Guides: Writing A Research Paper: Newspapers &amp; Reference Materials

Newspapers

Newspapers
- Newspapers are published daily and provide basic information on a subject or event. They can serve as primary sources featuring interviews and letters. Newspapers report on topics within hours or days of the event.
- For help locating a specific newspaper and to learn more about the newspaper resources available through Pepperdine libraries, take a look at this helpful guide: http://infoguides.pepperdine.edu/newspapers

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
National & international papers include: The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Times (London), Toronto Star
Regional papers include: The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, Daily News (New York), San Jose Mercury News.
Television & radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, FOX News, NPR, and others.
Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full-text access to the Los Angeles Times. Covers 1985 to now.
New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new window
**Access requires logging in with a Pepperdine email on the NY Times homepage. Find step-by-step log-in instructions on the access guide to log in. **
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Features news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. For help on how to use Nexis Uni, visit the research guide.This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage to peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more.

Reference Materials
- Reference materials are resources compiled with information on a subject or topic such as dictionaries, almanacs, and encyclopedias. Reference materials are great for getting brief, but valuable, information about a topic. However, reference books do not provide in-depth information on a subject.
- Listed below are two helpful and vast online reference works.

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Access to encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Access to reference works such as Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture, Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages, and The Oxford Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology.