Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Arshile Gorky, Landscape in Virginia 1944 graphite and crayon on paper, 10-3/4 x 13-1/16 inches Private Collection
Reproduced in: Gelber, Eric. "Arshile Gorky: A Retrospective of Drawings." artcritical, November 1, 2003. Accessed January 23, 2013. http://www.artcritical.com/2003/11/01/arshile-gorky-a-retrospective-of-drawings/
Museums & Galleries
- Art Institute of Chicago
- Cleveland Museum of Art
- Cooper Hewitt National Design Museum
- Freer + Sackler Galleries
- Metropolitan Museum of Art
New York, New York
- MOMA, Museum of Modern Art
New York, New York
- Musée du Louvre
- Musée Rodin
- Museum of Fine Arts, Boston
- National Gallery of Art
- National Museum of African Art
- Philadelphia Museum of Art
- Smithsonian American Art Museum
- Tate Online
Museums in the UK
- The Getty
Los Angeles, CA
- The Guggenheim
- Tokyo National Museum
- Vatican Museum
- Victoria and Albert Museum
artreview.com is an exciting new social networking site for the artworld, creating a global forum for discussion, interactivity and debate.
"the online magazine of art and ideas"
artcritical began its life as a personal website for founder editor and publisher David Cohen that grew, almost accidentally, into a fully fledged ‘zine.
frieze magazine was set up in 1991 as a magazine of contemporary art and culture. frieze includes essays, reviews and columns by today’s most forward-thinking writers, artists and curators.
An e-magazine celebrating fine art & design: "ARTES regularly presents in-depth articles and opinion on artwork in all its forms: painting, sculpture, art installations and photography...[plus] reports on recent and upcoming museum and art gallery exhibitions in classical art, modern art, contemporary art, abstract art and art for sale through auction events and international art dealers and art collections."
General Web Resources on Art
Voice of the Shuttle: Art History
VoS is woven by Alan Liu and a development team
in the U.California, Santa Barbara, English Department.
Smithsonian American Art Museum
The American Art Museum is the home to one of the largest and most inclusive collections of American art in the world. Museum staff maintain seven online research databases with more than 500,000 records, including the Inventories of American Painting and Sculpture that document more than 400,000 artworks in public and private collections worldwide.
IFAR: International Foundation for Art Research
A nonprofit educational and research organization dedicated to integrity in the visual arts. IFAR offers impartial and authoritative information on authenticity, ownership, theft, and other artistic, legal, and ethical issues concerning art objects.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History - The Metopolitan Museum of Art
A chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Museum's collection.
Art Library Vocabulary
Art libraries have different kinds of material than other libraries, and they have different kinds of terms to describe those materials as well. Here are some terms to help you get started--if you click on the links, you will be taken to the Grove Art Online encyclopedias or to Wikipedia for more information.
- Catalogue Raisonne
A book containing every single work that a specific artist ever created. These are great for researching artists for a paper or biography.
A collection of essays celebrating a certain person. It's not specific to art, but there are festschriften created for artists and art historians--BHA catalogs festschriften specifically.
A copy of an existing manuscript or book that tries to be as faithful to the original as possible.
Refers to the content or subject matter of a work of art, not the form or technique of the work. For instance, a work of art may be Baroque in style, but its iconography would involve the fact that it depicts a Madonna and Child.
- Livres d'Artiste
Special kind of book in which an artist created the illustrations directly onto the pages.
- Artists' Books
Surprisingly, not the same as a livre d'artiste. An artist's book is a work of art expressed in book format. It could be made of any materials--cloth, metal, glass, etc.--and could be shaped like a traditional book, or not.
- Exhibition Catalog
A listing of what was on display in a specific exhibition or show. May include images. These also sometimes include essays by the curator or others that describe the show.
Sounds fancy, but it's just another name for a book, as opposed to a journal or magazine or some other continuing resource.
contain structured terminology for art, architecture, decorative arts and other material culture, archival materials, visual surrogates, and bibliographic materials.