Guides: GSHU 199 FYS History of Baseball (Hunnicutt): Finding Articles &amp; Keyword Searching

Secondary sources-articles

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Access to scholarly journals, dissertations and book and media reviews about U.S. and Canadian history and culture. Coverage for some titles back to the 19th and early 20th centuries.

Example: I want articles about Native Americans and baseball.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic and full text coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of interdisciplinary journals and books, covering the Arts, Business & Economics, History, Humanities, Law, Science & Mathematics, Social Sciences, and Religion.

Los Angeles Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Every issue from 1881-1990 with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.
Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window
Indexing includes full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature™.
Los Angeles Sentinel (ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text of the Los Angeles Sentinel newspaper from 1934 to 2010.
New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new window
**Access requires logging in with a Pepperdine email on the NY Times homepage. Find step-by-step log-in instructions on the access guide to log in. **
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Access to selected newspaper pages from 1836 to 1922. Use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information on newspapers published between 1690-present.
Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).