Guides: EDUC 461 Instructional Design: Finding Information

Publisher Online Journal Collections

Sage Journals Online
Access to the full text journals in Business, Communication, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
Taylor & Francis Social Science & Humanities Library
Access to peer reviewed journals covering Behavioral Science; Education; Business, Management & Economics; Media, Cultural & Communication Studies; Politics, International Relations; Sociology; Sport, Leisure & Tourism.
ScienceDirect
Access to peer-reviewed scientific, technical and medical journals.

Online Reference Works

Encyclopedia of Education

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Access to encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Useful Books

Rapid Instructional Design by George M. Piskurich
ISBN: 9781118973974
Publication Date: 2015-01-27
The classic guide to instructional design, fully updated for the new ways we learn providing no-nonsense practicality rather than theory-driven text. Beginning with a look at what "instructional design" really means, readers are guided step-by-step through the ADDIE model to explore techniques for analysis, design, development, intervention, and evaluation.
Learning That Sticks : A Brain-Based Model for K-12 Instructional Design and Delivery by Bryan Goodwin; Tonia Gibson; Kristin Rouleau
ISBN: 9781416629108
Publication Date: 2020-06-05
Bryan Goodwin and his coauthors unpack the cognitive science underlying research-supported learning strategies so you can sequence them into experiences that challenge, inspire, and engage your students. As a result, you'll learn to teach with more intentionality-understanding not just what to do but also when and why to do it.
ISD from the Ground Up : a no-nonsense approach to instructional design (4th ed.) by Chuck Hodell
ISBN: 9781562869984
Publication Date: 2016-02-07
This updated fourth edition covers all the basics and many advanced tenets important to working professionals, especially those entering the field.. At a time when skillful curriculum development is valued more than ever, ISD From the Ground Up offers a refresher on objectives, design plans, lesson plans, and even what it takes to facilitate a focus group.
Culturally Inclusive Instructional Design: a framework and guide by Charlotte Gunawardena; Casey Frechette; Ludmila Layne
ISBN: 9781138217850
Publication Date: 2018-06-27
As online courses and digital learning enable more people from more places to learn together, it is crucial for instructional design to incorporate diverse cultural perspectives. Culturally Inclusive Instructional Design provides a framework for thinking about culture in digital learning, offering insight into how to build inclusive online communities that encourage reflection and growth, regardless of content domain.
Eight Myths of Student Disengagemen: creating classrooms of deep learning by Jennifer A. Fredricks
ISBN: 9781452271880
Publication Date: 2014-03-18
Straightforward how-to's from practicing classroom teachers, print and web-based resources, and assessment tips help educators cultivate lasting student engagement and transform educational outcomes.
Dive into UDL : immersive practices to develop expert learners, Second Edition by Kendra Grant; Luis Perez
ISBN: 9781564849335
Publication Date: 2022-07-19
In this new edition learn how Universal Design for Learning (UDL) supports the creation of learning environments that ensure all learners feel valued, respected and understood. UDL is a framework for designing instruction that meets the needs of every learner. You can wade in, take a shallow swim or dive into UDL as you develop your instructional practice and create a more inclusive learning environment that plans for variability, celebrates diversity and offers flexibility in how students learn and grow.
Introduction to Instructional Systems Design by Chuck Hodell
ISBN: 9781952157127
Publication Date: 2021-05-07
The A-Z Resource on Instructional Systems Design Modern, adaptable, flexible, timeless. Instructional systems design (ISD) is more relevant than ever and critical for organizational success In chapters that detail the building blocks of instructional design, the ADDIE process, and advanced ISD processes such as determining criticality and content mastery, Hodell creates a guided learning experience with discussion questions and case studies to prompt deeper reflection.
Microlearning in the Digital Age by Joseph-Rene Corbeil (Editor); Badrul H. Khan (Editor); Maria Elena Corbeil (Editor)
ISBN: 9780367821623
Publication Date: 2021-05-09
Microlearning in the Digital Age explores the design and implementation of bite-sized learning and training in technology-enabled environments. Grounded in research-based best practices and a robust, eight-dimensional framework, this book applies the latest developments in mobile learning, social media, and instructional/multimedia design to one of today's most innovative and accessible content delivery systems.

