Guides: ASIA/HIST 331 MODERN CHINA 当代中国: Home 首页

The Oxford Illustrated History of Modern China by Jeffrey N. Wasserstrom (Editor)
Call Number: Click on Title for EBook

ISBN: 9780199683765

Publication Date: 2018-09-26

This lavishly illustrated volume explores the history of China during a period of dramatic shifts and surprising transformations, from the founding of the Qing Dynasty (1644-1912) through to the present day.The Oxford Illustrated History of Modern China promises to be essential reading for anyone who wants to understand this rising superpower.
The Long March 1934-35 by Benjamin Lai; Adam Hook (Illustrator)
Call Number: Click Title for EBook

ISBN: 9781472834010

Publication Date: 2019-09-19

Every nation has its founding myth, and for modern China it is the Long March. In the autumn of 1934, the Chinese Nationalists under Chiang Kai-shek routed the Chinese Communists and some 80,000 men, women and children left their homes to walk with Mao Zedong into the unknown.threatened by daily skirmishes. Illustrated with stunning full-colour artwork, this enthralling book tells the full story this epic display of resilience, and shows how, from the desert plateau of Yan'an, these survivors would grow the army that conquered China 14 years on, changing history forever.
Networking China by Yu Hong
Call Number: Click Title for EBook

ISBN: 9780252082399

Publication Date: 2017-01-11

In recent years, China 's leaders have taken decisive action to transform information, communications, and technology (ICT) into the nation's next pillar industry. In Networking China , Yu Hong offers an overdue examination of that burgeoning sector's political economy.
China by Michael Dillon
Call Number: Electronic Book (whole book can be viewed - online click above)

ISBN: 9781850435822

Publication Date: 2010-09-15

China's transformation in the last few decades has been perhaps the most remarkable -- and most controversial -- development in modern history. Barely a century removed from the struggling and out-dated Qing Empire, China has managed to reinvent itself on an unprecedented scale: from Empire, to Communist state, to hybrid capitalist superpower.

Academic Search Complete

Provides full text coverage to peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more.
Business Source Complete

Articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics, including SWOT analyses and articles from Harvard Business Review.
EBSCOhost databases

Full-text databases and popular databases ranging from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)

Materials related to international affairs, starting from 1991, including working papers from universities and NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
JSTOR

Archive of interdisciplinary journals and books, covering the Arts, Business & Economics, History, Humanities, Law, Science & Mathematics, Social Sciences, and Religion.
Sage Journals Online

Access to the full text journals in Business, Communication, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.