Guides: COM 313 Introduction to Intercultural Communication (Njathi): Information on World Religions

Sources for Information on World Religions

Encyclopedia of Religion (2nd edition)
Access to cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
This two-volume set on Islam is aimed at the general reader. More than 500 articles, 200-5,000 words in length, describe the Islamic world from its known beginnings to the present day.

New Catholic Encyclopedia (2d ed 2003)
Entries on persons and subjects related to Catholicism and the humanities, includes biographies of contemporary religious figures, photos, maps, and illustrations.

Encyclopedia of Buddhism
This encyclopedia describes the Buddhist world view, basic teachings and practices of Buddhism, as well as its different schools and sects. In addition to containing entries on Buddhist scriptures, art, architecture, divinities, monastic orders, festivals, rites and ceremonies, this 2-vol. set explores the history of Buddhism, the different forms it has taken in different parts of the world, and how Buddhism has blended with other religions.
Encyclopedia of Religious Practices
The Encyclopedia of Religious Practices provides information on current religious practices around the world with an emphasis on how religions impact the daily lives of their followers.
Contemporary American Religion
Explores contemporary American religion in all its diversity. In addition to profiling religious groups, from the modern forms of Catholicism and Judaism to cults such as Heaven's Gate and the Branch Davidians, the set includes articles on cultural, social, and legal issues, as well as holidays and celebrations, the arts, and other topics.
Melton's Encyclopedia of American Religions
Comprehensive coverage of more than 2,300 North American religious groups in the U.S. and Canada -- from Adventists to Zen Buddhists.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Access to encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Oxford Reference Online
Access to reference works such as Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture, Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages, and The Oxford Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology.
Encyclopaedia Judaica (2d ed. 2007)
Overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel.