Guides: BA 355: Principles of Marketing-Pray.com (Conlin): Marketing Databases

Information categories to research

Demographics and attitudes of Generation Z (statistics, articles and books)
Marketing, advertising and branding to Christians (articles dissertations)
Religious/spiritual attitudes of Generation Z and Millennials (articles, dissertations and statistical data)
Data and analysis of the mobile apps industry

Mintel

Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Provides market research reports that will provide demographic information, income levels and attitudes of Generation Z.

Example: I need reports that cover marketing to Generation Z.

Access the report titled "Marketing to Gen Z - US - 2022"
Go to the Consumer category and select the sections "Prioritizing self-care" and "Priority Changes Since the COVID-19 Pandemic"
The Databook will have demographic breakdowns of all survey questions
This report will help with Social Trends

Example: I need information on the top social media platforms for Gen Z.

Access the report titled, "Social Media Trends - US - May 2021"
Go to the Databook and go to Q1 by Demographics

Example: I need a report on attitudes toward apps.

Access the report "Digital Trends - Spring: Incl Impact of COVID-19 - US - April 2020" go to Consumer and then select "Attitudes toward Apps"

Example: I want a report that discusses influencers and Generation Z.

Access the report "Social Media Influencers - US - 2022" and select the Excel databook for breakdowns of Generation Z.

Industry reports

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Good resource for an industry report on apps with a Porter's Five Forces analysis.

Example: I need an industry report on apps.

Type apps into the first box
Type United States into the second box
Type marketline into the third box
Click search
Select the report "Smartphone App Developers MarketLine Industry Profile: Mobile Apps in United States"
- The Porter's Five Forces analysis in the report will help with your competitive analysis. Please note that this discussion will cover competition in general terms for apps and there will not be a list of Pray.com's competitors.

IBIS World This link opens in a new window
Market and industry research reports with key statistics, industry conditions, market share, industry performance, market drivers, key success factors, and revenue forecasts for each US industry. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.

Example: I need a report that discusses regulations and technological trends.

Access the report "Smartphone App Developers"

Insider Intelligence (formerly eMarketer) This link opens in a new window
Includes daily market and media research articles, analyst reports, and a database of e-business and online marketing statistics.

Example: I want a report on apps and monetization.

Type apps into the box and click search
Click the ink for Content Type on the left-hand side and click the box for Report
Select the report Mobile App Users and Monetization 2022 Which Apps Are Winning, and What Does It Mean for Marketers?

Example: You are considering Instagram as an advertising platform and want more information about use among Generation Z.

Type instagram into the search box and click search
Select the first record for forecasts
Filter by generation for more information about Generation Z
Other platforms will also be available

Statista This link opens in a new window
Good resource for statistics.

Example: I'm looking for the demographics of religious people in the U.S.

Type religio* age (the asterisk gives variations of the root word) into the box and click search
Also try searching age with other terms like Bible or Church

Simmons Insights

Simmons Brand Catalyst (replacing GfK MRI University Reporter) This link opens in a new window
For access, click Brand Catalyst at the top of the Simmons interface. Identifies the unique characteristics of over 8,000 brands to help define brand identity, differentiate against competitors, create unique personas, and drive effective media, creative, and partnership strategies.

Example: I want data on the religious preferences of individuals 18-24

Click Catalyst at the top of the screen and select Brand Catalyst
Type 18-24 into the box and select "18 - 24 LIFESTYLE (DEMOGRAPHICS) > DEMOGRAPHICS (PERSONAL INFORMATION) > AGE"
Click "Explore"
After consulting the basic profile, click the link on the left for Reporter for more detailed information
- Click Lifestyles (Demographics)>Demographics (Personal Information)>Religious preference

Example: I want data on the likelihood of 18-24 years to pay over $10 for a cell phone app.

