, start with an exhaustive reference work such as Grove Art Online. Click on Help for an online tour.

Bibliographies located in books or at the end of journal articles can be very helpful. To learn if Pepperdine has access to a particular journal, search for the name of the journal in the library catalog, or use the 'Find E-journals" search feature on the Library's Web site (Look for the Databases & Ejournals icon and then use the "Find E-journals" tab - print journals found in the library are included)

Specialized Online Encyclopedias

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt
Contains 600 entries covering the prehistoric, predynastic, and dynastic phases of ancient Egypt within the context of its contiguous and sometimes conquering neighbors, tracing its history through the Islamic conquest of 642 CE, with the focus on dynastic Egypt.

Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts
Entries covering thousands of years of decorative arts production throughout western and non-western cultures including the qualities and historical uses of materials and definitions on art forms and styles.
Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques
Historical and current uses of materials and techniques in a wide range of areas from painting and sculpture to non-traditional media such as digital and video art.
Coverage includes materials in art practice (e.g. ink, enamel, digital materials); materials in conservation (e.g. adhesives); classes of artifacts (e.g. wallpaper, mosaic, ceramic); techniques and methods (e.g. book binding, gilding, printing, weaving), terms (e.g. rustication), tools (e.g. easel, laser), theory (e.g. technical examination, conservation controversies), fakes & forgeries, and conservation theorists and practitioners.

Museums' Digitized Book Collections

MetPublications
Five decades of Met (Metropolitan Museum of Art) publications on art history, available to read, download, and/or search for free.

Getty Publications Virtual Library This link opens in a new window Titles published by the J. Paul Getty Museum, the Getty Conservation Institute, and the Getty Research Institute, including collection catalogues that highlight the Getty collections.

Watch Streaming Videos

Academic Video Online
Streaming video titles spanning subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

Examples of streaming videos of interest:

Inside the Middle East. The Grand Egyptian Museum

Decoding the Great Pyramid

ARTstor Images for Your Presentation/Paper

Door lintel with lion-griffins and vase with lotus leaf, Mesopotamia, Hatra, A.D. 2nd-3rd century, The Metropolitan Museum of Art, Purchase, Joseph Pulitzer Bequest, 1932 (32.145a, b) Image © The Metropolitan Museum of Art

The best place to find images for your presentation or paper is the database, ARTstor. Log on to ARTstor, create a personal account and create an image group. Then view information on how to Export to Power Point. To use an image in your paper, you will first need to download it to your computer.

You can search ARTstor by the name of an art work, by geography, by classification (for example, architecture), or by collection (for example, Egyptian and other Ancient Art (Arielle Kozloff Brodkey)). Use the Advanced Search to limit by date.

Helpful videos on using ARTstor can be found on YouTube

Many ARTstor images can be found on JSTOR along with journal articles and book chapters.

ARTH 422 Ancient Near Eastern and Egyptian Art

Welcome

Librarian