Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
InfoGuides | Pepperdine Libraries

American Literature in Special Collections: 21st Century Literature

An overview highlighting 19th, 20th, and 21st American literature and poetry held in Pepperdine's Special Collections. Compilation includes first editions and copies with inscriptions from writers.

21st Century American Literature

While the majority of books held in Special Collections were published in the 20th century and earlier, there are a few rare selections which were published in the 21st century, including the first edition below.

Ray Bradbury

 
A Pleasure to Burn: Fahrenheit 451 Stories by Ray Bradbury
undefined
Call Number: PS3503.R167 P54 2010
Bradbury, Ray, et al. A Pleasure to Burn : Fahrenheit 451 Stories. 1st ed., Subterranean Press, 2010.

undefined
First edition book featuring an assortment of short stories by American writer Ray Bradbury. This collection serves as companion to the dystopian classic, Fahrenheit 451, providing “an unparalleled window into Bradbury’s creative process” (GoodReads). Themes central to Fahrenheit 451— censorship, suppression, the advantages and faults of technology, and knowledge vs. ignorance— are embedded throughout this short story collection. This book was donated to the Sigma Tau Delta Collection of Rare Books and First Editions in Special Collections and University Archives on April 8, 2014.
 
Ray Bradbury wrote almost 50 books and over 400 short stories throughout his career. While he successfully explored and contributed to an array of genres, his fiction writing is particularly well-acclaimed, especially his futuristic stories crafted during the Space Age.