Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
InfoGuides | Pepperdine Libraries

American Literature in Special Collections: Works Cited

An overview highlighting 19th, 20th, and 21st American literature and poetry held in Pepperdine's Special Collections. Compilation includes first editions and copies with inscriptions from writers.

Works Cited

Works Cited
Supplementary Information on Texts & Authors

"19th Century American Literature.” Washington University in St. Louis Arts & Sciences | Department of English, english.wustl.edu/19th-century-american-literature. Accessed 25 July 2020.

"A Book for Anne Bradstreet. Margery S. Hellman .” The Veatchs, www.veatchs.com/pages/books/16993/margery-s-hellman/a-book-for-anne-bradstreet. Accessed 20 June 2020.

"A Brief Account of the Rise and Progress of the People Called Quakers in Which Their Fundamental Principle, Doctrines, Worship, Ministry and Discipline Are Plainly Declared to Prevent the Mistakes and Perversions That Ignorance and Prejudice May Make to Abuse the Credulous : With a Summary Relation of the Former Dispensations of God in the World by Way of Introduction / by W. Penn.” Early English Books Text Creation Partnership, quod.lib.umich.edu/e/eebo/A54107.0001.001/1:3?rgn=div1;view=fulltext. Accessed 15 July 2020.

"A Pleasure to Burn: Fahrenheit 451 Stories by Ray Bradbury.” Goodreads, www.goodreads.com/book/show/11309025-a-pleasure-to-burn. Accessed 23 June 2020.

"A Pleasure to Burn: Fahrenheit 451 Stories by Ray Bradbury.” HarperCollins Publishers, www.harpercollins.com/9780062071026/a-pleasure-to-burn. Accessed 23 June 2020.

"A Short History of the Early American Novel.” ER Services | Lumen Learning, courses.lumenlearning.com/suny-americanlit1/chapter/reading-a-short-history-of-the-early-american-novel. Accessed 25 July 2020.

"A Tramp Abroad by Mark Twain.” Penguin Random House, www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/181265/a-tramp-abroad-by-mark-twain. Accessed 6 July 2020.

"A Visit from St. Nicholas by Clement Clarke Moore.” Poetry Foundation, www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/43171/a-visit-from-st-nicholas. Accessed 25 June 2020.

"Anne Bradstreet 1612-1672.” Poets.Org, poets.org/poet/anne-bradstreet. Accessed 20 June 2020.

"Ariel.” Poets.Org, poets.org/book/ariel. Accessed 22 June 2020.

Bailey, Susan. “Complete List of Stories from the Aunt Jo’s Scrap-Bag Series.” Louisa May Alcott Is My Passion, 18 Jan. 2012, louisamayalcottismypassion.com/2012/01/18/complete-list-of-stories-from-the-aunt-jos-scrap-bag-series.

Behrens, Katie. “A Recent History of Children’s Literature in America.” Books Tell You Why, 15 Mar. 2015, blog.bookstellyouwhy.com/a-recent-history-of-childrens-literature-in-america.

Billman, Carol. “Nathaniel Hawthorne: ‘Revolutionizer’ of Children’s Literature.” Studies in American Fiction, vol. 10, no. 1, 1982, pp. 107–114. EBSCOhost, doi:10.1353/saf.1982.0002.

"Biographical Information about Ernest Thompson Seton.” ET Seton Institute, etsetoninstitute.org/biography. Accessed 18 July 2020.

"Biography.” National Steinbeck Center, www.steinbeck.org/about-john/biography. Accessed 29 July 2020.

"Biography: F. Scott Fitzgerald 1896-1940.” F. Scott Fitzgerald Society, fscottfitzgeraldsociety.org/about-us-2/biography. Accessed 22 June 2020.

"Biography of James Fenimore Cooper (1789-1851).” Virginia.Edu, xroads.virginia.edu/%7Eug02/COOPER/cooperbiography.html. Accessed 6 July 2020.

Bowen, Edwin W. “Washington Irving's Place in American Literature.” The Sewanee Review, vol. 14, no. 2, 1906, pp. 171–183. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/27530762. Accessed 7 July 2020.

"Brief Biography of Pearl S. Buck.” University of Pennsylvania Department of English, www.english.upenn.edu/Projects/Buck/biography.html. Accessed 18 July 2020.

"Brief Biography of William Penn.” USHistory.Org, www.ushistory.org/penn/bio.htm. Accessed 15 July 2020.

"Clement C. Moore .” Penguin Random House, www.penguinrandomhouse.com/authors/21107/clement-c-moore. Accessed 25 June 2020.

"Clement Clarke Moore 1779-1863.” Poetry Foundation, www.poetryfoundation.org/poets/clement-clarke-moore. Accessed 25 June 2020.