Statistics

The Condition of Education
Digest of Education Statistics
Education State Rankings
National Center for Education Statistics
NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education
RAND California
Reports and statistics from RAND, one of the country's premier think tanks, in the areas of education, economics, demographics, health care, government, and more.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
Contains global and internationally comparable statistics on education, literacy, science, technology, culture and communication. The Data Centre contains over 1,000 types of indicators and raw data.

Helpful Electronic Resources

These online sources are good general database for your research.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage to peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more.

JSTOR
Access the journal archives Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, VI, & VII and over 40,000 ebooks on the JSTOR platform; book chapters and journal articles are cross-searchable. JSTOR is an extensive archive of interdisciplinary journals and books, covering subject disciplines in Arts, Business & Economics, History, Humanities, Law, Science & Mathematics, Social Sciences, and Religion.

Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest)
Doctoral dissertations and master's theses, from 1743 to the present. Full text for most dissertations since 1997.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Presents news and information for college and university faculty and students.
Nexis Uni
Features news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. For help on how to use Nexis Uni, visit the research guide.This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.

California State Board of Education, Standards & Frameworks

Standards and Frameworks can be described in three categories: Content standards, Common Core State Standards and Curriculum Frameworks.

Content standards were designed to encourage the highest achievement of every student, by defining the knowledge, concepts, and skills that students should acquire at each grade level.

Common Core State Standards (CCSS) in English-language arts and mathematics were adopted by the State Board of Education (SBE) on August 2, 2010.

Curriculum Frameworks
Frameworks are blueprints for implementing the content standards adopted by the California State Board of Education and are developed by the Curriculum Development and Supplemental Materials Commission.

Useful Online Books About the Common Core

Find additional online books by searching the term "common core' in the EBL e-book library

Rx for the Common Core by Mary Boyd Ratzer; Paige Jaeger
Call Number: Online in EBL
ISBN: 9781610695459
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Common Core State Standards (CCSS) are putting educators under pressure to examine what works and what doesn't. Even with the best efforts, integrating new strategies into daily practice in the classroom or library can be frustrating. The book assembles background building blocks for inquiry and the Common Core, illustrates and connects key concepts on how to introduce inquiry-based learning, and provides effective tools for igniting the Common Core through inquiry-based learning methods.
Learning Versus the Common Core by Nicholas Tampio
ISBN: 1517907799
Publication Date: 2019-03-26
Learning versus the Common Core explains how standards-based education reform is transforming nearly every aspect of public education by looking closely at the standards, the agenda of people pushing standards-based reform, and how these fit within a global pattern of education reform. With a nod to the philosophy of John Dewey, Tampio concludes with a vision of what democratic education can look like today--and how people can form rhizomatic alliances across different political and ethical backgrounds to fight the Common Core.
The Standards-Based Classroom: make learning the goal by Emily A. Rinkema; Stan Williams
ISBN: 9781544324203
Publication Date: 2018-09-14
Get to know which practices related to curriculum, instruction, and assessment are essential to make learning the goal for every student!

Online Resources

AERA (American Educational Research Association) founded in 1916, is concerned with improving the educational process by encouraging scholarly inquiry related to education and evaluation and by promoting the dissemination and practical application of research results.
Childcare & Early Education Research Connections connects to thousands of resources on child care and early education for research, for policy, and for education.
The Research Methods Knowledge Base is a comprehensive web-based textbook that addresses all of the topics in a typical introductory undergraduate or graduate course in social research methods.
Educational Psychology division of APA
The website for the division of APA specific for Educational Psychology. Information about the division's publications, awards, meetings, and minutes.
The National Research Council (NRC)'s Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences in Education is increasingly influential in advancing the frontiers of the behavioral and social sciences and their applications to public policy.