Guides: BA 470: Marketing Research (Conlin): Generation Z and Gamification

Categories of secondary data

Background information on the attitudes of Generation Z
Research on the potential of gamification to engage and motivate Generation Z
Generation Z's propensity to do good
Studies on team-based/collaborative gamification
Articles/dissertations on these theories:
- negative state relief model
- objective self-awareness
- technology acceptance model
- theory of planned behavior

Rather than looking for articles that incorporate all of the elements of Generation Z, propensity to do good and team-based gamification into a single article, and conceptual theories into a single article, a better approach is search for articles that address one of these topics.

Articles

EBSCOhost databases This link opens in a new window
Full-text databases and popular databases ranging from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases.

Example: I'm looking for articles on gamification that compare team based events with individual gamification.

Click the box for "Select All" and then click Continue
Type cooperat* or team* or collaborat* into the first box and select TI Title with the pull-down menu
Type gamification or game based or gamify or video games into the second box
Type solitary or individual or alone into the third box and select TI Title with the pull-down menu
Click the box for "Peer Reviewed" on the left-hand side to limit your search to scholarly articles

Example: I'm looking for articles with the negative state relief model or objective self-awareness or technology acceptance model or theory of planned behavior.

Click the box for "Select All" and then click Continue
Type gamification or game based or gamify or video games into the first box
Type technology acceptance model into the second box and click search
Try this search with theory of planned behavior or objective self-awareness instead of technology acceptance model
Please note: with the negative state relief model, articles won't be available if you combine the search with gamification. Search for negative state relief without adding additional terms or adding the term prosocial
Also, there is only article that discusses both gamification and objective self-awareness. Try searching objective self-awareness with the term prosocial

Example: I'm looking for articles on gamification and the propensity to do good.

Click the box for "Select All" and then click Continue
Type gamification or gamify or video games or game based into the first box and use the pull-down menu to change the field to TI Title
Type altruism or prosocial or philanthropy or charitable or nonprofit or donations
Click the box for "Peer Reviewed" on the left-hand side to limit your search to scholarly articles

Example: I need articles about Gen Z and Millennials and their propensity to do good.

Click the box for select All and then click Continue to search all of the database simultaneously.
Type generation z or gen z into the first box (the word "or' is a search command)
Type nonprofit or charitable or philanthrop* or altruis* or prosocial or donations into the second box and change the field from "Select a Field"
Click Search
Click the box for Scholarly (peer reviewed journals) on the left-hand side
There will be many more articles on millennials than gen z. If you need more articles, redo the search with millennials

Example: I'm looking for articles on Generation Z and gamification:

Click the box for "Select All" and then click Continue
Type gamification or game based or gamify into the first box
Type gen z or generation z into the second box
Click search
Click the box for Scholarly (peer reviewed journals) on the left-hand side
Redo the search by typing millennials instead of Gen Z or Generation Z

Example: I need articles about motivation of Generation Z.

Click the box for select All and then click Continue to search all of the database simultaneously.
Type generation z or gen z into the first box and select Ti Title
Type motivation or engagement or marketing or promotion or advertising and select SU Subject
Click search
Click the box for Scholarly (peer reviewed journals) on the left-hand side

Dissertations

Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Doctoral dissertations and master's theses, from 1743 to the present. Full text for most dissertations since 1997.

Example: I'm looking for dissertations on gamification and the propensity for Generation Z to do good

Type prosocial or philanthrop* or charitable or nonprofit or altruis* or donations into the first box and change Anywhere to Anywhere except full-text (NOFT)
Type gen z or generation Z into the second box and change anywhere to Anywhere except full-text (NOFT)
Click search

Example: I need dissertations on the theory of planned behavior

Type theory of planned behavior into the first box and change Anywhere to Anywhere except full-text (NOFT)
Type gamification OR gamify OR game based into the second box and change anywhere to Anywhere except full-text (NOFT)
Click search

Example: I need dissertations exploring gamification and shelter animals.

Type shelter into the first box and change Anywhere to Anywhere except full-text (NOFT)
Type dogs into the second box and change anywhere to Anywhere except full-text (NOFT)
Type gamification into the third box and change anywhere to Anywhere except full-text (NOFT)
Click search

Mintel

Mintel This link opens in a new window
Market research and industry reports with market share, consumer profiles, forecasting, driving forces, and distribution methods. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.

Example: I need some demographic data and information about the attitudes of Generation Z.

