Guides: Political Science: Legislation & Policy

Government Sources

ProQuest Congressional
Congressional materials from 1789 to now.
GPO — Federal Digital System
[Formerly GPO Access] A service of the U.S. Government Printing Office providing free electronic access to the information products produced by the Federal Government.
Digital National Security Archive
Documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945, compiled by top scholars and experts.

Europa
Official EU portal, giving access to institutions, policies, laws, statistics and official publications.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Features news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. For help on how to use Nexis Uni, visit the research guide.This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Access to online research on legal history. Visit HeinOnline LibGuides for tips on searching this database.

United Nations Treaty Collection
Full-text as well as status of treaties filed with the U.N. Secretary-General.
International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) Customary International Humanitarian Law Database
Rules, treaties and analysis regarding international humanitarian law.

US Senate: Treaties
Online access to treaty Documents which have been presented to and voted on by the US Senate
Library of Congress Collection: United States Treaties and Other International Agreements
The United States Treaties collection includes the United States Treaty Series (1795-1945) and United States Treaties and Other International Agreements or TIAS (1950-1984). This collection includes treaties to which the United States is or was a party in the agreement.
Avalon Project - Yale Law School
Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy. Organized by time period, as well as by major collections (e.g., US Treaties, International Agreements and Diplomatic Documents, etc.)

NBER Working Papers This link opens in a new window
Pre-print (not yet peer-reviewed) research from the National Bureau of Economic Research, a private non-profit engaged in quantitative analysis of the American economy.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new window
Materials related to international affairs, starting from 1991, including working papers from universities and NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) This link opens in a new window
Specialized research networks in the social sciences, covering accounting, economics, financial economics, legal scholarship, marketing and management.

Congressional Research Service
CRS serves as nonpartisan shared staff to congressional committees and Members of Congress. It operates solely at the behest of and under the direction of Congress.
CFR Education
Free educational resources covering current topics in international politics created and maintained by the Council of Foreign Relations.
The World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.