REL 300 Christianity and Culture

A primary source is "first-hand" information, sources as close as possible to the origin of the information or idea under study. Primary sources are contrasted with secondary sources, works that provide analysis, commentary, or criticism on the primary source. In literary studies, primary sources are often creative works, including poems, stories, novels, and so on. In historical studies, primary sources include written works, recordings, or other source of information from people who were participants or direct witnesses to the events in question. Examples of commonly used primary sources include government documents, memoirs, personal correspondence, oral histories, and contemporary newspaper accounts.

Find databases containing Primary Sources for research in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Arts.

• Databases with Primary Sources for the Humanities
• Databases with Primary Sources for the Social Sciences
• Databases with Primary Sources for the Music and Theater
• Databases with Historical Newspapers

Pepperdine Libraries Special Collections and University Archives exists to collect, organize, preserve, and make available materials with enduring historic value that are used by students, faculty, staff, scholars, and the public, for purposes of research, teaching, administrative activities, and enjoyment of cultural heritage.

The department consists of rare book collections, the University Archives, the Malibu Historical Collection, the Churches of Christ Heritage Collection, film and television archives, and other book and archival collections. Materials in these collections are available for use by any interested users.

Special Collections staff is happy to consult with any student looking for primary source materials to enhance their research. Our staff is highly knowledgeable about our collections and can help guide you to the resources that you need.  

Special Collections is on the second floor of Payson Library, and while we welcome walk-in consultations, students wishing to conduct research with our materials should email staff ahead of time to assure that the materials that they are interested in are onsite and available. Special Collections is generally open Monday-Friday from 8:30am to 4:30pm. 

For general Special Collections questions or University Archives questions, please contact Librarian for Librarian for Description, Documentation, and Discovery Bailey Badger (bailey.badger@pepperdine.edu). For questions regarding the Churches of Christ Heritage Center, contact Lucy Perrin (lucy.perrin@pepperdine.edu). For questions regarding the Malibu Historical Collection, please contact Anastasia Armendariz (anastasia.armendariz@pepperdine.edu).