Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can find various versions of the Bible in print in the BS125 - BS198 sections in both the general circulating collection as well as in the reference collection in Payson Library.
The New Oxford Annotated Bible with the Apocrypha (New Revised Standard Version) by
Call Number: Reference BS191.5.A1 2007 .O94
Publication Date: 2007-02-02
Countless students, professors and general readers alike have relied upon The New Oxford Annotated Bible for essential scholarship and guidance to the world of the Bible. Now the Augmented Third Edition adds to the established reputation of this premier academic resource. A wealth of new maps, charts, and diagrams further clarify information found in the scripture pages. In addition, section introductions have been expanded and the book introductions have been made more uniform in order to enhance their utility. Of course, the Augmented Third Edition retains the features prized by students, including single column annotations at the foot of the pages, in-text background essays, charts, and maps, a page number-keyed index of all the study materials in the volume, and Oxford's renowned Bible maps.
King James Bible by
Call Number: Oversize BS185 1611 O9 2010
Publication Date: 2010-10-26
The text of the 1611 edition differs from modern editions of the King James Version in thousands of details, and this edition is the most authentic version of the original text that has ever been published. It follows the 1611 text page-for-page and line-for-line, reproducing all misprints rather than correcting them. The volume also reprints the large body of preliminary matter, which includes genealogies, maps, and lists of readings, as well as the translator's preface to the reader. The text features an easy-to-read modern font instead of the black-letter type of the original, with the exception of the original decorative letters and early page ornaments, which have been reproduced. The volume concludes with an essay by Renaissance Studies expert, Gordon Campbell, on the first edition of the King James Bible.
Bible in English This link opens in a new window
This database contains 20 different versions of the English Bible, including 12 full Bibles, five New Testament texts, two versions of the Gospels only, and William Tyndale's translations of the Pentateuch, Jonah, and the New Testament.
The Bible Gateway is a tool for reading and researching scripture online, in the language or translation of your choice. It provides advanced searching capabilities, which allow readers to find and compare particular passages in scripture based on keywords, phrases, or scripture reference. It offers versions such as the ESV, HCSB, NIV, and many other translations in various languages, but not the NRSV.
Oremus Bible Browser
This online Bible offers the NRSV in both American and Anglicized (British) editions. It also provides access to the books included in a Catholic Old Testament that are not in a Protestant Old Testament.
This online Bible offers the ESV, HCSB, NIV, and other versions in multiple languages, but not the NRSV. YouVersion also allows registered users to add notes and comments.
Oxford Biblical Studies Online
In addition to valuable references sources, Oxford Biblical Studies Online includes the texts of several versions of the Bible, including the Oxford Annotated Bible and the New Revised Standard Version.
Offline Digital Bibles
Accordance Software is on Macs on the first floor of Payson Library. Accordance equips you with original language tools, interactive 3D maps, a dynamic interlinear, drag-and-drop graphical searching, and a host of other tools.