Coodin, David. "Characteristics of 20th Century Literature" Pen and the Pad, https://penandthepad.com/characteristics-20th-century-literature-8221336.html. 25 July 2020.

"Countee Cullen 1903-1946.” Poetry Foundation, www.poetryfoundation.org/poets/countee-cullen. Accessed 23 June 2020.

Crossman, C. Hollis. “Elsie Dinsmore.” Exodus Books, www.exodusbooks.com/elsie-dinsmore/7457. Accessed 16 July 2020.

Edward, Whitley. “Introduction to the 1886 Edition.” Whitman Archive, whitmanarchive.org/archive1/works/leaves/english/britishleaves/1886/intro.html. Accessed 22 June 2020.

"Eight Cousins (Eight Cousins, #1) by Louisa May Alcott.” Goodreads, www.goodreads.com/book/show/14570.Eight_Cousins. Accessed 26 June 2020.

"Elsie Dinsmore (Book #1 in the Elsie Dinsmore Series) by Martha Finley.” ThriftBooks, www.thriftbooks.com/w/elsie-dinsmore_martha-finley/541253/#isbn=1598564005&idiq=6589911. Accessed 16 July 2020.

Erlich, Gloria. “Dr Grimshawe’s Secret: A Critical Analysis by Gloria Erlich.” Grimshaw Origins and History, Aug. 2004, grimshaworigin.org/miscellaneous-grimshaw-individuals/dr-grimshaws-secret-analysis. Accessed 6 July 2020.

"Ernest Hemingway.” University of Michigan, umich.edu/%7Eeng217/student_projects/nobel%20prize%20winners/hemingway.htm. Accessed 22 June 2020.

"Finley, Martha (1828–1909).” Encyclopedia.Com, 2020, www.encyclopedia.com/women/encyclopedias-almanacs-transcripts-and-maps/finley-martha-1828-1909.

"Five Little Peppers and How They Grew (Five Little Peppers #1) by Margaret Sidney.” Goodreads, www.goodreads.com/book/show/7911.Five_Little_Peppers_and_How_They_Grew. Accessed 13 July 2020.

"Five Little Peppers Book Series.” ThriftBooks, www.thriftbooks.com/series/five-little-peppers/48994. Accessed 13 July 2020.

Heinemann, Ronald L. “Robert Russa Moton (1867–1940).” Encyclopedia Virginia, 1 Mar. 2014, www.encyclopediavirginia.org/Moton_Robert_Russa_1867-1940.

Henry David Thoreau .” Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy, plato.stanford.edu/entries/thoreau. Accessed 22 June 2020.

"Herman Melville.” Poetry Foundation, www.poetryfoundation.org/poets/herman-melville. Accessed 29 June 2020.

Hover, D. L., and S. Hess. “An Exercise in Non-Ideal Authorship Attribution: The Mysterious Maria Ward.” Literary and Linguistic Computing, vol. 24, no. 4, 2009, pp. 467–89. Crossref, doi:10.1093/llc/fqp027.

"Horatio Alger.” Americanliterature.com, americanliterature.com/author/horatio-alger. Accessed 25 June 2020.

"Howells, William Dean. “The Innocents Abroad, or The New Pilgrim’s Progress.” The Atlantic, Dec. 1869, www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/1869/12/the-innocents-abroad-or-the-new-pilgrims-progress/306508.

Hughes, Langston. “My Adventures as a Social Poet.” Phylon (1940-1956), vol. 8, no. 3, 1947, pp. 205–12. Crossref, doi:10.2307/272335.

"Ida E. Lewis.” The HistoryMakers, www.thehistorymakers.org/biography/ida-e-lewis. Accessed 18 July 2020.

"Innocents Abroad; or, The New Pilgrim’s Progress.” Virginia.Edu, twain.lib.virginia.edu/innocent/iahompag.html. Accessed 30 June 2020.

Irvin, David. “Irving Bacheller (1859-1950) Novelist, Lecturer and Rollins Trustee.” Rollins College, lib.rollins.edu/olin/oldsite/archives/golden/ibacheller.htm. Accessed 16 July 2020.

"James Fenimore Cooper .” Famous Authors, www.famousauthors.org/james-fenimore-cooper. Accessed 6 July 2020.

"Kinfolk by Pearl S. Buck.” Goodreads, www.goodreads.com/book/show/40669824-kinfolk. Accessed 18 July 2020.

“Kinfolk (Oriental Novels of Pearl S. Buck) Paperback – January 1, 2004.” Amazon, www.amazon.com/Kinfolk-Oriental-Novels-Pearl-Buck/dp/1559211563. Accessed 20 July 2020.