Search for the report Marketing to Gen Z - US - 2023
Attitudes toward Nonprofits - US - 2022

Background on generation Z

For the Win, Revised and Updated Edition by Kevin Werbach; Dan Hunter
Publication Date: 2020
Why can't life--and business--be fun? For thousands of years, we've created things called games that tap the tremendous psychic power of fun. In a revised and updated edition of For the Win: The Power of Gamification and Game Thinking in Business, Education, Government, and Social Impact, authors Kevin Werbach and Dan Hunter argue that applying the lessons of gamification could change your business, the way you learn or teach, and even your life. Werbach and Hunter explain how games can be used as a valuable tool to address serious pursuits like marketing, productivity enhancement, education, innovation, customer engagement, human resources, and sustainability. They reveal how, why, and when gamification works--and what not to do. Discover the successes--and failures--of organizations that are using gamification: How a South Korean company called Neofect is using gamification to help people recover from strokes;How a tool called SuperBetter has demonstrated significant results treating depression, concussion symptoms, and the mental health harms of the COVID-19 pandemic through game thinking; How the ride-hailing giant Uber once used gamification to influence their drivers to work longer hours than they otherwise wanted to, causing swift backlash. The story of gamification isn't fun and games by any means. It's serious. When used carefully and thoughtfully, gamification produces great outcomes for users, in ways that are hard to replicate through other methods. Other times, companies misuse the "guided missile" of gamification to have people work and do things in ways that are against their self-interest. This revised and updated edition incorporates the most prominent research findings to provide a comprehensive gamification playbook for the real world.
The entitled generation : helping teachers teach and reach the minds and hearts of generation Z by Ernest J Zarra
Publication Date: 2017
This book brings teachers into the twenty-first century world of 24-7 technologically-wired up and social media-driven students. This book asks teachers to consider pragmatic and sensible ways to teach Gen Z and to understand the differences between these students and those of the past. Teachers are offered keen insights by colleagues, in terms of how Gen Z thinks, the various ways that males and females learn, and the distractions and struggles each faces by device addiction affecting classrooms. American culture is perpetuating the notion that students are entitled to economic and social outcomes on equal bases. Gen Z "feels" everyone should be treated as equals, receiving the same rewards for unequal efforts, thus promoting a feeling of entitlement. Teachers will understand the reality of contemporary American classrooms. Even with the assumed addiction to smart technology and social media, teachers can use this to their advantage and reach the minds and hearts of Gen Z to prepare them for their futures
Generation Z by Corey Seemiller; Meghan Grace
Publication Date: 2018
No other generation in history has received as much coverage as the Millennial generation. Books, Google searches, blogs, and news articles are everywhere about them. Yet, Generation Z is comprised of our youth and young adults today and has received very little attention comparatively. Those in Generation Z are among our youngest consumers, students, colleagues, constituents, voters, and neighbors. Being able to better understand who they are and how they see the world can be helpful in effectively working with, teaching, supervising, and leading them. Generation Z: A Century in the Making offers insight into nearly every aspect of the lives of those in Generation Z, including a focus on their career aspirations, religious beliefs and practices, entertainment and hobbies, social concerns, relationships with friends and family, health and wellness, money management, civic engagement, communication styles, political ideologies, technology use, and educational preferences. Drawing from an unprecedented number of studies with higher education research institutions, market research firms such as Pew and Census, other generational researchers and industry leaders, this is the authoritative defining work on Generation Z that market researchers, consumer behaviour specialists, and employers sorely need - and it is a fascinating read for anyone interested in the sociology of generations.
Gen Z The Superhero Generation. by Regina LuttrellKaren McGrath
Publication Date: 2021
Gen Z: The Superhero Generation is a must-read for parents, educators, and employers as they help prepare the next generation for the future. Learn the characteristics of this generation in order to understand how to reach them in positive, productive ways. Join us on our superhero journey to see how they are capable of changing the world.
Marketing to Gen Z by Jeff Fromm; Angie Read
Publication Date: 2018
You've only just begun to understand Millennials and know how to market most effectively to them. However, their successors are already right around the corner and promising even bigger challenges for the marketplace. But with bigger challenges come great opportunities, and Marketing to Gen Z wants to help you get ahead of the game when it comes to understanding and reaching this next generation of buyers.Having internalized the lessons of the Great Recession, Generation Z blends the pragmatism and work ethic of older generations with the high ideals and digital prowess of youth. For brands, reaching this mobile-first and socially conscious cohort requires real change, not just tweaks to the Millennial plan. Businesses will have to learn how to:* Get past the 8-second filter* Avoid blatant advertising and tap influencer marketing* Understand their language and off-beat humor* Offer the shopping experiences they expectMarketing to Gen Z dives into and explains all this and much more, so that businesses may most effectively connect and converse with the emerging generation that is expected to comprise 40 percent of all consumers by 2020. The time to learn who they are and what they want is NOW.