Click Catalyst at the top of the screen and select Brand Catalyst
Type apps paid into the search box and select $10.00 MORE CELL/SMARTPHONES/TABLETS > APPS FOR CELL PHONES/SMARTPHONES/TABLETS > APPS FOR CELLPHONE/SMARTPHONE-AMT PAID?
Click Explore
Scroll down to Age and click the section for Age for further age breakdowns

Example: I want to explore the attitudes of 18-24 year olds (Social Trends)

Click Catalyst at the top of the screen and select Brand Catalyst
Type 18-24 into the box and select "18 - 24 LIFESTYLE (DEMOGRAPHICS) > DEMOGRAPHICS (PERSONAL INFORMATION) > AGE"
Click "Explore"
Click the link on the left for "Reporter"
Click Lifestyle statements>Attitudes/Opinions General>ATTITUDES (GENERAL) - AGREE A LOT

Background on generation Z

Generation Z by Corey Seemiller; Meghan Grace
Publication Date: 2018
No other generation in history has received as much coverage as the Millennial generation. Books, Google searches, blogs, and news articles are everywhere about them. Yet, Generation Z is comprised of our youth and young adults today and has received very little attention comparatively. Those in Generation Z are among our youngest consumers, students, colleagues, constituents, voters, and neighbors. Being able to better understand who they are and how they see the world can be helpful in effectively working with, teaching, supervising, and leading them. Generation Z: A Century in the Making offers insight into nearly every aspect of the lives of those in Generation Z, including a focus on their career aspirations, religious beliefs and practices, entertainment and hobbies, social concerns, relationships with friends and family, health and wellness, money management, civic engagement, communication styles, political ideologies, technology use, and educational preferences. Drawing from an unprecedented number of studies with higher education research institutions, market research firms such as Pew and Census, other generational researchers and industry leaders, this is the authoritative defining work on Generation Z that market researchers, consumer behaviour specialists, and employers sorely need - and it is a fascinating read for anyone interested in the sociology of generations.
Blank Slate : Write Your Own Rules for a 22nd-Century Church Movement. by Lia McIntoshJasmine SmothersRev Rodney Thomas Smothers
Publication Date: 2019
How to release old assumptions from previous generations, and embrace new ones, so that the church will thrive.
Gen Z, Explained by Roberta Katz; Sarah Ogilvie; Jane Shaw; Linda Woodhead
Publication Date: 2021
An optimistic and nuanced portrait of a generation that has much to teach us about how to live and collaborate in our digital world. Born since the mid-1990s, members of Generation Z comprise the first generation never to know the world without the internet, and the most diverse generation yet. As Gen Z starts to emerge into adulthood and enter the workforce, what do we really know about them? And what can we learn from them? Gen Z, Explained is the authoritative portrait of this significant generation. It draws on extensive interviews that display this generation's candor, surveys that explore their views and attitudes, and a vast database of their astonishingly inventive lexicon to build a comprehensive picture of their values, daily lives, and outlook. Gen Z emerges here as an extraordinarily thoughtful, promising, and perceptive generation that is sounding a warning to their elders about the world around them--a warning of a complexity and depth the "OK Boomer" phenomenon can only suggest. Much of the existing literature about Gen Z has been highly judgmental. In contrast, this book provides a deep and nuanced understanding of a generation facing a future of enormous challenges, from climate change to civil unrest. What's more, they are facing this future head-on, relying on themselves and their peers to work collaboratively to solve these problems. As Gen Z, Explained shows, this group of young people is as compassionate and imaginative as any that has come before, and understanding the way they tackle problems may enable us to envision new kinds of solutions. This portrait of Gen Z is ultimately an optimistic one, suggesting they have something to teach all of us about how to live and thrive in this digital world.
The entitled generation : helping teachers teach and reach the minds and hearts of generation Z by Ernest J Zarra
Publication Date: 2017
This book brings teachers into the twenty-first century world of 24-7 technologically-wired up and social media-driven students. This book asks teachers to consider pragmatic and sensible ways to teach Gen Z and to understand the differences between these students and those of the past. Teachers are offered keen insights by colleagues, in terms of how Gen Z thinks, the various ways that males and females learn, and the distractions and struggles each faces by device addiction affecting classrooms. American culture is perpetuating the notion that students are entitled to economic and social outcomes on equal bases. Gen Z "feels" everyone should be treated as equals, receiving the same rewards for unequal efforts, thus promoting a feeling of entitlement. Teachers will understand the reality of contemporary American classrooms. Even with the assumed addiction to smart technology and social media, teachers can use this to their advantage and reach the minds and hearts of Gen Z to prepare them for their futures
Gen Z The Superhero Generation. by Regina LuttrellKaren McGrath
Publication Date: 2021
Gen Z: The Superhero Generation is a must-read for parents, educators, and employers as they help prepare the next generation for the future. Learn the characteristics of this generation in order to understand how to reach them in positive, productive ways. Join us on our superhero journey to see how they are capable of changing the world.
Marketing to Gen Z by Jeff Fromm; Angie Read
Publication Date: 2018
You've only just begun to understand Millennials and know how to market most effectively to them. However, their successors are already right around the corner and promising even bigger challenges for the marketplace. But with bigger challenges come great opportunities, and Marketing to Gen Z wants to help you get ahead of the game when it comes to understanding and reaching this next generation of buyers.Having internalized the lessons of the Great Recession, Generation Z blends the pragmatism and work ethic of older generations with the high ideals and digital prowess of youth. For brands, reaching this mobile-first and socially conscious cohort requires real change, not just tweaks to the Millennial plan. Businesses will have to learn how to:* Get past the 8-second filter* Avoid blatant advertising and tap influencer marketing* Understand their language and off-beat humor* Offer the shopping experiences they expectMarketing to Gen Z dives into and explains all this and much more, so that businesses may most effectively connect and converse with the emerging generation that is expected to comprise 40 percent of all consumers by 2020. The time to learn who they are and what they want is NOW.

