Guides: Writing A Research Paper: Databases &amp; Websites

Databases

Databases
- Databases are formatted searchable collections of materials. Experts and professionals curate and update the information held in the database. Usually, libraries pay for students to have access to databases.
- Listed below are a few popular databases Pepperdine University Libraries currently provides access to.
- Also included are step-by-step and video tutorials on how to navigate the Pepperdine University Databases & E-Journals feature.

JSTOR
Archive of interdisciplinary journals and books, covering the Arts, Business & Economics, History, Humanities, Law, Science & Mathematics, Social Sciences, and Religion.
EBSCOhost databases
Full-text databases and popular databases ranging from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations
Open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world.

Websites
- Although websites are often the quickest way to find information, they are not the most reliable. Therefore, it is essential to evaluate the credibility of websites. Remember, there is a big difference between databases and websites. A website is a page on the internet that anyone can create. Sites are rarely fact-checked and can contain incorrect information. Databases, however, contain information created and maintained by experts and professionals. Additionally, databases will always give a complete citation for the information source.