Skip to main content
InfoGuides | Pepperdine Libraries

American Literature in Special Collections: Home

An overview highlighting 19th, 20th, and 21st American literature and poetry held in Pepperdine's Special Collections. Compilation includes first editions and copies with inscriptions from writers.

A Preview: American Literature in Special Collections

 
 

 

 
African American Literature in Special Collections

 
 
 
The Innocents Abroad by Mark Twain

First Edition
Published 1869

 
 
 
Old Christmas by Washington Irving

First Edition
Published 1876

 
 
 
The Weary Blues by Langston Hughes 

First Edition
Signed & Published 1926

 
 
 
Men Without Women by Ernest Hemingway

Published 1928

 
 
 
The Innocents Abroad by Mark Twain

First Edition
Published 1869

 
 
 
 
October 14th, 1784 edition of the "Massachusetts Spy" or the "Worcester Gazette," a political New England newspaper

 
 
 
What The Negro Thinks by Robert Russa Moton

First Edition
Published 1929

 
 
 
Copy of abolitionist newspaper "The National Era," wherein Harriet Beecher Stowe's Uncle Toms' Cabin was first published as a series of installments.

 
 
 
 
The Innocents Abroad by Mark Twain

First Edition
Published 1869

InfoGuide Overview:

This InfoGuide serves to highlight the prominent American literature selections held in the Rare Books sector of Pepperdine’s Special Collections and Archives. The works featured here range from 17th century newspapers to 20th and 21st century first editions, including the composition of well-known writers such as Nathaniel Hawthorne, Walt Whitman, Louisa May Alcott, Langston Hughes, Washington Irving, and many others. In the tabs above, you will find the various selections classified by date or genre, relevant library resources for additional research, and general information about the Special Collections Department.


undefined

Special Collections Student Worker