It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Religion: Primary Sources
This guide provides access to recommended research resources for religion
A primary source is "first-hand" information, sources as close as
possible to the origin of the information or idea under study. Primary
sources are contrasted with secondary sources, works that provide
analysis, commentary, or criticism on the primary source. In literary
studies, primary sources are often creative works, including poems,
stories, novels, and so on. In historical studies, primary sources
include written works, recordings, or other source of information from
people who were participants or direct witnesses to the events in
question. Examples of commonly used primary sources include government
documents, memoirs, personal correspondence, oral histories, and
contemporary newspaper accounts.
Primary Sources at Pepperdine
Special Collections and University Archives at Pepperdine includes many primary sources relevant to religion research. Examples include 19th-century religious periodicals and books, early printed Bibles from as early as 1560, a facsimile of the Codex Sinaiticus, and correspondence and documents from notable individuals associated with Pepperdine University and the Churches of Christ.
To use these resources, see the Special Collections and University Archives website, or contact Melissa Nykanen at email@example.com or at (310) 506-4434.
An image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research. Presently viewable on the DS website are records for 5,300 manuscripts and for 24,300 images.
The Digital Scriptorium is a growing image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research.
As a visual catalog, DS allows scholars to verify with their own eyes cataloguing information about places and dates of origin, scripts, artists, and quality. Special emphasis is placed on the touchstone materials: manuscripts signed and dated by their scribes. DS records manuscripts that traditionally would have been unlikely candidates for reproduction. It fosters public viewing of materials otherwise available only within libraries. Because it is web-based, it encourages interaction between the knowledge of scholars and the holdings of libraries to build a reciprocal flow of information. Digital Scriptorium looks to the needs of a very diverse community of medievalists, classicists, musicologists, paleographers, diplomatists and art historians. At the same time Digital Scriptorium recognizes the limited resources of libraries; it bridges the gap between needs and resources by means of extensive rather than intensive cataloguing, often based on legacy data, and sample imaging.
Digital Scriptorium institutional partners have instituted a governance structure to plan jointly for the future of the program, in terms of scope, sustainability, and content.
Presently viewable on the DS website are records for 5,300 manuscripts and for 24,300 images.
Tiles on the Digital Scriptorium homepage and throughout the site are from Berkeley, University of California, Bancroft Library, UCB 059.
Access to page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Primary sources such as prayer books, pamphlets, proclamations, almanacs. Includes first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the turmoil of the English Civil War. Featured authors: Malory, Bacon, More, Erasmus, Boyle, Newton, Galileo; musical exercises by Henry Purcell.
It contains over 100,000 of the 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgraves's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661). The Text Creation Partnership (TCP), is in the process of creating SGML coding for the full text of 25,000 EEBO works, so users can search the full ASCII text of the documents and view both the text and the correspondin original page images.
Documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534-1850. The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women. The project brings coherence to a wide range of published and unpublished accounts, including narratives, diaries, journals, and letters.
Access to personal narratives such as letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories, including several thousand indexed and searchable pages of Ellis Island Oral History interviews. Collection starts around 1840 and extend to the present, focusing heavily on the period from 1920 to 1980. Includes more recent waves of immigrants from Latin America and Asia. Provides perspectives both on North America and on the immigrants' countries of origin.