Skip to main content
InfoGuides | Pepperdine Libraries

History: Finding Archival Collections

these will help you find resources for you assignment

Colonial Document

First Edition of the Geneva Bible

Geneva Bible, 1560.

Herschensohn Collection

The Bruce Herschensohn Papers include archival documents created by filmmaker, political figure, and writer Bruce Herschensohn. The finding aid for the collection can be found here. Digitized materials from the collection are found here.

Finding Archival Collections

There are several ways to find collections of unpublished archival materials (primary sources in original formats) that are held by archival repositories:

Archival collections at Pepperdine University are located in the Special Collections and University Archives in Payson Library. These collections can be searched on the Pepperdine page in the Online Archive of California. See below for additional information.

ArchiveGrid includes over four million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.

Any search in WorldCat Local can be limited to "archival materials" as the format. Select "Worldwide libraries own this item" to determine which repository houses the materials.

The Online Archive of California includes finding aids for archival collections that are housed in archival repositories across the state of California. You can search this website by person or topic. The finding aid will tell you what is in the collection and where the collection is housed.

The LA as Subject Directory includes information about archival repositories, most of them in Southern California, that house unpublished materials related to LA history.

Remember to view a repository's website or contect a staff person at the repository before visiting in order to ensure availability of the materials and to confirm the registration process that will be required.

Archival Collections at Pepperdine

Pepperdine University makes primary sources available for research in the Special Collections and University Archives, which is located in Payson Library. The archival collections document the history of Pepperdine University, Malibu, the Churches of Christ, film and television, and several other topics. The rare book collections cover many topics and eras.

The Michael J. Marlatt Collection of Documents on Colonial America is currently on loan to Pepperdine University and available for use in Payson Library. Many of the materials have also been scanned and are available in Pepperdine Digital Collections.

Pepperdine's archival collections of original documents can be searched on the Pepperdine page in the Online Archive of California.The book collections can be searched in the library catalog. Many of the archival collections have been digitized and are available in the Pepperdine Digital Collections.

If you would like to use the materials onsite, please contact Melissa Nykanen to schedule an appointment (contact information below). The materials are usually available for research Monday to Friday, 9am-5pm. Please see this website for more details: http://library.pepperdine.edu/special-collections/.

Melissa Nykanen
Head of Special Collections and University Archives
(310) 506-4434
melissa.nykanen@pepperdine.edu