Knight, Vanessa. "Characteristics of Colonial American Literature" Pen and the Pad, https://penandthepad.com/characteristics-colonial-american-literature-7866574.html. 25 July 2020.

"Langston Hughes 1902-1967.” Poets.Org, poets.org/poet/langston-hughes. Accessed 22 June 2020.

"Langston Hughes 1902-1967.” Poetry Foundation, www.poetryfoundation.org/poets/langston-hughes. Accessed 22 June 2020.

"Life: Harriet Beecher Stowe.” Harriet Beecher Stowe Center, www.harrietbeecherstowecenter.org/harriet-beecher-stowe/harriet-beecher-stowe-life. Accessed 6 July 2020.

"Little Women By Louisa May Alcott Introduction by Regina Barreca Afterword by Susan Straight.” Penguin Random House, www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/292496/little-women-by-louisa-may-alcott-with-an-introduction-by-regina-barreca-and-an-afterword-by-susan-straight. Accessed 18 July 2020.

"Lives of Mahomet And His Successors. [Volume I:] Life of Mahomet; [Volume II:] Lives of Mahomet And His Successors .” Phillip J. Pirages Fine Books and Medieval Manuscripts, www.pirages.com/pages/books/ST14729c/islam-washington-irving/lives-of-mahomet-and-his-successors-volume-i-life-of-mahomet-volume-ii-lives-of-mahomet-and-his. Accessed 23 June 2020.

"Louisa May Alcott.” Louisa May Alcott’ Orchard House, louisamayalcott.org/louisa-may-alcott. Accessed 27 June 2020.

"Margaret Sidney - Biography and Works.” The Literature Network, www.online-literature.com/margaret-sidney. Accessed 13 July 2020.

"Mark Twain: A Life Lived in a Rapidly Changing World: Samuel L. Clemens‚ 1835-1910.” The Mark Twain House & Museum, marktwainhouse.org/about/mark-twain/biography. Accessed 29 June 2020.

"Men without Women by Hemingway, Ernest, 1899-1961 .” Internet Archive, archive.org/details/menwithoutwomen0000hemi_o5j6/page/n5/mode/2up. Accessed 22 June 2020.

"Mildred’s New Daughter (Mildred Keith, Book 7) by Martha Finley.” Fantastic Fiction, www.fantasticfiction.com/f/martha-finley/mildred-s-new-daughter.htm. Accessed 13 July 2020.

"Moods: (Louisa May Alcott Classics Collection) | Paperback.” Barnes & Noble, www.barnesandnoble.com/w/moods-louisa-may-alcott/1100248666. Accessed 27 June 2020.

"Nathaniel Hawthorne.” New World Encyclopedia, www.newworldencyclopedia.org/entry/Nathaniel_Hawthorne. Accessed 6 July 2020.

"Nathaniel Hawthorne.” Poetry Foundation, www.poetryfoundation.org/poets/nathaniel-hawthorne. Accessed 6 July 2020.

"North of Boston.” Poets.Org, poets.org/book/north-boston. Accessed 22 June 2020.

"Norwood, Arlisha R. “Louisa May Alcott.” National Women’s History Museum, 2017, www.womenshistory.org/education-resources/biographies/louisa-may-alcott.

Off Mice and Men: Plot Overview.” Sparknotes, www.sparknotes.com/lit/micemen/summary. Accessed 30 July 2020.

"Omoo: A Narrative of Adventures in the South Seas, Volume Two.” Northwestern University Press, nupress.northwestern.edu/content/omoo. Accessed 29 June 2020.

"On Langston Hughes’s The Weary Blues.” Poets.Org, poets.org/text/langston-hughess-weary-blues. Accessed 8 July 2020.

"Outland by Mary Austin.” Barnes & Noble, www.barnesandnoble.com/w/outland-mary-hunter-austin/1101698096. Accessed 16 July 2020.

"Paul Laurence Dunbar.” Poetry Foundation, www.poetryfoundation.org/poets/paul-laurence-dunbar. Accessed 23 June 2020.

"Paul Laurence Dunbar.” Black History in America, www.myblackhistory.net/Paul_Laurence_Dunbar.htm. Accessed 23 June 2020.

"Ralph Waldo Emerson.” Poetry Foundation, www.poetryfoundation.org/poets/ralph-waldo-emerson. Accessed 27 June 2020.

"Ralph Waldo Emerson.” Poets.Org, poets.org/poet/ralph-waldo-emerson. Accessed 27 June 2020.

"Representative Men: Seven Lectures — Ralph Waldo Emerson.” Harvard University Press, www.hup.harvard.edu/catalog.php?isbn=9780674761056. Accessed 27 June 2020.

Richardson, Thomas J. “George Washington Cable, 1844-1925.” Encyclopedia of Southern Culture, 1989, docsouth.unc.edu/southlit/cablecreole/bio.html.

"Robert Frost 1874-1963.” Poets.Org, poets.org/poet/robert-frost?gclid=CjwKCAjwrcH3BRApEiwAxjdPTbHhZwuCbDaDmtJ8iPtfLgvMrzF-qEWIfLBIKPaDx1kdUC6fp5yw_RoCA80QAvD_BwE. Accessed 22 June 2020.

"Robert Moton ‘What The Negro Thinks; The Bookman, 1929.’” Old Magazine Articles, June 1929, www.oldmagazinearticles.com/article-summary/WHAT_THE_NEGRO_THINKS_BY_ROBERT_MOTON#.XxEIDJNKjR0.

"Rollo’s Tour in Europe by Jacob Abbott.” JacobAbbott.Com, www.jacobabbott.com/RT. Accessed 16 July 2020.

"Rose in Bloom Written by Louisa May Alcott.” Penguin Random House Canada, www.penguinrandomhouse.ca/books/328851/rose-in-bloom-by-louisa-may-alcott/9780140374513. Accessed 26 June 2020.

Rost, Virginia Haggard. “Martha Finley’s Fiction for Girls.” Electronic Theses and Dissertations, 1943, ir.library.louisville.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?referer=https://www.google.com/&httpsredir=1&article=3124&context=etd.

"Samuel Hopkins.” Yale, Slavery, & Abolition, www.yaleslavery.org/Abolitionists/hopkins.html. Accessed 7 July 2020.

Schneider, Richard J. “Life and Legacy: Thoreau’s Life.” The Thoreau Society, 22 June 2020, www.thoreausociety.org/life-legacy.

Siber, Kate. “The 19th-Century Writer Who Braved the Desert Alone.” Outside, 22 Jan. 2019, www.outsideonline.com/2381841/mary-austin-mojave-nature-writer. 

"Story of a Passion First Edition Irving Bacheller.” Bauman Rare Books, www.baumanrarebooks.com/rare-books/bacheller-irving/story-of-a-passion/67958.aspx. Accessed 16 July 2020.

"Sylvia Plath.” The Poetry Archive, poetryarchive.org/poet/sylvia-plath. Accessed 22 June 2020.

"Sylvia Plath 1932-1963.” Poetry Foundation, www.poetryfoundation.org/poets/sylvia-plath. Accessed 22 June 2020.

"The Biography of a Grizzly by Ernest Thompson Seton.” Goodreads, www.goodreads.com/book/show/3010030-the-biography-of-a-grizzly. Accessed 18 July 2020.

"The Cavalier By: George W. Cable: George Washington Cable (October 12, 1844 – January 31, 1925) Was an American Novelist Notable for the Realism of ... Life in His Native New Orleans, Louisiana.” Amazon, www.amazon.com/Cavalier-Washington-American-novelist-Louisiana/dp/1974471586. Accessed 16 July 2020.

"The Massachusetts Spy, May 3, 1775.” Teach US History, www.teachushistory.org/node/333. Accessed 17 July 2020.

"The Weary Blues by Langston Hughes.” Penguin Random House, www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/237951/the-weary-blues-by-langston-hughes. Accessed 8 July 2020.

"Thomas Story.” Quakers in the World, www.quakersintheworld.org/quakers-in-action/248/Thomas-Story. Accessed 7 July 2020.

"Thomas's Massachusetts Spy, or, Worcester Gazette; vol. XIV, no. 704, Thursday, October 14, 1784 Worcester, MA: Isaiah Thomas, 14 October 1784.” Patrick Olson Rare Books. Accessed 17 July 2020.

Ullian, Jessica. “More about Ida Lewis.” BU Today, 13 Sept. 2005, www.bu.edu/articles/2005/more-about-ida-lewis.

"Uncle Tom’s Cabin: A Moral Battle Cry For Freedom.” Harriet Beecher Stowe Center, www.harrietbeecherstowecenter.org/harriet-beecher-stowe/uncle-toms-cabin. Accessed 6 July 2020.

"Walt Whitman.” Poetry Foundation, www.poetryfoundation.org/poets/walt-whitman. Accessed 22 June 2020.

Weiser, Kathy, and Legends of America. “Legend of Rip Van Winkle.” Legends of America, 2020, www.legendsofamerica.com/ny-ripvanwinkle.

"What and Why First Editions.” Quill & Brush, Inc, www.qbbooks.com/why_first_ed.php. Accessed 29 July 2020.