Guides: REL 300 Christianity and Culture: Finding Reference Information & Online Bibles

Online Bibles

Oxford Biblical Studies Online
In addition to valuable references sources, Oxford Biblical Studies Online includes the texts of several versions of the Bible, including the Oxford Annotated Bible and the New Revised Standard Version.
Oremus Bible Browser
This online Bible offers the NRSV in both American and Anglicized (British) editions. It also provides access to the books included in a Catholic Old Testament that are not in a Protestant Old Testament.
Bible Gateway
The Bible Gateway is a tool for reading and researching scripture online, in the language or translation of your choice. It provides advanced searching capabilities, which allow readers to find and compare particular passages in scripture based on keywords, phrases, or scripture reference. It offers versions such as the ESV, HCSB, NIV, and many other translations in various languages, but not the NRSV.
YouVersion
This online Bible offers the ESV, HCSB, NIV, and other versions in multiple languages, but not the NRSV. YouVersion also allows registered users to add notes and comments.

Bible in English This link opens in a new window
Twenty different versions of the English Bible, including 12 full Bibles, five New Testament texts, two versions of the Gospels only, and William Tyndale's translations of the Pentateuch, Jonah, and the New Testament.

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Access to encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Cambridge Companions
Cambridge Companions are a series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods.

Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Access to reference works such as Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture, Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages, and The Oxford Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology.

Anchor Bible Dictionary Online
The Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary is a six-volume state-of-the-art dictionary of the Bible offering the most up-to-date and comprehensive treatment of biblical subjects and topics. Endpaper maps of the Near Eastern world keyed to text for quick location of archaeological and biblical sites.

Encyclopedia of Religion (2nd edition) This link opens in a new window
Access to cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.
Encyclopaedia Judaica (2d ed. 2007) This link opens in a new window
Overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel.
Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception (EBR) This link opens in a new window
Entries on the Bible and its origins, development, and influence.
Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Biographical information on more than 528,000 people throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
New Catholic Encyclopedia (2d ed 2003) This link opens in a new window
Entries on persons and subjects related to Catholicism and the humanities, includes biographies of contemporary religious figures, photos, maps, and illustrations.
Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception (EBR) This link opens in a new window
Entries on the Bible and its origins, development, and influence.