Guides: PR 380 Public Relations Writing &amp; Media: Searching Newspapers & Historical Sources

Newspapers

Nexis Uni
Features news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. For help on how to use Nexis Uni, visit the research guide.This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
U.S. Major Dailies (ProQuest Newspapers)
Access to The New York Times (1980 - present), Washington Post (1987 - present), Los Angeles Times (1985 - present), Chicago Tribune, (1985 - present), and Wall Street Journal (1984 - present).
Newspaper Source
National & international papers include: The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Times (London), Toronto Star
Regional papers include: The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, Daily News (New York), San Jose Mercury News.
Television & radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, FOX News, NPR, and others.
Los Angeles Times
Indexing and full-text access to the Los Angeles Times. Covers 1985 to now.
Los Angeles Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Every issue from 1881-1990 with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.

Malibu Times
Some of the more recent Malibu Times issues can be searched online. The rest, dating back to 1946, can be found in the Pepperdine Special Collections.

John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising, and Marketing History
Part of the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library of Duke University, the Hartman Center is one of the nation's preeminent programs for the study of sales, advertising, and marketing. The Hartman Center's collection includes physical archives and digitized collections.
The Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850 - 1920 (EAA)
Image database relating to the early history of advertising in the United States.

Ad*Access
U.S. & Canadian advertisements printed in newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Concentrates on Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II.