Guides: BA 470: Marketing Research (Conlin): Mobile Grocery Shopping

Research data and demographics

Mintel This link opens in a new window
Market research and industry reports with market share, consumer profiles, forecasting, driving forces, and distribution methods. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.

Example: I need a report on online grocery retailing.

The reports "Online Grocery Retailing – US – 2024" and "Grocery Retailing – US – 2024" will mention grocery apps

Insider Intelligence (formerly eMarketer) This link opens in a new window
Includes daily market and media research articles, analyst reports, and a database of e-business and online marketing statistics.

Example: I need statistical data for online grocery shopping.

Type grocery app into the search box and click search
Select the record "Mobile App Users, US" and select "Smartphone Grocery App Users"
Articles like "How Albertsons is boosting sales, loyalty through convenience" could be helpful as well

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources, includes access to the Global Consumer Survey .

Example: I want statistical data on grocery apps

Type grocery apps into the search box and click search
Use the Filters on the right hand side to limit results to data in the United States published from 2020-2023

Simmons Brand Catalyst (replacing GfK MRI University Reporter) This link opens in a new window
For access, click Brand Catalyst at the top of the Simmons interface. Identifies the unique characteristics of over 8,000 brands to help define brand identity, differentiate against competitors, create unique personas, and drive effective media, creative, and partnership strategies.

Click Catalyst and select Brand Catalyst

Categories available for grocery

Daily activity
Time of day
Loyalty card

Scholarly Articles & Dissertations

EBSCOhost databases This link opens in a new window
Full-text databases and popular databases ranging from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases.

Example: I want scholarly articles on mobile apps and grocery shopping

Click the box for "Select All" and then click Continue
Type supermarket or grocer* into the first box
Type apps or mobile applications into the second box
Type model or framework or theory into the third box and click search
Click search
On the left-hand side, click the box for Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals
This search will result in very few articles

Example: I'm searching for articles on apps and shopping in general. The articles have to contain a conceptual model or theory.

Click the box for "Select All" and then click Continue
Type retail or shopping into the first box and select TI Title with the pulldown menu
Type apps or mobile applications into the second box
Type model or framework or theory into the third box and click search
On the left-hand side, click the box for Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals
You can also search for specific theories (e.g. technology acceptance model or theory of planned behavior) in the third box

Example: I need articles about Generation Z and shopping behavior

Click the box for "Select All" and then click Continue
Type generation z or gen z into the first box
Type shopping or retail or stores or consumer behavior into the second box and select TI Title
On the left-hand side, click the box for Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals
Set the date range from 2016-2024

Example: I need articles on theories of grocery shopping behavior.

Click the box for "Select All" and then click Continue
Type grocery or supermarkets into the first box and select TI Title with the pull-down menu
Type shopping or behavior into the second box and select TI Title with the pull-down menu
Type model or framework or theory into the third box and click search
On the left-hand side, click the box for Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals
Filter the date from 2014-2024

Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Doctoral dissertations and master's theses, from 1743 to the present. Full text for most dissertations since 1997.

Example: I want information on mobile apps and grocery stores.

Type grocery or supermarkets into the first box and select Anywhere Except Full-Text-NOFT with the pulldown menu
Type apps into the second box and select Anywhere Except Full-Text-NOFT with the pulldown menu
Click search

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed scientific journals, books and conference proceedings covering fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Background information about Generation Z

Marketing to Gen Z by Jeff Fromm; Angie Read
Publication Date: 2018
You've only just begun to understand Millennials and know how to market most effectively to them. However, their successors are already right around the corner and promising even bigger challenges for the marketplace. But with bigger challenges come great opportunities, and Marketing to Gen Z wants to help you get ahead of the game when it comes to understanding and reaching this next generation of buyers.Having internalized the lessons of the Great Recession, Generation Z blends the pragmatism and work ethic of older generations with the high ideals and digital prowess of youth. For brands, reaching this mobile-first and socially conscious cohort requires real change, not just tweaks to the Millennial plan. Businesses will have to learn how to:* Get past the 8-second filter* Avoid blatant advertising and tap influencer marketing* Understand their language and off-beat humor* Offer the shopping experiences they expectMarketing to Gen Z dives into and explains all this and much more, so that businesses may most effectively connect and converse with the emerging generation that is expected to comprise 40 percent of all consumers by 2020. The time to learn who they are and what they want is NOW.
Generation Z by Corey Seemiller; Meghan Grace
Publication Date: 2018
No other generation in history has received as much coverage as the Millennial generation. Books, Google searches, blogs, and news articles are everywhere about them. Yet, Generation Z is comprised of our youth and young adults today and has received very little attention comparatively. Those in Generation Z are among our youngest consumers, students, colleagues, constituents, voters, and neighbors. Being able to better understand who they are and how they see the world can be helpful in effectively working with, teaching, supervising, and leading them. Generation Z: A Century in the Making offers insight into nearly every aspect of the lives of those in Generation Z, including a focus on their career aspirations, religious beliefs and practices, entertainment and hobbies, social concerns, relationships with friends and family, health and wellness, money management, civic engagement, communication styles, political ideologies, technology use, and educational preferences. Drawing from an unprecedented number of studies with higher education research institutions, market research firms such as Pew and Census, other generational researchers and industry leaders, this is the authoritative defining work on Generation Z that market researchers, consumer behaviour specialists, and employers sorely need - and it is a fascinating read for anyone interested in the sociology of generations.
Zconomy : how Gen Z will change the future of business-and what to do about it by Jason R. Dorsey; Denise Villa
Publication Date: 2020
The most complete and authoritative guide to Gen Z, describing how leaders must adapt their employment, sales and marketing, product, and growth strategies to attract and keep this important new generation of customers, employees and trendsetters. Gen Z changes everything. Today's businesses are not built to sell and market the way Gen Z shops and buys, or to recruit and employ Gen Z the way they find and keep jobs. Leaders need answers now as gen Z is the fastest growing generation of employees and the most important group of consumer trendsetters. The companies that quickly and comprehensively adapt to Gen Z thinking will be the winners for the next twenty years. Those that don't will be the losers or become extinct. Zconomy is the comprehensive survival guide on how leaders must understand and embrace Generation Z. Researched and written by Dr. Denise Villa and Jason Dorsey from The Center for Generational Kinetics, the insights in Zconomy are based on their extensive research, they've led more than 60 generational studies, and their work with more than 500 companies around the world. In Zconomy, Dr. Villa and Dorsey answer: Who is Gen Z? What do employers, marketers, and sales leaders need to know? And, most importantly, what should leaders do now? This is the critical moment for leaders to understand and adapt to Gen Z or become irrelevant. Gen Z is already reshaping the world of business and this change is only going to accelerate. Zconomy is the definitive manual that will prepare any executive, manager, entrepreneur, HR or marketing professional to successfully unlock the powerful potential of this emerging generation at this pivotal time.