Guides: ENPR 497 (Postlethwaite): Industry Research

American Customer Satisfaction Index

American Customer Satisfaction Index

Consumer satisfaction ratings for the fast food industry including McDonald's

Business Source Complete (Porter's Five Forces)

Business Source Complete
Articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics, including SWOT analyses and articles from Harvard Business Review.

Example: I want an industry report with a Porter's Five Forces that is relevant to McDonald's

Type mcdonald's into the first box and select TX All Text with the pulldown menu
Type marketline into the second box
Type united states into the third box
Click Search
Select the report titled, "MarketLine Industry Profile: Foodservice in United States" (2022)

IBISWorld

IBISWorld
Market and industry research reports with key statistics, industry conditions, market share, industry performance, market drivers, key success factors, and revenue forecasts for each US industry. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.

This is a great resource for industry analysis and statistics.

Example: I want industry reports relevant to McDonald's

Type fast food and select the report Fast Food Restaurants in the US. A more specific report is Burger Restaurants in the US
IBISWorld reports contain Porter's Five Forces data

Insider Intelligence (formerly eMarketer)

Insider Intelligence (formerly eMarketer)
Includes daily market and media research articles, analyst reports, and a database of e-business and online marketing statistics.

Information on apps, efforts at AI and competition is available.

Mintel

Mintel
Market research and industry reports with market share, consumer profiles, forecasting, driving forces, and distribution methods. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.

An excellent source for detailed market research reports on consumer goods and services. These reports will provide market size, forecasts, market share

Example: I want market research reports relevant to McDonald's.

Type quick service and select "Quick Service Restaurants - US - 2023." Another possible report is "Sandwiches and Burgers - US - 2023".

Passport

Passport (formerly Global Market Information Database)
Market research reports on countries, consumers and industries from Euromonitor International. Historic data from 1997 plus up-to-date forecast models including industry reports and market share data. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.

Example: I want an in-depth industry report relevant to McDonald's that includes market share

Type limited service us into the box and select the report titled, "Limited-Service Restaurants in the US"

S&P Net Advantage

S & P NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage)
Access to research products including Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Mutual Fund Reports, Bond Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives.

Example: I want an industry overview relevant to McDonald's.

Type mcdonald's into the search box and select McDonald's Corporation (NYSE:MCD)
On the left-hand side of the screen, click the link for "Industry Surveys"
Click the pdf icon for the latest report on "Restaurants"
These reports will contain Porter's Five Forces analyses (brief ones)

Statista

Statista
Statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources, includes access to the Global Consumer Survey .

Example: I want a statistical report on McDonald's

Select Reports at the top of the screen and then choose Companies & Products reports
Select the report for McDonald's

Example: I want industry level statistics for the fast food industry.

Type fast food into the box and click search
On the right-hand side, click the link for "Filter": Select Reports for Content Types and United States for Location
Reports like "Fast food restaurants in the U.S. - statistics & facts," "Eating Out Behavior in the U.S.," and "Quick Service Restaurants in the U.S." will be helpful