Skip to Main Content
Information about Nonprofit Organizations
This is a great resource for financial data on nonprofit organizations. There are some premium features that you will not have access to, but a free registration will grant access to the 990 forms. 990 forms will provide detailed financial data for nonprofit organizations. By locating the 990 forms you will be able analyze the size of a nonprofit and how many high level executives work for the organization. Guidestar also has a comprehensive directory of nonprofit organizations.
Example: I need more information about the nonprofit Compassion International.
Type compassion international into search box and click Search
Click the icon for the 990 forms to obtain financial information about the organization
Note: on the results screen, some of the reports will not be available with free accounts
Example: I need a list of nonprofits that serve Africa,
After logging in, click the link for Advanced search
Type Africa into th
Sample Nonprofit Business
The Gale Virtual Reference Database has sample business plans from non-profit organizations.
This web site provides rankings and scores for nonprofits based on their transparency and accountability.
Reference USA (now: Data Axle reference solutions) This link opens in a new window
An online directory of 24 million+ businesses in the United States and Canada. Users can search by company name, ticker symbol, executive name, geographic location, sales range, type of business and number of employees.
Excellent resource for demographic data.
Example: I need demographic information on San Ramon.
Click Data at the top of the screen and select American FactFinder
Type San Ramon into the box for state, county or place and click Go
Click the links for categories such as Profile of General Population, Housing Characteristics: 2010 and Selected Economic Characteristics
Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Provides market research report insights for market share, consumer profiles, forecasting, driving forces, and distribution methods on very specific consumer markets in the US. Common data sources include: Simmons Consumer Research Information Resources, Inc., (IRI) Nielsen/NPD, Trade Associations and Mintel's unique consumer research. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
Mintel is a good resource for marketing information and demographics.
A useful report is titled "Charities of Choice- US March 2009." This report has demographic information on donors and discuss why people donate to charities. *Be sure to check the box for Include Older Content*
The report titled "Cause Marketing-US- August 2011" has information that will be helpful if your organization is selling products that help a charitable organization. *Be sure to check the box for Include Older Content*
Association of Religion Data Archives
This web site provides statistics on religion by region. Click the link for Religion Reports (InfoGroup). To obtain geographic information that is more precise than the county level, you will have to use the public microdata access codes (PUMA. Visit the PUMA page from the census bureau to match the codes to the geography you need.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics tracks unemployment by factors such as age, gender, education and race/ethnicity.
eMarketer (now Insider Intelligence) This link opens in a new window
Includes daily research articles, analyst reports, and a database of e-business and online marketing statistics, aggregated and analyzed from over 4,000 sources. Topics include market research and trend analysis on Internet, e-business, online marketing, media and emerging technologies.