Economic data

Passport (formerly Global Market Information Database) This link opens in a new window
Market research reports on countries, consumers and industries from Euromonitor International. Historic data from 1997 plus up-to-date forecast models including industry reports and market share data. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.

Example: I need information on forecasted consumer confidence in the U.S.

Type consumer confidence USA into the box
Select Consumer Confidence in USA under the heading "ECONOMIES AND CONSUMERS MONTHLY DATA"
Select 2023 with the pull down menu for forecasted data and click Apply

Example: I need per capita disposable income in the US

Type disposable income us into the box
Select Disposable Income in USA
Click Convert Data and select per capita
Use the pull down menu for the dates to obtain forecasted data and click Apply

Example: I need forecasted inflation data.

Type inflation USA into the box
Select Inflation in USA under the heading "ECONOMIES AND CONSUMERS ANNUAL DATA"
Use the pull down menu for the dates to obtain forecasted data and click Apply

Company Specific Information

Similar Web
This website provides data for apps apps and websites.

You register a free 7 day trial account for the upgraded version.

In addition to searching for Pray.com. you can also search for competitors like Abide, Daily Prayer, etc.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Features news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. For help on how to use Nexis Uni, visit the research guide.This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.

Example #1: Search for News articles on Pray.com

Click the button for "News"
Type Pray.com into the "Search in all News for" box
Click Search

Example #2: Example of a SWOT analysis of an app company.

Click the link for "A Publication"
Type facebook swot analysis into the "Search for something specific" box
Type globaldata into the Publication box and select GlobaData Company Profile

PrivCo This link opens in a new window
You have to register an account using your Pepperdine email address. Good resource for company financial data and number of employees.

American Values Atlas

American Values Atlas
Gives geographic breakdowns such as state and metro area for Americans' religious traditions.

Articles or Dissertations

EBSCOhost databases This link opens in a new window
Full-text databases and popular databases ranging from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases.

Example: I want articles that discuss religious apps.

Click the box for "Select All" and then click Continue
Type apps or mobile applications into the first box
Type prayer into the second box
Type Christian into the third box
Click search

Example: I need articles about the spirituality and religion of Generation Z.

Click the box for "Select All" and then click Continue
Type generation z into the first box and change Select a Field to SU Subject field with the pull-down menu
Type religi* or spiritual* or Christian or church into the second box and change Select a Field to SU Subject field with the pull-down menu
Click search
On the left-hand side, click the link for Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals
On the left-hand side, go to Publication date and set the range from 2017-2022

Example: I'm looking for articles on issues related to mental health and stress among Generation Z.

Type "generation z" into the first box
Type stress or mental health or wellbeing or anxiety or emotions into the second box
Click search
On the left-hand side, click the link for Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals

Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Doctoral dissertations and master's theses, from 1743 to the present. Full text for most dissertations since 1997.

Example: I need dissertations that explore millennials/generation z and their religious beliefs.

Type Christian OR spiritual OR church OR religio* into the first box and change anywhere to Anywhere except full-text (NOFT)
Type millennials OR generation y generation z into the second box and change anywhere to Anywhere except full-text (NOFT)
Click Search
On the left-hand side set the date range from 2012-2022
The dissertation, "Branding Faith: Do Christian Ministries Reach Millennials With Branding?" and "Millennials Leaving Religion: A Transcendental Phenomenological Research Study on Religious Disaffiliation" looks especially helpful